We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NewYear group booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Reviewed January 10, 2014

17 of us travelled to Bad HOFGASTEIN the hotel was very clean and spotless the shower was amazing a really good power shower to wake you up in a morning.
Its only a 5 min walk in to the very pretty town. I must point out its very quiet resort!!!
The hotel food was very good it was a buffet however could not complain at all
The breakfast was very good and filled us up before we hit the slopes
the ski bus stopped outside the hotel and took less than 5 mins to the ski lifts.
I must praise our wonderful waiter Andy he is a credit to the hotel
nothing was too much trouble for him and went out of his way to serve us
we had a great time a bit quiet for us as a resort but the hotel was very good

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

That was my fourth stay in the hotel, 5 days every time. The location is near the main park with small lakes and statues. The town center is 5 min. away. Every evening in the summer concerts of different music styles, Classic, folk, jazz and etc. The hotel is nice, the rooms clean and the bathrooms modern. Nice choice of buffe breakfast and dinner, with free soft drinks, red and white wine and beer. The spa and pool are good. I saw many families with kids enjoying the pool but the main part of the guests are from the older ones. That is the reason for my criticism. In many rooms there is a high bath tube that is hard and unsafe to enter for that age group. The pool and spa are in the basement. Even if there is an elevator, you have to use stairs to get there. The bottom line is that I like to return to this hotel as the base to my trips in the area.

Room Tip: For old folks, avoid rooms with bath tube and ask for shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First of all, this is not a hotel for families with children. When we visited the place in the summer 2013, most guests (by far) were +65 and obviously this is the group of people the hotel is focusing on during summer time.There is nothing for children, no playground, the pool was too deep and the food was not children friendly at all. The hotel, the rooms and its surroundings are nice and very quiet but we wish that we had known beforehand. The staff was okay, but not particularly interested in us as guests. Never asked whether we were okay and we often felt ignored. Will not go back.......... on second thought, maybe when we are 70!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlotte N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have been running ski trips to Europe every February for the past 10 years. This hotel and the surrounding towns and mountains were first class all the way. From a warm reception upon our arrival to fantastic buffet breakfasts and dinners and the spa and swim facilities they handled our group of 50 with ease. Everyone treated us with a smile and a welcome at all times, the evening entertainment kept even the most energetic in the group excited. My thanks to Andrea and her wonderful staff for a great ski vacation for all.

Room Tip: Every room as a balcony overlooking the beautiful mountains or the lovely central park with cross co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Four of us, two couples, travelled with Crystal for a week's skiing. Check-in was simple. Our rooms were near to the reception which was also handy for the restaurant, bar and spa. Rooms were bright and spacious and spotlessly clean.

Food was a fully self-service affair which required a little back and forth but we soon got used to it.

Breakfast was great wide a fantastic array of breads, cereals, hams, cheeses, fruit and yogurt, with scrambled and boiled eggs, sausage and bacon. Tea, coffee and juices available too.

At dinner there was wide selection of starters and salads and often was the highlight of the meal. Mains were limited to two meat and one fish with veg. Desserts were varied and tasty. Free wine and beer during the meal was a nice touch as we are used to chalets with unlimited wine. Staff were on hand and were always pleasant and attentive. A special mention for Kostas who was both helpful and created a relaxed atmosphere.

We loved the spa and quickly got used the Austrian way. Judicious use of the free towels would allow you to preserve as modesty as required. We used the spa most days and it was particularly welcome after a day's skiing.

There's a ski-bus stop outside if you have ski-gear with you. Alternatively it's a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll through the park and along the river. We used the ski-storage at Irausek beside the lift station - 15 Euro for the week was worth it not to have to lug skis and be free to stroll round town after skiing. It's about 10 mins from the town centre to the hotel - again a pleasant walk.

There was entertainment every night at the hotel which was quite low-key.

We would definitely go back here again. Crystal were fine too in that we weren't pressured into any excursions and replied immediately to the odd text we sent the rep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madmickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We all had a great week at this hotel & resort. The food was on a buffet basis...a different choice each night and plenty to fill up some of the bigger appetites in the group. The bonus of free beer, wine and soft drinks with your meals went down a storm. All the staff were polite and helpful for the duration of our stay. The ski bus stopped outside the hotel...opposite the boot room....and the ski region proved to be varied and fun. The four ski area's were easily accessible, queue free and had plenty of runs to keep every ability occupied. We all agreed we would definitely come back to the resort and hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We came back from this hotel just the past week..
We have chosen this one, because our friends recommended it to us..
It's a big hotel, with good breakfast and an amazing dinner..
The furniture from hotel is a bit old, but it didn't bother us.. The inside pool is a good place to stay after all day skiing..
A big plus for this hotel is that it has the ski bus stop just in front of the hotel..
And we liked that the hotel had it's own rental ski for an amazing price..
Very convenient !
It's a very good balance of price per quality..
We would return there the next year for sure..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjcc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.4 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
#9 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norica
Norica
#6 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
#12 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Das.goldberg
Das.goldberg
#1 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Impuls Tirol Hotel
Impuls Tirol Hotel
#5 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johannesbad Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johannesbad Hotel Palace

Address: Alexander-Moser-Allee 13, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range: $155 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Johannesbad Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree holiday spending guests in the cosy center of Bad Hofgastein. The 4 star hotel Palace is a relaxing house for everyone. Surrounded by a huge garden with a park on 30.000m² . The sun terrace, walking paths and a small pond invite to enjoying . The nice comfortable rooms have all a balcony and panoramic view. A conference room is available. Mountain Station, the great therme Alpentherme and the shopping area - everything is within walking distance. In panoramic indoor pool guests can relax in the healing Gastein thermal water. Even a beauty farm and a renowned Health Center, the Palace to call his own. When in the evening the migrants return from their tours, the spa guests are completely relaxed, the golfers have packed their bags and the families come fully fueled with experience in the hotel's restaurant, everyone like the international buffet. An interesting detail: The table drinks are for all meals - from breakfast and brunch to dinner - included. Some days in the week live music seduced to a goodnight drink at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Johannesbad Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kur- And Sport-Hotel Palace
Kur Sport Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing