We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, honest, well-run, comfortable, local-style”
Review of Rauscher

Rauscher
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rauscher
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet, honest, well-run, comfortable, local-style”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This family-owned hotel, in a quiet side-road in a residential part of town, was originally two buildings, now smoothly integrated by a short curving corridor. We were in the Paracelsus, on the first floor facing out towards the Hotel Bismarck, with balcony, TV, comfortable beds, lots of cupboard and drawer space, and everything else you’d expect. It’s very quiet or well-sound-insulated – we never heard any of our neighbours, or the plumbing.

What was evidently the reception, bar and lounge of the Paracelsus when it was a separate hotel are now TV and games rooms, with free pool, darts and table-football, and a selection of toys for kids. The main Rauscher reception area has a computer with free internet access, as well as free wifi. We didn’t find the hotel spa area, or use the spa facilities at the Hotel Palace (I don’t know if this is standard or if it was a Crystal extra), and the outdoor swimming pool wasn’t in use. The ski-storage room for Paracelsus is in the basement below, with boot-warmers. (The Rauscher part of the hotel has a separate ski-locker room.) You can exit out from it towards the Bismarck, which makes for a slightly shorter walk to the Schlossalm funicular (a pretty half a mile walk across the park, still a bit long if you’re carrying your gear), or to the bus/skibus stop by the Volserhof a minute or two along the road. Buses ‘1’ and ‘2’ come every five/ten minutes and take you swiftly to the funicular; most of the ‘2’s also go on to Angertal. If you want to get to Dorfgastein or Sportgastein areas, you need to change at Schlossalm. It’s five minutes’ pleasant walk into the town centre in the evenings.

Food was great and local-style. Breakfasts are buffet and central-European style, with cheese, ham, eggs, cucumber, tomato, various types of bread, cereals (chocolate chips in the muesli!), juice, etc. In the evening there’s always a salad buffet, soup, and then a choice of three main courses, and usually of two desserts. Plenty of regional specialities; and we tried the ineffable ‘housemade’ Swiss Stone Pine liqueur. Service was friendly and humorous. Many guests were middle-aged/ elderly, and ‘taking the cure’ at the famous Bad Hofgastein spa, so it’s not a typical ski-hotel. Overall, it’s not ‘stylish’ or funky, but not fuddy-duddy either. It’s a good, honest, well-run four-star, and we enjoyed our week’s stay very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevTheTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have visited this hotel 6 times and my parents have been going there every year for the last 12 years at least. We are also booked to visit again in January 2013. Basic but clean and comfortable and excellent value compared to the competition. I have also stayed at the Oesterreichischerhof which is also good but considerably more expensive.

Very convenient for the ski bus stop and only a short walk to the town centre. Very quiet and peaceful location.

Several times Crystal have told us that all places have been sold but as we now know Frau Koestinger personally we have found out that rooms are still available and managed to get Crystal to book more rooms.

Food is typically Austrian and most staff speak reasonably good English, but that's not the point, get off your a**e and learn some German, you'll get better service.

If you want a full english breakfast, fish and chips in the evening and staff who speak perfect English (or Polish!) go to Blackpool. If you want to feel like you have actually been abroad, had some good skiing and been looked after well then I think you would find it hard to beat the Rauscher.

Room Tip: Don't let the travel agent tell you they are fully booked. Ring the hotel and check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prelouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We've had a double room with balcony - view of the mountains, with full HD TV, comfortable bed and bathroom etc. The food was delicious and the chef = member of the owners' family = manager = proprietor of all the trophies in the dining hall Manfred Kostinger was a helpful and caring host, as were all the others.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay extra EUR for a room with a balcony aiming south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Hotel rooms are clean, modern and a good size. I had a single room with more than enough space for one. Staff were more than helpful and fun. Can't complain about anything. Relaxing, happy atmosphere. Close to slopes and buses i had a great view from my room. Would recommened this hotel to everyone. If we go back to this resort I wouldn't hesitate to book in here again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepcalmandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed for 1 week in March on a ski trip. We had a great time, rooms were very clean & spacious by ski accomodation standards. The hotel has a cosy & personel atmosphere. The food was excellent & the staff /owners could not be more friendly.
A special mention for Margaret at reception, nothing was to much trouble.
There is a extensive well appointed sauna suite perfect for relaxing after a hard day on the slopes.
We intend to return next year, its a great base for your ski hol.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juicy5Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel was great for our needs, a group of 12 skiers/boarders. The hotel was really friendly and the staff made a great effort to make sure we had everything we needed. It is true the bar closes early, but there are a few bars in town to make up for it and I don't think this affected the enjoyment of our stay.

Our room was a good size with a balcony and it was nice to have the bed made and the room cleaned every day.

The hotel is a 10 minute (not wearing ski boots) walk to Schlossalm - the main route up to the Bad Hofgastein ski area, However, the bus stop is about 2 minutes away with buses every 10 minutes or so. These take you to the bus station by Schlossalm and from here you can get buses to Dorfgastein, Sportsgastein, Bad Gastein and Angertal. (All great skiing areas)

There is free wifi, but only in the lobby, but this is a comfy area with sofas where you can relax with a beer while you upload you photos from the day! There are also saunas and steam rooms in the hotel - my friends said they were great. The boot room is also easily accessible

Bad Hofgastein only has a few bars, but is is friendly and really clean. Bad Gastein does have more of a nightlife (Silver Bullet) and is great fun.

The only slight downside, was the food in the evenings wasn't always that great, but it did what it needed to do and this should not put you off staying here.

I would stay at this hotel again for a ski trip as it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiclees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

On arrival we were very impressed with the hotel, 4 star rating and we were put in a lovely room with flat screen tv, balcony, sofa, etc. However, when we returned from getting our lift pass/quick look around town, we were informed by the receptionist that 'we' had gone into the wrong room (we must have confused our key for room 16 with room 19 - she turned key upside down to reveal room 91!?) and the people that always booked this room had gone in and found all our belongings and were very angry with us!! So, the receptionist had packed our belongings and moved them to another room. When we went upto our new room, we found half our belongings left out in the hall way, available for anyone to take, including £300 snowboard equipment. The room was ok but no where near the standard of the previous and the hairdryer was held together with parcel tape. When we spoke to reception about the fact we weren't happy that someone had been through our belongings, packed them up and moved them to another room without even speaking to us first, or apologising for their mistake, and leaving our belongings in the hall, we were informed that the other guests were more important than us and couldn't understand why we were upset. We were told that as we had booked through Inghams as a minimum 3star hotel that was all we could expect. The hotel manager was incredibly unhelpful and rude. I have been to Austria quite a few times now and this was my first experience of British being made to feel unwelcome. If we didn't have such good snow, the week would have been a real disappointment. I would highly recommend the area (although Bad hofgastein is perhaps aimed at an older visitor and Bad Gastein is more for younger visitors) but not this hotel. I had previously stayed in the Alpenblick, Bad Gastein and would highly recommend this as an alternative.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowprincessUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.3 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Volserhof
Hotel Volserhof
#16 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akzent Hotel Germania
Akzent Hotel Germania
#12 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Klammer's Kaernten
Klammer's Kaernten
#13 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
#11 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
#5 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rauscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rauscher

Property: Rauscher
Address: Kurpromenade 20 | Bad Hofgastein, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rauscher 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rauscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rauscher Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing