We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Donnerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Donnerhof
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Fulpmes
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff made our stay here really enjoyable. Really friendly whilst being totally professional. The hotel is well located for skiing being a short bus ride away from a smallish but good area, or a 45 minute bus ride from the Stubai Glacier. Food was good, watch your drinks bill though! The only real downside of the hotel is that the night life in Fulpmes feels like it has died a bit. For us that was a little disappointing (although we ended up having a great time), but if you're after a holiday in a quiet town, Fulpmes could be perfect. I can't fault the hotel itself though. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
11
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This chalet-style hotel is in the centre of Fulpmes, quite a large, busy village with good public transport links, and is an excellent base for walking. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were efficient and friendly. My room was small, but was well appointed with TV, a comfortable bed, plenty of hanging space for clothes and a very good shower. Breakfast included a continental buffet, cereals, fruit, juice and bread. Dinners were a 4-course affair and for my group there was a choice from 3 main courses each day. The food was very good. The hotel would also provide packed lunches (for a fee) if required. There is a spa and a small swimming pool (neither of which I used) but there is a lovely sun terrace, which was a popular gathering point for my group at the end of a long walk, when we enjoyed the delights of the daily tea and cake buffet. If staying in this valley at some point in the future, then I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The better views are on the south side, but the rooms are noisier because of the road outside. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereintheworld957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Aktivhotel Donnerhof is located just outside the centre of Fulpmes. I stayed there for a long weekend. The room they assigned me to was a bit small and not really up to standard. E.g. the television had no reception, and the bed was too small. The facility itself has everything you need: Sauna, spa and even a swimming pool.

Breakfast was excellent and dinner was fine. Friendly people and very good service was provided.

Room Tip: Do not opt for the budget/standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We enjoyed a two week stay at the Donnerhof. The service & friendlliness of the staff was outstanding. The room was spacious, comfortable & clean, although a little dated in decor. Bed was comfortable. Free WIFI in the lobby only. There was a small swimming pool which was half indoors & half outdoors; the view of the mountains while floating in the pool was spectacular. The hotel also offers a wet & dry sauna. My only complaint about the hotel was the noise from the bar across the street from our room and from the street (its on a very busy road). Late at night, patrons would be sitting at the bar's patio & talking with very loud voices and we needed to sleep with the windows closed many nights. Hence the "Average" rating instead of "Very Good".

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel is one of the first you will see as you enter Fulpmes from the main road. It isn't quite in the centre of town, but only 5 minutes walk away. The service is excellent - the owner and her staff will do their very best to satisfy one's needs. They made up a packed lunch for me in 10 minutes flat, even though I should have asked them earlier. The rooms are large and with wonderful views across the the highest mountains (another advantage of not being in the centre of town). The food is good and plentiful, and the hotel and rooms are kept very clean. Afternoon tea is a treat. There is a small pool, again very clean, and sufficient to ease ones aches and pains after a long day walking in the Alps. There can be some external noise, particularly on Saturday nights, but our room was facing away from the main road, so we heard very little.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaretbozic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent a very happy time at the Donnerhof and found it to be an extremely comfortable place to stay. The staff were warm and welcoming. The room clean and spacious. The food plentiful, creative and delicious. Free tea/coftee and cakes at 4pm an added bonus. The spa area a great place to relax after a long days walking the mountains. Don't be put off by previous comments.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I used this very pleasant and well located hotel as a base for a hiking trip. The hotel had very good amenities, great food and very welcoming staff. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrywalker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fulpmes
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Cristall
Sporthotel Cristall
#1 of 18 in Fulpmes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 18 in Fulpmes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
#4 of 40 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#16 of 18 in Fulpmes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Brugger
Sporthotel Brugger
#6 of 18 in Fulpmes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Hubertus
Hotel Garni Hubertus
#11 of 18 in Fulpmes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donnerhof

Property: Hotel Donnerhof
Address: Waldrasterstrasse 8, Fulpmes 6166, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Fulpmes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fulpmes
#2 Spa Hotel in Fulpmes
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fulpmes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Donnerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Donnerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Donnerhof Fulpmes, Austria - Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing