We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, atmosphere and food”
Review of Hotel Seerose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Seerose
Ranked #1 of 19 Bodensdorf B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, atmosphere and food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel Seerose last weekend and had a really great time. This was most probably the best hotel we've stayed at in a while.

Our room was excellent: rather spacey, very comfortable, clean and with a wonderful view of the lake.

The SPAnorama - the wellness area of the hotel with an amazing view - is an excellent place to relax and forget about the everyday stress. There is a sauna, which was never overcrowded, a nice terrace and a "whisper zone" where you can lie on a water mattresses and read a book or just turn off for a while. The spanorama was an absolute highlight for us.

The food was really great, both breakfast and dinner. They serve food that is typical for Austria and Carinthia in particular and have a great selection of wines. Luckily, we burned a lot of calories snowboarding on Gerlitzen, otherwise it would have been very hard to maintain the calorie intake balance with such delicious food.

The owners and their staff are very nice and exceptionally friendly. The day we arrived, we missed the free shuttle bus to Gerlitzen and they offered to transport us there without extra charge.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Seerose last weekend. The room is simply fantastic, although with an inner window between bathroom and bedroom which makes the room fancy and stylish, but a bit inconvenient if your partner needs the bathroom at night.
Overall, the quality of the furniture and decoration is superhigh. Wood, glass everywhere, confy beds and a lot of candles throughout the hole hotel. It´s actually one of the most beautiful hotels I´ve ever seen, and the spa, facing the lake and the opposite mountain, has a groundbreaking vie - and water mattresses, so yes, I slept a bit there.
We benefited of a special offer (130 EUR per person for 2 nights - full board), but I noticed the regular price is much higher, so I guess my review has to consider this.
Food is good, somehow not a super-rich breakfast and especially lunch (in Austria a snack lunch is habitual, but this is a bit too scarce). Dinner is on the other hand very good: large portions, and clearly a lot of attention on food combination and quality, so since this is a ski location it somehow makes sense to have a quick lunch (skiers don´t usually have lunch in hotels). Still.
Hotel owners are nice and chatty, very nice people and this also counts.
Overall: at 65 EUR per night per person, definitely an almost top notch experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcloud Village
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I planned a short trip to Carinthia. Via the Internet I selected this hotel. There were a couple of good reviews and a bad one. I saw however, that a section of the hotel had been torn down and completely rebuilt this past winter. So we decided to book.

Arriving we were greeted by the owners, Margret & Peter Pölzl and we were very pleasantly surprised! The rooms in the new wing are all you desire. We have stayed in 5-star hotels which did not come close to these new rooms. Large, well appointed, fabulous bathrooms (shower in our unit), excellent beds, 32" flat screen TV, etc. Our room opened directly into the garden.

Check the website and this saves me writing what services are offered: http://www.seerose.info

Food: Every guest, baring some esoteric anemic ones, will surely gain weight, even if their stay is just 3 days. The dinner menue is 4, 5 or 6 courses.

All the staff is exceptionally friendly! We had a grave medical incident which required my wife to be rushed to the Villach hospital by ambulance. Within 30 minutes she was in emergency. She was discharged after a week, which meant my stay extended to 11 days and, again, the staff was extremely helpful. For that period I transferred to a smaller room on the mountain side, which again had the same furnishings. WiFi in the rooms worked well.

I have been in many hotels, much larger, much smaller, all around the world, but this is one hotel where we will come back to next spring. There is much to see, to explore, to hike, etc.

We did not use the fantastic spa area on the top floor and neither the sauna hut right on the lake shore, but, just from the looks it also is 5 star! The lake is the swimming pool!

Please note that the photograph shown is NOT this Hotel SeeRose!

Check the webcam!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Rather expensive for what you get at this hotel. Lovely section of the Ossiacher See with direct access to the hotel beach. Our room in the newer part of the hotel was quite generous, balcony overlooked the garden(loud at night when guests were still lingering on the terrace) and part of the lake. Older TV with poor screen quality, no CD player or movies to rent or play, no free internet connection. The shower stall was one of the smallest ones we have ever encountered in a hotel of this calibre (rate is over 100.00 euros per person). A bottle mounted on the wall, contained a mix of shower gel/shampoo that really didn't do much for hair or skin. The dining room was nicely decorated, but usually felt like a sauna by the end of the day (temperatures reached up to 37 degrees Centigrade outside, no air con). Music for breakfast was provided by radio programs and the traffic reports and ads really didn't do much for ambience or one's holiday feeling. Breakfast buffet was extensive, but never varied during the week of our stay. Heavy emphasis on meat and cold cuts, and the same for lunch and dinner. As a vegetarian I found the overall selection of food fairly lacking in choice. For the price of the room rate one could do better at seeral of the other hotels close by.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodensdorf
0.6 mi away
Hotel Urbani
Hotel Urbani
#3 of 6 in Bodensdorf
73 reviews
5.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velden
Falkensteiner Schlosshotel Velde...
#2 of 31 in Velden am Woerthersee
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hoffmann
Seehotel Hoffmann
#1 of 2 in Steindorf
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
ROBINSON Club Landskron
ROBINSON Club Landskron
#1 of 1 in Landskron
61 reviews
20.6 mi away
See-Villa Hotel
See-Villa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Millstatt
195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mountain Resort Feuerberg
Mountain Resort Feuerberg
#1 of 6 in Bodensdorf
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seerose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seerose

Property: Hotel Seerose
Address: Fischerweg 7, Bodensdorf 9551, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Bodensdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bodensdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seerose 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seerose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing