We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kolmhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kolmhof Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bad Kleinkirchheim
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I had a lovely stay at the Kolmhof. It is very conveniently located, being less than 2 minutes from a quiet 4 person chair (no queues to speak of). The hotel is going through a refurbishment programme and although our room was awaiting a refurb, it was still clean and comfortable. the restaurant was always full and the food was more than adequate and it served with a smile. i would also recommend the wine list which is good value and varied. being a family hotel, it is busy and the spa was always full so you may not find a bed if you ski down late, but the spa facilities are good and well kept. The outdoor pool is a great experience in winter too!! Overall, the hotel is reasonably priced for the quality and we would be very happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back - they are quieter and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    10
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woerden, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed our staying in the hotel Kolmohof and for sure we would like to come back again. as well as we would recommend this hotel.

We had half board and breakfast was really good as well as the dinner. The kids liked the food too, some days a bit less, but they are kids are only happy with fries and pasta. There was a good variety of salad and this way they ate some healthy food which was good. For the adults meal, I cannot think anything that should be changed. The food was really good, compliment to the Chef.

The room was quite warm and because the kids were sleeping near to the window, we could not leave it open every night. Maybe you could ask for thinner blankets. I found it a bit too warm in bed.

For the rest, everything was really good. Sauna facilities were really good and there is a heated outside swimming pool... After a day of skiing it was great to be in the sauna and swim in the pool. The personnel is very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is just behind the ski lift, you only need to walk a bit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliane_J_021772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Came with my family to have a six day holiday.Drove 6 hours from Bosnia to get there.It looked perfect on the Internet.A four star hotel...it was also pricy..Once we got there,we had realized that it had been our biggest mistake!!!The room was cold,smelly and with old beds!We stayed for one night and left the hotel!Don't bring your family there!!!Totally disaster!Very expensive one!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MB976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolmhof, Geschäftsführer at Kolmhof Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear guest,

we feel very sorry that you didn´t like our hotel. We have to say, that we but up the temperature immediatly after you told us that it was too cold for u. As you know, you got also an extra heating. You told us that it was not possible for your small kids to sleep on an extendible couch, so it would have been the best way for you to rent 2 double rooms with connecting door.
Maybe it was our mistake, that we do not showed you the right rooms. As i told you we feel very sorry but we real wonder, that you told us that you will leave back home the hole way instead of moving to an other hotel. Maybe there were also other problems that influenced your dessison except the hotel.
yours sincerely,
Hotel Kolmhof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Kolmhof for 9 nights with our children for their first real skiing holiday. I enjoyed the family run hotel as it reminded me of the first hotel I stayed in Austria 25 years ago. It was quite old fashioned in its decor but the rooms were very comfortable for the 4 of us. The service was very polite and friendly the staff were great with our children (8 and 10 Years) although the matriach could be a bit gruff to us adults on the occasion, a bit like a school mistress of 'old'. We all made great use of the spa and pool facilities which I would say was very child friendly.
The chair lift is within 5 minutes walk as is the ski hire shop, and the ski schule was close by and due to the excellent snow conditions we could virtually ski back to the door. Our children were the ideal age as they really enjoyed their skiing but it would not be somewhere I would like to be with a toddler or baby as there are no facilities for very young children.

The hotel is opposite the St Katherine Spa which was a lovely place to relax with the kids.

Room Tip: Have a room with a balcony facing the chair lift for the stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canaryB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here during a business event and I have mixed feelings about the experience.
Compared to other 4 star hotels in Austria, this one definitely does not deserve its four stars. The rooms were very old fashioned, the bathroom needed some serious reconstructions but on the other hand the rooms were large, light and clean. The biggest disadvantage were the paper thin walls, you could hear everything...
The food was mediocre, the same buffet breakfast every day, not a large choice and you had to wait a half an hour or so at times for some things to get restocked. The dinner menu was ok, only 2 main dishes to choose from and not always a vegetarian option (one night there was meat or fish to choose from, the other there were just two types of meat...).
The service was perhaps the most confusing. Whilst the receptionists were really nice and helpful and most of the staff in the restaurant likewise, we were served by a very unfriendly and grumpy waiter. Most of the time he just couldn't wait for us to get out of the dining room even if we wanted to order a bottle of wine or a couple of beers.
The weirdest things though, was that the restaurant closed at 10pm and there was no place in the hotel to grab a drink. So we had to sit in the lobby and drink what we bought in from outside...
I didn't go to the spa, but my colleagues seemed to have enjoyed it and regarding what the other reviewers complained about the internet - there is now free Wi-Fi at the lobby, you have to ask for a code fee of charge, but it does have some issues with the connection from time to time.
The location is perhaps the best asset. Really close to the Maibrunnbahn and the Sonnenheim ski lift is just 3 minutes on foot if you'd like a change. The St Kathrein spa is directly opposite the hotel across the road. There is a ski rent shop across the road where you get a 10% discount if you say you're staying at Kolmhof.
Summed up, an ok hotel if you're not really expecting the 4 stars and just want to clean place to sleep which is close to the skiing and spa attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in March. Hotel Kolmhof is a family hotel - but this only means that it is family-run and does not mean that families are especially welcome. Our children were reminded on several occasions that they should not run or play around and that they should keep quiet.

Kolmhof claims to be a four star hotel but it is not - moreover this is a shame for other 4* hotels in the area.

We were given a family room on the fourth floor - small and smelly and overall worn-out. The beds had a wooden board instead of a proper frame and the bed for the kids was very small and very uncomfortable.

The ski-room consists of 2 rooms each 3 by 4 meters, and is much too small to hold all the equipment. There are no lockers, the are no locks and not enough boot holders, and the whole area is totally overcrowded at peak hours. Ski in/out is not possible - but the lifts are only about 50-80m away.

The food served is average. Portions are small. Breakfast on the other hand is extensive.

The outdoor heated swimming pool is nice and the kids loved it. There are ample wellness opportunities but we only used the sauna once. Having naked men and women in the shower for those who swim may not be appreciated by everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanJBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We have just spent a week in hotel Kolmhof with friends and our family and frankly speaking, we expected more. This is definitely NOT a 4-star hotel as to the quality. For families with babies like us, the first dissapointment is that there are 8 stairs that you need to climb with a baby carriage to get into the hotel. As to the rooms, they seem quite nice, except for the bathrooms which in many cases need a major reconstruction. It is nearly impossible to turn down the heating so be ready for high temperatures inside the rooms. The cleaning services are quite low, they do not change towels, or the bed lining. They do just a plane vacuum cleaning. This hotel has also an elevator...forget about it unless you want to wait for 5 minutes till it finally comes.
When it comes to food, it is tasty and ok if you are not a gourmet. There is always a choice of three dishes for a dinner - beef or pork as menu 1, fish - menu 2 or some vegetarian food. In a four star hotel, I would personally expect at least complimentary still water. No...not in this hotel, they charge you for everything. Wireless internet is not for free either and works only at the hotel's lobby.
The wellness area was very nice, although the "fitness" centre was a complete disaster where nothing worked properly or at all. Saunas and the outdoor swimming pool were good, clean and very refreshing.
All in all, this was a poor experience from a 4-star hotel and we expected more.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peedee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Kleinkirchheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trattlerhof
Hotel Trattlerhof
#2 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
#6 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel NockResort
Hotel NockResort
#14 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wohlfuehl & Genusshotel Felsenhof
Wohlfuehl & Genusshotel Felsenho...
#11 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Praegant
Hotel Praegant
#4 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolmhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolmhof Hotel

Property: Kolmhof Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 26, Bad Kleinkirchheim 9546, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Bad Kleinkirchheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bad Kleinkirchheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolmhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday at the Kolmhof is balsam to the soul. This family-run hotel has been among the top addresses for a holiday in Bad Kleinkirchheim for a long time now.The Kolmhof is located in the centre of the village of Bach at 1,050 metres above sea level and is directly opposite the St. Kathrein thermal springs and right in the centre of the skiing complex Bad Kleinkirchheim/St. Oswald. Even the approach to and from the hotel is possible on skis!The 59 rooms available with us in Bad Kleinkirchheim vary in style from mainly highly modern or classic country style.Our excellent cuisine and wellness complex 1.000 m² in size with its heated outdoor pool (accessible via a tunnel from the indoor area) open all year round, various saunas, steam room, beauty and massage centre, solarium, fitness facilities and a big alpine wellness garden of about 3.500 m² provide harmony for body, mind and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Kolmhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing