We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet system a success”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Sheffield, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Buffet system a success”
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Just returned from a very enjoyable ski holiday at the Palace. It was my 4th visit to Bad Hofgastein, one of my favourite Austrian ski villages. The place is scenic, elegant and thoroughly civilised, and I would recommend it to anyone who prefers these qualities to a livelier resort with a sometimes noisily intrusive nightlife.
The hotel did not disappoint. After a lightning-fast check in, with no form-filling or handing over of passport, I found myself in a decent-sized single room with a large and comfortable bed. The en suite bathroom was a little basic (shower but no bath, and no complimentary toiletries except tissues and liquid soap), but perfectly adequate. The room was on a sort of mezzanine floor just off the main reception area and did suffer a little from people tramping past loudly, but this usually ceased by about 10.30 pm. and I slept well all week.
The food was consistently enjoyable, a comment I have rarely been able to make in ski hotels, even 4 star ones like this. Granted, the breakfast buffet was not quite as extensive as some I have seen, but there was still plenty of choice. Where the hotel really scored was the evening meal, which was also buffet-style. Six courses if you include the salad buffet, with the soups and desserts especially delicious, and the (for me) huge advantage of being able to choose from the whole range of vegetables which accompanied the three choices of main course. Too often in the past have I been faced with the dilemma of wanting to go for a particular meat or fish dish but being put off by the prescribed vegetable(s) accompanying it. No such problem here! Also, it was possible to choose exactly the quantity one wished, which for those of us who like our meat and potatoes was a real bonus!
Some reviewers have commented adversely on being allocated to the smaller side restaurant. It is true that this room was not as grand or elegant as the main dining room, but it was perfectly pleasant, with beautiful views to the mountains in the morning. Of rather more concern was the fact that the hotel seemed to attract an unusually high number of families with small children, some of whom were allowed to run around the dining room to the annoyance of other guests. This of course says far more about the parents than about the hotel.
The hotel's leisure facilities were excellent, especially the large indoor swimming pool, heated to 30 C and with a series of little jet streams around the sides. On one side of the pool it was even possible to sit in the jetstream. There was also a good whirlpool nearby. A separate door gave access to a splendid spa area---clothing quite rightly prohibited---containing a choice of saunas, steam room, infra-red cabin, salt grotto and even an outdoor area where you could cool off ( or even roll in the snow if you felt so inspired!). It is a pity that some people feel put off by the no swimming-costume rule in such areas, and there is really no need to be: a strategically-placed towel can always be used if desired!
Every evening saw musical entertainment of a good standard in the main lounge. I enjoyed this, but be warned---there is not really anywhere else to escape to for those preferring peace and quiet in the evening, except for a small stuberl downstairs whose air was poisoned by smokers. Thankfully, smoking was prohibited almost everywhere else in the hotel including, crucially for me, the main lounge. This lounge also featured an attractive log fire which was lit every evening and lovingly tended by the staff. Drinks prices were reasonable by ski resort standards, a 30cl glass of beer ( sorry, Eurofizz) coming in at 2.70. euros. Drinks during dinner, however, were free: a welcome bonus given the decline of the pound against the euro.

With the ski bus stop right outside the hotel and a lovely park adjacent to it, I can think of few more pleasant places to spend a week. I would recommend it unhesitatingly.

  • Liked — Plentiful, buffet-style evening meals with drinks included.
  • Disliked — Rather basic en suite bathroom in single room.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paullally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    56
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
36
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Had great experience not using the normal charter options.Went through a company called Austrian Premium Tours who designed a package with no hidden costs and inc a decent size bed...!Can highly recomend them and the hotel as although a bit bland is in a great location and staff are lovely.
Liked it so much am having my wedding organised for me there in Feb 09.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank floozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTERSHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2008

This is a great hotel, if a little on the large side for what you might expect from an Austrian ski resort. The facilities were brilliant, with everything that you could need from spa treatments to a hairdresser, beauty parlour to two fantastic indoor tennis courts. The swimming pool was lovely and clean and on one occasion when just myself and my toddler daughter were in there in the day, the pool water was checked by officials to make sure that it was properly clean( I was glad to know that this was done routinely). The food was lovely with a large choice each day and the free drinks were a bonus as they were on tap so you just helped yourself! There was entertainment on every night although this was not fantastic, but since most places on this kind of holiday offer nothing, you couldn't really complain. The rooms were a good size and were very clean although we did pay extra to have a larger room when we booked. The staff were friendly and helpful and were particularly good with the children. So to sum up, this is a good, large hotel with all the facilities that you could wish for, it's clean and reasonably priced and those free drinks really do save you quite a bit of money, oh, and you can't beat the spa jacuzzi after a hard day on the slopes!

  • Liked — The Fantastic Spa Area Including The Pool
  • Disliked — The Fact They Let Dogs Stay There
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MISSWHIPLASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2008

Salzburg is gorgeous and can definitely recommend it . The hotel is best for romantic getaways, not sure about taking the whole family. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fabiensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

Stayed here with my daughter for a week's skiing booked through Inghams.

I'm not one for large hotels. The building itself is bland, impersonal and lacking in character. The room was smaller than we'd expected.

On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet meals were also of a high standard considering the numbers catered for.

If you don't mind large and modern give it a try.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Please beware when you book this hotel through a charter company as we did (crystal holidays) that you will be booked in the SMALL DOUBLE category which means you and your partner will stay in a shoebox and share a single bed although get two duvets.... You can then choose pay a surcharge of 10 euros per person per night to upgrade to a larger room, so question your booking with your touroperator! We travelled with one family room two doubles and one single and whilst the family room had paid extra for size ,the doubles were housed in shoebox rooms (i am serious they are TINY) and the single in a upgraded large room( no common sense here). If you look at the Palace website you will se lovely photos of the hotel areas and restaurants and the rooms, they look NOTHING like the rooms you will be allocated. The decor is in dirty green throughout, although clean.
Food for the charter guests were served in a back room whilst the real guests enjoy the sumptious restaurant. Buffets were nothing to write home about but did tempt us with yesterdays leftovers on the salad buffet every night. Great selection for breakfast though although if you had a look in the real guest restaurant it wasnt very good at all.... all in all we felt like second class citizens through out, but the staff were very friendly and did try their best!
Dresscode applies for dinner so please bring something smart for the back room dinner....also the pool area is extremly slippery so bring flipflops! You will find robes available for load from reception.
Skibus to Angertal skischool leave from outside the hotel. If you have kiddies in ski school or take lessons PLEASE DO NOT be tempted to garage your skis at Schlossalm as the reps will try to sell you this. You will then have to do a 10 minute walk to collect them from schlossalm before catching the bus to angertal. instead garage your skis on the first day at Intersport by the lifts in ANgertal and you can catch the bus outside the hotel.
Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank babypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
#9 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
#10 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klammer's Kaernten
Klammer's Kaernten
#12 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Das.goldberg
Das.goldberg
#1 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#5 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
#13 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johannesbad Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johannesbad Hotel Palace

Property: Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Address: Alexander-Moser-Allee 13, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#10 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Johannesbad Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree holiday spending guests in the cosy center of Bad Hofgastein. The 4 star hotel Palace is a relaxing house for everyone. Surrounded by a huge garden with a park on 30.000m² . The sun terrace, walking paths and a small pond invite to enjoying . The nice comfortable rooms have all a balcony and panoramic view. A conference room is available. Mountain Station, the great therme Alpentherme and the shopping area - everything is within walking distance. In panoramic indoor pool guests can relax in the healing Gastein thermal water. Even a beauty farm and a renowned Health Center, the Palace to call his own. When in the evening the migrants return from their tours, the spa guests are completely relaxed, the golfers have packed their bags and the families come fully fueled with experience in the hotel's restaurant, everyone like the international buffet. An interesting detail: The table drinks are for all meals - from breakfast and brunch to dinner - included. Some days in the week live music seduced to a goodnight drink at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Johannesbad Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kur- And Sport-Hotel Palace
Kur Sport Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing