We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Austria!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Austria!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Schloss Hotel and it was simply amazing. We had a short trip with our nine yr. old and were not sure if we could make it to Velden. It turned out to be the highlight or the trip. We had a beautiful suite overlooking the lake. The first night we ate at the beautiful Restaurant Seespitz, on the water which was modern and simple and had a kids menu (rare in Austria) It was one of our best meals of the trip and was part of the half board meal plan. We woke up to a sunny beautiful day and went waterskiing with the "Strand Club" ski school. Manfried took great care of my wife, myself and our son. After our ski we enjoyed a great buffet breakfast on the elevated terrace overlooking the lake. The hotel has combined a historic old castle with a new modern wing of the hotel. The pool -club is built right on the water, with very comfortable loungers and amazing service. The service, location and facilities were outstanding. The pool in the spa and spa rooms and whirlpool were amazing as well. One night to our surprise there was a wonderful water and laser show we could watch right from our balcony.This hotel is not inexpensive, however if you are looking for the best experience in Austria you must try the Schloss Hotel Velden. You will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Pamper yourself with a Castle Suite with Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    56
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
57
220
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spend a long weekend at Schloss Velden in April 2012.

In terms of location and quality of building and rooms it is a superb top class hotel. It is an old palace right at the lake which has been a hotel for a long period of time. However several years ago it was completely remodeled and a very modern wing was added. Since this remodeling it is certainly one of the top hotels in Austria - at least in terms of location, building and rooms.

However overall the experience was a bit mixed:

Good things:

* location, building and room quality - just perfect

* service at welcome/reception and departure is outstanding - very good staff in this area

* nice spa with good indoor pool

* superb breakfast

* in general very friendly and welcoming staff

* free minibar, free internet, free parking


Disappointments

* the service at restaurant "Seespitz" was simply a disaster. Service was extremely slow, not well coordinated, mixed up the orders. Quite irritating - and I think we do have a rather high tolerance level.

* they only offered the room on half board base with a "5 course dinner". Considering that the hotel runs one of the top restaurants in the region, we thought it is a good thing. We even called before to be sure and we were told that the included dinner is served in the main restaurant Schlossstern. Checking out the Gault MIllau guide we were really looking forward to a great food experience. This turned out rather disappointing. While you could eat the 'half board menu' in the award winning Schlossstern restaurant, the menu had nothing to do with the cuisine which got the superb reviews. It was completely different food. Asking for the 'real menu' they told us that we can get a 15 Euro (!) credit and we can order the proper menu (which costs between 69 and 120 Euro).

* cleaning of the room was a bit uncoordinated. There seemed to be a lack of staff (considering that our room was cleaned around 4 in the afternoon and only after we complained).


Overall nice place but there can be some improvement on the management/service quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: There is a modern wing and an old wing (meaning old wing in the palace, rooms are newly done). Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco_Polo_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Some days before our arrival, the staff called us to have some information about our preferences and even about the italian newspapers we should like to read in the morning. Though we understand german, everyone of the staff made us feel at home speaking in an almost perfect italian. Welcome was perfect, we were accompanied to our suite and every particular of the touch screen display (light, curtains and air conditioned controls) was clearly explained. The apartment was very still and comfortable, a wide desk and a sofa, a minibar (every drink but alcoholics was free), three TV screens (even one hidden in a mirror in the bathroom) and a queen size bed. The bathtube had enough space for two and the shower (with a rain-like dispenser) was in a separate small room.

A coffee and tea machine was provided in the room to have a comfortable awakening, and a wide assortment of food was prepared downstairs for breakfast.

We also had a dinner at the Hotel restaurant with an impressive experience of creative cuisine. Surprisingly good, even the choice of various kinds of bread.

The swimming pool was extremely clean and comfortable, as well as the spa area. Parking in the garage was easy and free of charge.

Prices can be expensive (though fully justified by the superlative quality of the treatment), but we could benefit of one of the many favourable deals the Hotel offers on its internet site.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

What a spectacular hotel – in every way. The building, the style, the interior décor, the rooms and suites, the staff, the management, the dining room, the food – all superlative.

The old castle has been totally renovated to the highest standards, and the new wings are every bit as beautiful. I cannot emphasize enough how grand the Schloss Velden is.

As part of our Christmas vacation this year, I stayed at the Schloss Decemebr 23 – 27 with my sister and her husband. I had a “Deluxe” room, and they had a junior suite. The deluxe room was spectacular enough – huge by any standard and decorated with exquisite taste. But the junior suite was exceptional – it featured a stone wall separating the living area from the bedroom, complete with a see-thru fireplace. Everything was in tip-top condition, and the staff could not do enough for you. When communicating with the hotel, they assign a “Personal Assistant” who will take care of any and all requests. Our contact was “Nancy” and her expertise and enthusiasm were remarkable. The doorman was “Sonny” and his personality was perfect, and his linguistic skills superb (6 languages).

The rooms were fabulously electronic. The drapes could be remotely opened and closed, the lights could be controlled from bedside, or other strategic points around the room, the bath or the foyer. Closet space was phenomenal. The bathrooms spectacular, with both a large bathtub, and a marble encased walk-in shower. The sinks were large square glass vessels, completed by very high-tech plumbing fixtures.

The spa facilities were among the best I have ever seen. The indoor pool is huge and the tile work is exceptional. A large sauna, steam room and hot pool are also available. The exercise room had the best equipment, and the Zen Garden relaxation room looked inviting! I did not indulge in any spa treatments, myself.

The general manager, Mr Alexander Orlandini was omnipresent. He was always concerned with the guests’ well-being and circulated thru the hotel facilities on a regular basis.

Christmas Week dining was a brilliantly staged affair with special menus each evening. The food was fantastic, the service superb. I was startled to realize that the plate side silver service was, in fact, Christofle. Absolutely superb. The breakfast buffets were feasts for the eyes and taste buds! Everything perfectly arranged and presented. Everything fresh and the best available. No stinting on quality, whatsoever!

Schloss Velden is fairly remote – midway between Villach and Klagenfurt, in a small town in southern Austria. It sits on the beautiful Wörthersee Lake; so the beauty of the surroundings complement, perfectly, this grand hotel.

This hotel does not have a nickel and dime policy on anything. Included in the rate are breakfast, the contents of the mini-bar (non-alcoholic), free internet, free use of the spa facilities, and free parking. Pretty amazing!

I cannot praise this hotel and its staff enough. This is probably my favorite European hotel!

The Tripadvisor title of this hotel indicates that it is a Capella Hotel. They no longer manage the property as of September 1, 2011 – it is now a Falkensteiner property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontanaKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Breathtaking location by Wörthersee with breathtaking view just a short drive both from Villach and Klagenfurt. Charming historical building with elegant interior, a perfect combination of classic furniture and modern technology. Service is exceptional even for a ***** hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a touch of classic luxury ask for a room in the historical building with view to the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmilcsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times already this year and already have a reservation for over Christmas.
This is a fabulous hotel. It has the German efficiency but added to that has the Austrian charm. Kind of makes it perfect.
The staff here are really what makes this hotel special. Ever so polite and friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as can be.
The facilities at this hotel are second to none.
Rooms in both the original schloss and modern wing are to the highest standards.Those in the orginal schloss are ever so romanic while those in the modern wing are cool chic.
Only downside I can comment on are the overcomplicated touch screen room controls. Sometimes a simple switch will do!

If you're ever at the Worthersee I highly recommend this hotel.
Yes it's very expensive during the summer months but out of those periods there are some fabulous deals to be had. Go on treat yourself, we certianly do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed in Schloss with my family about 10 times and it's really the best European hotel. It's good for business trip, honeymoon, family rest, skiing, for private rest, for spa for all types of relaxing

Ivanov Maksim

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxivanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velden am Woerthersee
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resor...
#1 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
310 reviews
2.1 mi away
Flairhotel am Woerthersee
Flairhotel am Woerthersee
#11 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
47 reviews
4.0 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#1 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seehotel Hubertushof
Seehotel Hubertushof
#4 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
66 reviews
10.3 mi away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 26 in Klagenfurt
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seehotel Europa
Seehotel Europa
#5 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden

Property: Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Address: Schlosspark 1, Velden am Woerthersee 9220, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Velden am Woerthersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Velden am Woerthersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Romantic Castle on Lake Woerthersee – Falkensteiner Shines in New Splendour!Welcome to the legendary Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden, the premiere address on Carinthia’s Lake Woerthersee! The new Premium Collection Hotel offers a noble retreat with unique architecture that has been a popular destination for centuries. Glamorous and light-hearted, surrounded by style, tradition and modernity, the Schloss Hotel Velden receives its guests with exquisite personalised service. The former summer palace in Schönbrunn yellow offers 103 state-of-the-art rooms and suites. The design and superb furnishings underline the Falkensteiner philosophy and its commitment to guarantee every guest the utmost in personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing