We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Medical Spa Hotel of the Gastein Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Berlin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Medical Spa Hotel of the Gastein Valley”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have been suffering from Arthritis for several years and now I tried a new therapy that I had heard of in a TV show. In Bad Gastein they have a special healing cave where you go in by train and stay for about an hour. I stayed in Grand Park Hotel to undergo the treatments. They have their own doctor and several therapist that are specialized on that kind of treatment. They organize everything AND the have the special thermal water in the hotel that also helps for diseases like Arthritis, Rheumatism, PCP or Bechterew,
In the restaurant the hotel offers special dishes that are adequate and at the end of my 3 weeks stay I did not have any more pain.
I was told that Arthritis cannot be completely cured but at the moment I almost do not need any medics.
The hotel itself is great, located in the middle of a park in Bad Hofgastein, not too big, nice rooms, excellent service and a big spa area with original Gastein thermal water.
I am planning to come back every year.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony towards the mountain are a littlebit more expensive but worth the extra anyhow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwoerndl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    26
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
64
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

i found a nice and quiet hotel.i really appreciate that.nice spa also.great dinner

Room Tip: ask for a not connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aristotel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having never done a short ski break this was a bit of a leap of faith but it worked out brilliantly. From Salzburg to the hotel took only one hour 30 minutes and once inside the communal area's and especially the spa and pool were massive and stunning. Hilarious to read on here of a couple having sex in the sauna I'm sure that's not standard, if it is we missed the show!. We spent every afternoon in the pool and spa and felt very very relaxed after a day skiing and ready for dinner. This was a huge deal and my advice is dress up a little for the better tables, they seem to usher less smart looking diners into a second room. Five courses is great for the short time we were there but I wouldn't have wanted so much had it been a full 7 night stay. The meals we ate were all well cooked and beautifully presented.
Our room was large and had a lovely sitting area and big windows looking out over the front towards the mountains. All of the staff that we encountered were extremely nice and courteous and we will defiantly do another short ski in Austria. We booked our own flights and got skiline to book the hotel and transfer which was a shuttle service although we also had the option of a private one. Some of the people we spoke to who had visited Gastien before said the shuttles generally work very well. Highly recommended hotel and resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I went one week before the hotel's usual 1 month closing. Not too many guests there. The public areas were really beautiful. This is not a hotel for young children or people who like to dress casually. Food was excellent, especially the breakfast. The sauna area was very nice - Walter, who did the aufguss, was very friendly and helpful!

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank blondgeek47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

First off, the Grand Park Hotel is not the kind of hotel I would personally choose for a vacation. While I do enjoy a bit of luxury, I might be too young to appreciate the kind of luxury that comes with plush, golden faucets in the bathroom and heavy curtains. Which is why I am probably not part of the target audience for this hotel.

That said, for those seeking that kind of luxury, the Grand Park Hotel is most certainly the right place. Even if your preferences don't lie in the plush department, it will most likely still be an enjoyable stay especially due to the truly wonderful spa area.

The Good:
- The spa. Also, the spa. And the spa. (It’s free of charge for hotel guest and comes with multiple saunas, steam cabins, a whirlpool and a large pool for swimming.)
- Very clean rooms with balconies and a nice supply of toilet accessories
- Professional, nice receptionists
- Free internet (cables are available at the reception)
- Wonderfully calm surroundings and lovely view of the mountains
- Bad Hofgastein is a small village, but even so, the Grand Park Hotel is positioned perfectly at the edge of the centre
- Very comfortable beds
- Good breakfast
- Large wardrobe with more than enough room and light

The bad:
- For young people, the interior might be too much
- While I found the receptionists to be very nice, I got the impression that the waiters were a bit, ah… uppity – especially if you showed up in jeans
- I’d have preferred a stereo or decent radio to the flatscreen TV in the room
- As is the habit with hotels like these, the minibar is expensive – 2€ for half a liter of water. Also, the choice of snacks was between one bar of chocolate and a small package of peanuts when I arrived late and hungry – I’ve seen better
- Considering the price, the room could have been bigger

In summary:
On the whole, I would say that this is a hotel catering to slightly older audiences with enough money in their pockets – albeit the spa is absolutely enjoyable for anyone. For those that appreciate distinguished hotels with a nostalgic interior, the Grand Park is just about perfect.

I would not recommend it to my friends, but I would recommend it to my grandparents! So I'm going with yes, here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Schwarzbaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Seeing many of the world's most famous hotels regularly for business reasons, the place where I return for private vacations is always the Grand Park Hotel. In its charme and old austrian monarchy spirit, it easily matches Salzburg's Sacher and Vienna's Grand Hotel. This together with the oustanding location, food, Spa/Wellness and service makes it my personal retreat.

Concerning the restaurant and the service. The chef finds a wonderful match between international haute-cuisine and austrian traditional cooking, making for a delicious, but not excessively fancy experience. The service, whilst equally professional as in the Crillon or Ritz, is much more personal, giving you more a feeling of being at home than in a hotel (one of my main reasons for returning frequently)

The location is beautiful, in the midst of the alps, a gateway for world-class hiking and skiing. Outstanding in this regards is the Spa/Wellness, which allows for the kind of vacation security that I highly value. If weather does not allow for Golf (round the corner), hiking or skiing, the hotel has one of the biggest and nicest Spa's you would see across Europe. Truly outstanding.

If you are bored of 5*hotels either uniform and without tradition or too stiff or nosy, and require a very personal atmosphere, great food, sport and wellness to recover, give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We just came back from our 5 days vacation in the Grand Park Hotel. Had the most relaxing days ever. the room was comfortable and provided everything. Started with a powerful breakfast and enjoyed hikes through the gastein valley. Most of the time we spent in the amazing spa area, had the best massages and beauty treatments and relaxed in the various saunas, whirlpools and thermal indoor swimming pool.
we were always looking forward to evenings and the special food that awaited us. The meals were always excellent and extra whishes were provided.
It was so nice to come to a hotel that really did provide a 5 star level of service and food.
Housekeeping and wait staff were excellent. We will book again!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.4 mi away
Das.goldberg
Das.goldberg
#1 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
#11 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Klammer's Kaernten
Klammer's Kaernten
#12 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bismarck
Hotel Bismarck
#2 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
#10 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal

Property: Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Address: Kurgartenstrasse 26, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria (Formerly Grand Park Hotel)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#7 Family Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#8 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the motto "…of life close to the mountains", DAS ALPENHAUS GASTEINERTAL offers regional authenticity with a contemporary touch. A lifestyle, deliberately in the four-star category, with a range of first-class pampering and service options. Preserving the original, sustaining tradition, not forgetting our roots, having your finger on the pulse of the time and making this accessible to guests from all over the world. DAS ALPENHAUS GASTEINERTAL combines traditional values with alpine lifestyle and Austrian flair. In a prime location in the centre of Bad Hofgastein, 89 rooms and suites with completely new furnishings in an alpine ambience await you from December. The former Grand Park Hotel Bad Hofgastein shines in new splendour and offers guests from all over the world the four pillars of holiday bliss: fine food, exercise, wellness and health. The hotel’s multifaceted Alpenhaus.Gastronomy is sure to satisfy gourmets as well as nutritionally conscious guests. Be it pamper-board, cuisine suitable for allergy sufferers, vegan or vegetarian fare – the choice is yours. A stylish a la carte restaurant, a bar and a wonderful sun terrace with splendid mountain views top off the culinary options. The 2,000 m² large ALPEN.VEDA.SPA, an extensive range of wellness and health options as well as the specially developed Alpen.Kraft.Selfness-Programme (from yoga to meditative walking) are at your disposal in the SPA- and health hotel. Furthermore, the SPA-ZONE has an indoor pool, whirlpool, numerous saunas, relaxation rooms, a state-of-the-art fitness room as well as exercise, yoga and meditation rooms. FEEL FREE! The ski area Gasteinertal and Ski amade close-by, numerous cross-country skiing tracks, winter hiking trails as well as many other winter sports and leisure options beckon to venture out into the great outdoors. The hiking area Almorama in Gastein with its unique natural landscape provides an extensive network of trails. Enjoy hikes and mountain bike tours to idyllic mountain lakes, numerous alpine farms in Gasteinertal and up to the summits with fabulous panoramas. Plenty of variety on your holidays is ensured in DAS ALPENHAUS GASTEINERTAL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing