We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful hotel for the winter vocation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Norica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norica
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The most beautiful hotel for the winter vocation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a wonderful, fabulous and glamorous hotel. Located in the center of town, with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. The first impression is the arrival at the hotel as you come to close friends as guests. Very nice and pleasant staff in traditional costumes welcomed guests. The guy who was very welcoming guests smiling, polite and resourceful. He's quick to take the bags to the room with the obligatory welcome. He is there to help you park your car.Parking is located at 30m from the hotel.
We were placed in a triple room. The room was very clean and tidy. Everything is immaculately uredno.Beds are comfortable, wide and spacious. Pillows by request. We got a baby crib with complete bedding.
The room is a decent size. Very clean and tidy. Staff that cares about hygiene room is very quiet and unnoticed. The room is quite isolated, noise from the hallway was silent. Room had a separate toilet and shower.In addition, the bathroom has bademantel for all guests. It is connected with the wonderful Alpen Terme wellness center underground tunnel which is very warm.Norica hotel guests do not pay admission. They can spend hours in a lovely part. The pool area is designed for everyone from 7 years to 77 years .... joy for all generations. Everyone has their peace and quiet. Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family.
Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family. Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family.Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family.
What a hotel is a big plus is the restaurant. very clean, nicely decorated tables with decorations that changes every day. Food was plentiful. An excellent choice, very high quality food, fresh and tasty. Special attention is paid on the decoration. Huge selection of fresh fruit and salads, cheeses and milk quality. Meat and fish are stored in a number of ways.
The waiters are very friendly, smiling, cheerful. For my family, where the children were a little more demanding, they were always at the service of food to make meals for the children. Anyone addressing the guests with lots of smiles and courtesy. simply, they were very nice people who have left a strong impression on me.
what a hotel is a big plus is the restaurant. very clean, nicely decorated tables with decorations that changes every day. Food was plentiful. An excellent choice, very high quality food, fresh and tasty. Special attention is paid on the decoration. Huge selection of fresh fruit and salads, cheeses and milk quality. Meat and fish are stored in a number of ways.
what a hotel is a big plus is the restaurant. very clean, nicely decorated tables with decorations that changes every day. Food was plentiful. An excellent choice, very high quality food, fresh and tasty. Special attention is paid on the decoration. Huge selection of fresh fruit and salads, cheeses and milk quality. Meat and fish are stored in a number of ways.
In the evening in the lobby of the hotel has entertainment for all the guests, the bar guys are trying to accommodate both young and old. Preparing wonderful cocktails, good music. Fun for all guests is guaranteed. I am very happy that the choice of the hotel was perfect and we spent an unforgettable winter vacation. On this occasion, I would recommend the hotel to all people of goodwill and families with children.
It was a pleasure to be a guest in this family at the family Čzerni

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    42
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
71
60
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Georgen im Attergau, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our forth trip to Bad Hofgastein. Again we have chosen NORICA, because it has always been the best choice.
Even the service is still great and the location is still a great place to stay we have to say: It is not getting better.
Why?
First of all we booked a Suite and just got a double room. It was clean and all OK, but not a suite at all. After negotiating we had to pay for a double room only (the receptionist mentioned right away that he was right and we should be happy to stay in such a big suite).
The problem travelling with two teenagers was still real and the living situation was "tight".
Second: Food was still great. But since Norica has always been "the best" we have seen and tasted in a four star hotel the former star transformed to a falling star. The starters were all the time the same and the kitchen team did not even change the look and presentation of the starters. The main course, former a great deal, became unimportant because of its standard selection and presentation.
It is true, that we are arguing on a high level.
But lovely, friendly and valuable team of Norica: Back to your old attitude!
We love you and Bad Hofgastein.
We want to come back!
We want a performing Norica back!
Thanks to Laszlo, Ljubka and Chritina our room maid we are full of confidence that you will find your old strength back again!

Room Tip: Do not book a suite, a double room will do, you will get the same room for 20% less!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1968_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We came here for the 3rd time during our summer holiday; everything was as last times: good service, very clean, good food...only one aspect I have to mention: we booked a triple room and because on the voucher was written only "triple room, shower, WC" and was not written "balcony", they gave us a room without one, which was very small for 3 people. I was wondering if the Agency would not have written WC on the voucher, what type of room would have they gotten us...The good point is that the hotel has direct acces through some tunnels to the Alpen Therme SPA.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony in the hotel section for a perfect view; the ones in the frontside do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumidobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had booked rooms at the hotel 6 months in advance. Upon arrival to the hotel, thay made us wait for a long time before telling us they had overbooked and we were shipped to another hotel.It turned out that the "new" hotel had only 3 stars, Norica has 4. We informed Norica that we were not happy with this solution. After an hour waiting for them to find a solution, they told us we could move back to Norica after 4 days. After 3 days, thay called us and told us we had to move out of the 3 star hotel, but we were not moving in to Norica, but across town to another hotel. They wanted us to stay there one night, before checking in to the room we had ordered in Norica.Then we told them that we would not move anymore.We never got to stay at Norica hotel, we were just badly treated by the staff, and spent much of the holiday waiting for help and switching hotels. This is the worst customer treatment we have ever come across!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Esm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel is in downtown. Parking is a few tens of meters from the location. It has a medium size pool, but direct underground connection to Thermen. The staff is very friendly. I must mention here the waiter Laszlo, which was great. Part of feeling good, it was due to him. The hotel's staff, starting with the owners, is very atent with the clients,. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and modern. In the rooms are LCD with many programs in (also in high definition). Maybe also a Romanian TV station would can be necessary. The food is extremely diverse and high quality (including seafood and fish). Even lunch and snacks for the trip from skiing is good and consistent.
We spent New Year's Eve in a company of four singers band and we have not bored at all. I stayed until 3 am. The hotel responded very well to our children, who are noisy and very naughty (as opposed to other nearby hotels where we received complains). The only unprofessional thing was tasting wine evening (15 euros) in the basement. The sommelier is just a waiter ,who did not really know how to explain well in English. The wines were not very good. We liked so much, that in 2012, we will go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Not near the bells from the church. No sleeping to much :) ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

This hotel is lovely.
From the friendly staff to the spacious and light filled rooms, great food and unlimited 'bathrobe walk' access to the thermal spa, wine tasting and free train station transfers.
For non-austrian guest the strict dinig room seating is a bit challenging. One is expected to remain at one's table for the duration of the stay. It would be nice if one could be next to the window at least once during the stay.
During our stay, the free internet provided to guests was at best at 100mbs (a bit under traditional dual ISDN) speed and sometimes would just time out on trying to load the google homepage. fortunately the free city Wifi from the tourist office down the hill at high speed rates could be accessed from our room (#303). Maybe the hotel could reconsider how it allocates bandwidth.

Room Tip: if you need internet, try for a room facing the church on the upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChattanoogaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We've stayed at the Norica a couple of times previously on package ski holidays. The experience prompted our return as independent tavellers. As always, the place was warm, welcoming and very enticing. Our stay included the use of Bad Hofgastein's wonderful large leisure complex and spa, accessed by underground walkway from the hotel with robes and towels supplied. The lobby, bar and dining areas are really quite elegant even considering the winter skiers' traffic. Our room was well equipped, very comfortable and spotless. My personal quibble? A minor issue and, of course, totally subjective. Perhaps service was a little traditional, stuffy even and I wonder if the associated codes may be a bit outmoded in a resort environment. Please don't let that put you off a fabulous stay in a wonderful village with its stunning scenery and this welcoming and classy hotel. A mention for the food with regional wines and specialities too. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBashBashKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.3 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
#11 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oesterreichischer Hof
Oesterreichischer Hof
#7 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
#10 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Das.goldberg
Das.goldberg
#1 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zum Stern
Zum Stern
#8 of 22 in Bad Hofgastein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norica

Property: Norica
Address: Kaiser-Franz-Platz 3, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#4 Family Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#5 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Norica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Hotel NORICA: close to nature, stylish, elegant and innovative; experience wellness, nature and culinary at its finest in a successful combination, shaped by your host's family Czerny. Directly linked with the Alpentherme Gastein, Dialysis Centre and with the Health Centre Bad Hofgastein: free entire entry for the hotel guests. Modern equipped rooms, panoramic restaurant with winter garden and show kitchen, the in-house experience-thermal indoor swimming pool with new CELTIC SPA & CELTIC VITAL (special celtic treatments). All bathrooms with tropical rain showers, all rooms with a HD-Flat Screen TV, the whole hotel equipped with high speed WLAN. Anew since 2014: NORICA'S TOWER SUITE - architectural rarity, a luxury flat on two floors for special occasions like wedding, birthday, anniversary, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norica Bad Hofgastein, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing