We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Gasthof zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gasthof zur Post
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ossiach
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for seven nights, basically it is a very average place, food is very very basic (certainly not an imaginative chef in the kitchen). Our allocated room was okay - very clean with balcony but parts of the hotel are in need of refurbishment as they are very shabby and not been decorated in years. The waiting staff in dining room very friendlyl. The downfall is the owner/manager - very much needs to go on a Customer Service course. Held the door open for her one day walked through didn't smile or say thank-you - never looks up as you go through reception and really doesn't care at all about guests. I would certainly not recommend this hotel. It is on a main road opposite a supermarket in a Hamlet with very few facilities - many nicer places around the same lake. Also do not go in May to this area as it is SHUT as it is between seasons - summer season does not start until June - shops, hotels in villages and towns all through the area completely closed.

Room Tip: Try for a balcony at the front and in the newer part of hotel (over the bank !)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 718SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
22
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful setting. It looks pretty from the outside. There is also a balcony seating area that offers lovely views where you can take a drink as there are tables and chairs. The rooms are small even the double and sparcely furnished. There is not one touch of luxury you get just the basics. The Manageress is a rude loud uncaring woman who has no idea of customer service and shouts over you like Helga from the old television comedy series "Allo Allo" The rest of the staff look as if they are captive forced labour. I was given a lecture about nature when I complained about the mosquitoes that kept us company every night in the dining room and in our rooms at night. There was no air conditioning or fans. The food in the evening was mediocre and you had to get used to things floating in thin soup as a starter. They did produce a few good dishes but overall the food was not good in the evening. The breakfast rated better with a good selection of hot and cold that was topped up if necessary. The drinks were reasonably priced but the bars were small one of them looked dirty. I had the same towels most of my stay as I regonised my make up stain. They were very small towels and were rough. I went with Leger and have since complained as I was charged single supplement for a room that could only just accomodate a double bed. It is the worst hotel overall that I have ever stayed in. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtlonergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel with Leger Holidays. The food was consistently terrible. The management & staff 'couldn't care less' when we complained & returned a particularly inedible Stroganoff that was served one evening. The rooms were certainly not cleaned thoroughly every day. The lack of lifts makes this hotel unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems. This is certainly a hotel to avoid in the futuire!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blsbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ossiach hotels

Hull, East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 nights with Leger Holidays. Manageress was awful but other staff ok. The only rooms with balconies were at the front of the hotel while the ones at the back, if you had a window you could see out of, looked out onto a grass hill immediately outside the window. Food was terrible -breakfast was the best meal of the day and the salads were good at dinner, but apart from that, forget it. Some of our party were put in a five floor annexe and others across the main road in another annexe. Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A familty run hotel right in front of the Ossiach lake and the Forestry learning center. Rooms are simple, but spacious with a nice terrace. The town is lovely and just 30 Km away from the Italian border.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigi_Fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossiach
0.7 mi away
Wellness Seecamping Parth
1.2 mi away
Hotel Urbani
Hotel Urbani
#3 of 6 in Bodensdorf
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Bier Peter
Landhotel Bier Peter
#5 of 6 in Bodensdorf
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Almresort Gerlitzen Kanzelhohe
4.2 mi away
ROBINSON Club Landskron
ROBINSON Club Landskron
#1 of 1 in Landskron
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gastehaus Krappinger
Gastehaus Krappinger
#9 of 21 in Ossiach
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof zur Post

Property: Gasthof zur Post
Address: Ossiach A-9570, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Ossiach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ossiach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Gasthof zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing