We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, facilities, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, facilities, highly recommended”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I returned yesterday from a week at the St Georg in Bad Hofgastein. I can't recommend it highly enough - the staff are efficient and friendly, the pool is nice and quiet (the hotel was about half-full) and the sauna area quite large, with a number of different types of sauna/steam room. There are a number of different massage treatments available, but we didn't avail of them. We were there for skiing and the St Georg was fine for this - the ski room on the ground level is about a 5-minute walk from the ski bus to the Angertal ski centre or marginally further from the Schlossalm funicular. We were lucky with the snow as the first big fall of 2014 was a few days before we got there. We stayed on a half-board basis - breakfast was large and the 5-course evening meal was delicious every night with a reasonable choice (3 main courses each evening). We would return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After four holidays staying at this lovely hotel, I thought it was about time I wrote a review. Wouldn’t be fair for us not to share this wonderful find with anyone else! Great location – just a few minutes into the centre of the town. And a ten minute walk away along the riverside in the morning brings you to the main ski lift. The hotel has a warm friendly atmosphere where the staff remember their guests from year to year. Rooms are spacious and have plenty of drawers and hanging space and places to put the many items you need with skiing! We’ve had wonderfully sound sleep on every occasion – maybe the mountain air but also must be the comfortable beds and beautiful quality bed linen as well as the silently closing doors with hydraulic dampers throughout the hotel.
Excellent traditional food beautifully presented and with plenty of choice.
Comfortable bar area where we enjoyed reading after skiing with a slice of Apfel strudel and later with drinks after dinner.
Will definitely return to Bad Hofgastein and it’s sure to be this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week's skiing holiday. This is a perfect example of a really good Austrian Hotel. The hotel has a great Alpine atmosphere, our room was spacious, clean and quiet and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Thanks to a delayed flight we arrived at 11pm however a full meal was laid on for us by the very helpful waiter who had stayed on-duty to welcome us.

The meals were excellent as was the waiter service. The wellness facilities are the best that we have seen so far.

The location is also near perfect. The town centre and thermal spa are five minutes walk away in one direction whilst the bus station and ski lift are five minutes walk (wearing ski boots) in the other.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the St, Georg for a week while skiing, having seen it while previously in Bad Hofgastein. Apart from a few minor glitches, I have to say I found it really good.
The location is perfect for skiing, being only a short walk from the Schlossalm funicular, and central skibus stop area, but be aware - for anyone not willing to walk while carrying skis - it is at the last stop on the skibus route, so the bus may be full by the time it gets to you.

The room we had was a good size, with great storage space - which is a must for skiing. Everything was clean and comfortable (except for a little lumpiness in the bed).

The meals were good, with a reasonable choice every evening - and the staff (with the exception of one waitress who we had a minor issue with) were excellent: professional, friendly and very attentive. The bar staff and reception staff were equally friendly and professional.

The spa area (saunas, pool, relaxation room, steam room etc.) was really lovely, and very clean.

Overall, this is a hotel I would definitely stay in again, without any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RattleDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We choose the ski-resort first ( which was a disappointment in comparison ) then the hotel by chance for our 7 night holiday in B.Hofgastein. The hotel exceeded all our expectations, especiall their kitchen: the 5 course evening meals were absolutely fantastic. Despite the meals at a half-board dinnertime are usually served "en-masse" , each of these plates were individually crafted, and not one piece of meat or vegetable was in the wrong place or indeed, under- or overcooked.
I must also mention the superb wine - selection, which we learned is a credit to the manager's taste. We tried almost all on the menu, and not one glass we found that we did not like.
We were here in mid-Feb 2012, 4 adults and 3 children, and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute we spent in this hotel. The pool and the playroom is excellent, our kids were never bored. Staff is very friendly, skilled, multinational, so many languages are spoken, giving at the same time a multinational, yet very welcoming and homely-feeling to the place.

The only disappointment was the ski-area, as we are all intermediate skiers, and we just could not enjoy the pists for longer than a couple of hours in the morning. After that, because they were entirely un-treated during the day they became very icy, and bumpy - the whole area just turned into a huge "black-piste" arena after morning usage and we just found it too dangerous to ski.
It is really a shame, as the width and angle of the pists themselves would provide for ideal family, mixed-ability skiing,only if they took better care of them. Some of the blue pists were the most dangerous ones, in fact, as they were nothing else but narrow service - roads, most of them going un-treated for days, therefore badly carved out, icy, and very dangerous in corners.
The same neglect we found in the village, where after 2 days of heavy snowfall on the 4th day the pavements were still covered in icy-slushy snow, or in some places not even cleared, so we had to hover in our skiboots in big dirty pools on the roads amongst the splashing cars. It is a true shame, as it is otherwise a rather expensive place - and evidently a rich village , so they could afford some labourforce. It is our 8th Austrian skiing holiday, an never anywhere else we found this - it is in fact was always a marvel to us how well this country is prepared for heavy snow, and how meticuoulsly all the ski-areas are kept - everywhere else.

If only I could take the hotel out of its surroundings, it would probably have been one of the best winter holidays we've been to, but unfortunately because of the ski-area, we are not likely to come back here again.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for the room-heating to be adjusted, as it can be a bit warm during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed at the St Georg two days on the way to our holiday in Slovenia and one day on the way back.
Everything was perfect. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the mountains. There was a safe which we always find useful, a most comfortable bed and two comfortable chairs to watch television. The two English programmes were euro sport and CNN. It was possible all day and the evening to make a cup of tea from the corridor in the main hall and take it to the room if desired. The facilities were ensuite with a bath and shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. There was a friendly and helpful staff who lent me a walking stick, (I had left mine at home) as soon as I mentioned I had forgotten mine. The swimming pool was lovely and warm. The food was pleasant especially the breakfast. We were picked up from the station and more unusual given a lift back on both occasions.
We were very reluctant to leave this hotel which we had enjoyed so much

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank extenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel St Georg in Bad Hofgastein for a week over the February half term holiday in 2008.

As usual, looking for a family room for 2 adults and 2 children, we booked direct with the hotel and managed to get a suite that was more than ample for our needs. It was recently re-furbished with a separate bathroom and toilet off the entrance hall, a large living area with an ‘L’ shaped sitting area that we used as 2 single beds for the kids and a south facing balcony. Off the living area was a double bedroom, again facing south (but no balcony). There was plenty of storage space (fitted wardrobes) in both the bedroom and the living area.

We booked half board and the food was excellent; extensive buffet breakfast and 5 course evening meal (choice of main course chosen at breakfast), except our first night (Saturday) which was a buffet with excellent choice.

There is also a pool and spa area. The pool is quite small and I would guess normally adequate, but as it was UK school holidays and a large number of children staying, it got quite busy in the late afternoon. However, the sauna/steam room area is separate from the pool, it is large and was always tranquil and relaxing when we used it. There were also spa treatments available.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the main Schlossalm ski lift and even nearer to the bus station for the ski bus. We found queues for the funicular to the Schlossalm in the morning, but they moved quite quickly and no queues for the lifts when we were on the mountain. However, on 3 days we skied in Dorfgastein, which was 10 minutes down the valley by ski bus and there was no queue to get on the gondola there.

Eating out on the mountains was generally good value compared to many resorts we have skied in before and we found that some mountain restaurants had a kids menu for EUR5 with a hot meal (pasta, sausage etc) and a drink. The kids portions were good and there wasn’t much difference in size between a kids pasta and an adults pasta.

We hired our skis at 47 North which is on the main street a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and booked this on line through Skiset. This is a new shop and consequently had brand new equipment for the 2007/2008 season (my daughters boots still had the packing paper in them when she tried them on!) and excellent, friendly, enthusiastic service.

We found it more cost effective booking the flights and hotel separately, especially as the hotel only charged EUR40 per night for children (I think up to 15 years old), even in school holidays. We flew to Salzburg with Lufthansa and Austrian Airlines (who also offered child reductions) and took the trolley bus from outside the terminal to Salzburg station, then a direct train to Bad Hofgastein (about 90 minutes). We e-mailed the hotel with our train times and they collected us from Bad Hofgastein railway station. The combined bus/train ticket from Salzburg Airport to Bad Hofgastein was about EUR12 each way for adults and half price for children (times on the Austrian Railways website www.oebb.at).

  • Liked — Great room and good food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWW's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.4 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
#11 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Klammer's Kaernten
Klammer's Kaernten
#12 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bismarck
Hotel Bismarck
#2 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
#9 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akzent Hotel Germania
Akzent Hotel Germania
#13 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg

Property: Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Address: Dr.-Zimmermann-Strasse 7, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This captivating hotel exudes a peaceful, informal ambience. The doors of the hotel are open for you to step through year-round. From all of the windows, balconies and terraces of this resort hotel, you are able to experience the unique natural spectacle of the Gastein Alps. Discover the special charm of an atmosphere that reflects the authenticity of the Alpine countryside, while you allow the warm atmosphere to work its wonders upon you. In the rooms and suites, we want you to feel completely at ease from the first moment on. And with that in mind, the St. Georg offers rooms that are spacious and decorated with loving attention to every detail. True treasures plucked from the surrounding Alpine region, abundant use of wood and carefully-matched fabrics in warm colors radiate comfort. If you are a fan of antique farmhouse furniture, you can be certain to discover many a gem here with us. Bathrooms with bath or shower-bath in a modern design, as well as TV and WiFi add the finishing touches to the contemporary comforts in every room. Depending on their location in the hotel, most rooms and suites also boast their own balcony. Those magical views of the Gastein mountains are also an important feature of our accommodations throughout the year, guaranteeing you a personal front-row seat on an amazing natural spectacle. Here you can unwind to your heart's content, actively discover renewed vitality, or get the most out of a health-focused vacation with the help of programs under expert supervision. As a specialist for therapeutic fasting according to principles pioneered by Dr. F. X. Mayr, our hotel is famous far beyond the borders of Salzburger Land. NEW since 2017 is the offer of base fasting - the wacker-methode. In our Vitality Oasis and spring-fed indoor pool, hikers and bikers, guests big and small, active and laid-back holidaymakers, can all enjoy a true pampering from head to toe. If you don't want to dedicate this entire holiday to health matters, at least you should book individual treatments ranging from aroma-oil massage to singing-bowl therapy. In our Vitality Oasis, you will be able to discover deep relaxation, as our cosmetician restores you to radiant beauty with the help of highly effective beauty programs. At the St. Georg, good things come from close to home The head chef and his team are virtuosos when it comes to composing treats for your palate. The team places great store in seasonal cooking. Traditional specialties are served alongside refined creations from the world of modern light cuisine. And to do so, they use only fresh ingredients from our forests and lakes, fields and meadows, and from the gardens of local producers. If smaller groups (ca. 10 - 15 people) wish to dine in an exclusive setting, they are invited to spend cheerful hours in our comfortable "Pine Lounge". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing