We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful hotel on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very beautiful hotel on the lake”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is really luxery. The room we had was in modern wing and well renovated. Beautiful view to the garden, everything clean and new. Really good spa.we faced with a problem on breakfasts: a lack of fruits and some other products, the waiter can forget to bring you coffe or juice. I advice not to order dinners in advance, there are a lot of good places near the lake. But in whole we recieved very good impression.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaKhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    57
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
58
224
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel located on bank of the Worthersee lake. Amazing place! Schlosshotel is also one of the pearls of that site! The central part of the hotel is ancient building in a great condition. The rest of it is very modern and nice architecture. They have their own beach linked with a building by tunnel. The town is also magnificent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arm3strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I booked a standard room at this Leading Hotel for one night from October 24 - 25, 2013. Rate was 201,50 Euro/Night, half-board and taxes inclusive.

I arrived with a colleague at about 7pm. A doorman or bellboy was not available at arrival, we parked the car at the entrance, stepped into the lobby and had to wait at reception until an employee noticed us and we could check in. No people in the city, no guests in the hotel - everything seemed to be quite calm and a bit deserted.

We were guided to our rooms. I got an upgrade to a next category room (no. 310). A welcome note and sweets were placed in the room and luggage transfer happened without complain. Turn down was already done.

My problems with the room: located on the attic floor, there were a few wooden beams in the room and unfortunately I hit my head promptly (and strong). Why was there no sign or better a pad on it? So I lost my happiness with this room quite soon. As a tall guest it also was difficult to use the working desk and also disputable: there was a partition in front of the bed and behind of it a small seating area, but without any lighting. This area was complete in the dark and you couldn't use it in the evening. Booking this room during holidays and not off season for one night it would be really annoying paying a few hundreds Euro/night for this.

Anyway, dinner at restaurant was fine (three tables were occupied), at the bar were no guests and no reason to stay for a drink (no music or any nice bar feeling). Breakfast was also fine and the check out process was efficient as it should be (luggage transfer, correct invoice, handover of the car).

There was foggy weather when we left Velden and like the whole stay there was a bit of sadness around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here mid-December while driving from Budapest to Venice. Got a really good winter rate and the Hotel was empty (I believe only 4 of 5 other guests). The hotel is excellent, the rooms very large, clean, comfortable and modern. Dinner was included and the restaurant was perfect. They could improve their free Wi-Fi, though, as connection is slow. Service is attentive and efficient. Even though Velden seems to be more like a summer resort, being there in the winter for a couple of days was very relaxing, especially if you use the Spa facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBerba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel service was terrible. You have to ask for anything. There is no regular room cleaning, you have to let them know when you want your room to be clean. We didn't ask for new bed sheet, so we slept on the same bed sheet and pillow cases for 5 nights. After 3 days, we want to replace bathrobes, they took the used ones, but no new bathrobes. They took away the used saucers and spoon, but never replace with a new one, so, we were left with 2 cups, no saucers, no spoon. The cleaner came to clean our room as requested, but left a bottle of cleaning liquid in our bathroom once. On another time, they replaced the garbage bag in our bathroom bin, but left the used one (with garbage inside) on our bathroom floor. Strange enough, the staff who did the manicure, pedicure and the massage is the same person. The manicure and pedicure were charged for 1 hour each, but both were done within only 1 hour. The massage was charged for 80 minutes, but completed in 60 minutes. When was asked, the staff said she used the other 20 minutes to prepare things for the massage. There are much more to complain. This cannot be a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pm-pmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cividale del Friuli, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've been in this hotel for 4 nights.

The Junior Suite is exellent but that's it.
In the room there should have been a Lavazza coffee machine. I didn't tell to the reception because I wasn't going to use it but no one of the staff noticed.

The SPA is small and the water of the pool is cold. You can't stand in it without swimming.
The snow room was out of order.
My wife had a body massage, the prices were twice than normal massage rates but the effect very poor.

If you stay in a Junior Suite the parking is included. During online reservation I've checked anyway the parking option to be sure to have the parking. At the check out they were going to make me pay anyway.

They made us change the room and it was like a new check in! We went out of the old room at 10:00 then we came back at 14:30. When we got in the new room, it was not ready and there was an half drinked bottle of coke and a sandwich.... When we told the reception they made us wait in the hall for 1 hour (it should have been only fot 10min...).

Eating is very normal, you can find a lot of restaurants that do much better at half the rate.

The hotel is located on the Velden lake with a wonderful view but Velden is very small and during winter time if you want to see something you have to take the car and go to Klagenfurt. For sure it's better to go in summer.

I choose 5 stars hotels for service and details that make me wonder to spend all my life in the hotel. When I leaved the Schlosshotel Velden I was happy to go back home.....

Room Tip: Go in summer... if you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed two nites in Falkensteiner Schlosshotel, Velden. The hotel is wonderful. We stayed in the new and old wing. The room we stayed had a wonderful view of the lake. The resturant is linked to the hotel with an underground tunnel. This is very helpful in the Autumn nights. The staff is very helpful. The stay ended up as our highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Choosen the new wing. The rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velden am Woerthersee
2.1 mi away
Flairhotel am Woerthersee
Flairhotel am Woerthersee
#9 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resor...
#1 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carinthia Velden Hotel
Carinthia Velden Hotel
#6 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
113 reviews
10.3 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Park's
Hotel Park's
#28 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden

Property: Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Address: Schlosspark 1, Velden am Woerthersee 9220, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Velden am Woerthersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Velden am Woerthersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Castle on Lake Woerthersee – Falkensteiner Shines in New Splendour!Welcome to the legendary Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden, the premiere address on Carinthia’s Lake Woerthersee! The new Premium Collection Hotel offers a noble retreat with unique architecture that has been a popular destination for centuries. Glamorous and light-hearted, surrounded by style, tradition and modernity, the Schloss Hotel Velden receives its guests with exquisite personalised service. The former summer palace in Schönbrunn yellow offers 103 state-of-the-art rooms and suites. The design and superb furnishings underline the Falkensteiner philosophy and its commitment to guarantee every guest the utmost in personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing