We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmét break for hikers and cyclists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Well if you and your taste buds would like to get a treat, then the Palace Hotel in Bad Hofgaststein is the place to be for a short break. Any longer break would add weight on you or give you too many trips to the toilette or you'll end up with both.
There is a 4 day short break and a 7 day break special, which works out to be 75 Euros per person per night. No single surcharge applied to me. The package (refer to their internet site for all the details) includes the use of facilities such as the use of indoor pool (6m x 8m) and Sauna. Free Parking of Car and bike are also included.
Now what really stands out is the Gourmet food served for dinner. There are 4 different entrées, 2 types of soup, 3 main courses (4 different side dishes) approx. 6 types of salads and 4 different types of deserts. For drinks you may choose between a lager beer, red and white wine or four different types of brand soft drinks. Every night there is a different menu 'a la carte' including themes, such as French or Italian or Austrian traditional foods. From my perspective, I am a fussy eater as well as a little paranoid with health food, but let me tell you, other than the salt content (my guess is that unless one cooks for themselves, Salt is added too generously in all Restaurants), it got full marks from me.You will see the official menu (professional lay out) as well as the daily Hotel news and trivia, in the morning for breakfast already. BF, which is also included, is available as a buffet with hot and cold dishes to choose from.
There is also a 'brunch' included, which I personally never tried as it was too soon after breakfast for one and I was usually out on the trail by then.
Hotel staff is friendly with one minor proviso: No one told me really how the dinner serving works. Well it is all 'do it yourself', including drinks. That's OK with me, just let me know please....
The only other negative is, for WIFI you have to be in the lobby otherwise 'no go'. In our world of today, WIFI in your room is an absolute must.......
My guess is, I will be visiting the Hotel again sometime in the future, hopefully there will be WIFI in the rooms available by then.
PS There were only a handful of young people there during my stay.

Phil
28.05.14 - 02.06.14

Room Tip: The place (Bad Hofgastein) is fabulously quite, especially at night, which one needs to get a good n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitzbip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of a stunning Alpine valley. The food was uniformly excellent, with beer and wine included, and the hotel staff were all as friendly and helpful as one could imagine. The rooms are simple, and this seems to be a part of Austria that has yet to discover luxury bedding (a single foam pillow, and a comforter that doesn't quite fit the bed, though the staff was quick to provide extra pillows when asked). Also, the wi-fi is confined to the lobby, and even there it's pretty spotty. I was there for a conference, so this was a bit of an issue, though I imagine most visitors won't be spending much time on the web in such an amazing location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here with Crystal as part of a Ski package. Fully lives up to its four start rating. Buffet meals are excellent with bonus of complimentary wine and beer at dinner. The head waiter Costas is a legend with a huge personality and perfectly attentive without being overbearing. The front desk staff are very obliging. Rooms clean and well appointed. Great pool and spa. All in all a top class hotel and highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for a week for mid term skiing trip and it was very good . Hotel staff were all very helpful and the restaurant food was a big buffet every evening which was very good and topped off with free beer and wine during dinner . Good pool set up also

Room Tip: Get a quad room they are much bigger which is great for ski gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here as part of a Ski Club GB group as it provided single rooms. This large hotel offered good quality accommodation but a bus ride from the lifts. The bed in my good sized room, although large for a single, was too uncomfortable due to having a foam mattress with a protective cover which made me too hot to sleep soundly.
The restaurant was buffet service for the four courses assisted by pleasant staff. The food was quite good although pork featured every day in the choices. Also, the dining room seemed to close at 8.30 so you need to sit down by 7.00 to enjoy a relaxed meal and all the courses. There was free wine & beer. The white wine wasn't chilled so seemed less acceptable. There was also an a la carte restaurant but unavailable to our group. The entertainment in the bar was OK with some guests dancing.
I was told that the spa was attractive but I never found time to visit after skiing and before dinner. The ski bus stops right outside, thankfully reducing the pain of the treck to the lifts. There were bars in the nearby pleasant town centre, a short stroll away. There's a ski rental shop within the hotel which had a small selection of equipment for hire at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Second stay in this hotel with Skifreshtracks. Suits me down to the ground. Good size single rooms, good facilities incl swimming pool, spa and tennis, good restaurant with excellent service from Judith aka Speedy Gonzalez, Baracs and Kostas. Good bar with fast efficient service. All the hotel staff are really good, friendly but not too friendly.
I especially love the location close to the park and it's a very pleasant 5 min stroll into the town. Not much nightlife but that suits me (over 50) and most of our group. Gentle entertainment in the bar most evenings.
The hotel also has an arrangement with a ski hire shop in Gastein, so you can hire things on line, and get the discount, but collect and return to the hotel. Left the hotel two weeks ago but missing it already!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed the luxury of staying for a week in this lovely hotel where the food was tasty and varied, the swimming pool and spa were great for relaxation after a hard day's skiing and the live music provided a pleasant background for listening or chatting with new friends. It was so much better to have this music rather than no entertainment as there wasn't much apres ski outside of the hotel. We are in our early 60s so this didn't bother us at all. We were able to ski all day every day and that was our prime objective. The 3 Crystal guides, Marcus, Tom and Ian provided an excellent social skiing service and were very professional and fun to be with. Regarding the bedroom size in this hotel, we had an economy sized room which was perfectly adequate. There was plenty of room for all our clothes, the cases, chairs, table and a balcony. The bed was double sized which we are used to anyway. A most enjoyable skiing holiday

Room Tip: The rooms that are called small doubles are absolutely fine unless you need a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.2 mi away
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
#12 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zum Stern
Zum Stern
#8 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
#14 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norica
Norica
#6 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
#3 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johannesbad Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johannesbad Hotel Palace

Address: Alexander-Moser-Allee 13, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range: $156 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Johannesbad Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree holiday spending guests in the cosy center of Bad Hofgastein. The 4 star hotel Palace is a relaxing house for everyone. Surrounded by a huge garden with a park on 30.000m² . The sun terrace, walking paths and a small pond invite to enjoying . The nice comfortable rooms have all a balcony and panoramic view. A conference room is available. Mountain Station, the great therme Alpentherme and the shopping area - everything is within walking distance. In panoramic indoor pool guests can relax in the healing Gastein thermal water. Even a beauty farm and a renowned Health Center, the Palace to call his own. When in the evening the migrants return from their tours, the spa guests are completely relaxed, the golfers have packed their bags and the families come fully fueled with experience in the hotel's restaurant, everyone like the international buffet. An interesting detail: The table drinks are for all meals - from breakfast and brunch to dinner - included. Some days in the week live music seduced to a goodnight drink at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Johannesbad Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kur- And Sport-Hotel Palace
Kur Sport Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing