We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”
Review of Ortners Eschenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ortners Eschenhof
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have spent in Eschenhof 7 unforgettable summer days. The hotel is family run, not very big, but very cosy. It is very well managed. At the moment you entered the hotel you are made to feel at home first by the reception ladies and later by all other personnel. Everybody is polite, smiling and ready to help. The welcome song is very nice. We had family room, with 2 balconies. The room was rather big, clean and with beautiful view of the mountains.
The restaurant was nice with outstanding service and personalized menu and table. The food was exceptional. Various breakfast with organic food, nice soup and snack afternoon, herbal tees and delicious themed dinners. The barbeque night was excellent.
The SPA is ok. Many places to sit and relax, not overcrowded, clean and nice. The only recommendation - to translate safety signs in spa and pool area also in English. The floor near the pools is extremely slippery.
For kids they have nice but very small playground and small kids club that is perfect for small children. For older children (7 and up) it could be boring.
We would like to say many thanks to chef Bernhard for his cooking talent, to Susanna for her warm welcome, to Christina for her friendly and exceptional service in the restaurant and to all Ortner family for our fantastic week. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    37
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
101
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gyor, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have spent 3-4 seasonal skiing periods at Eschenhof, and it is one of the most waited ski-events during the year. Usually we go in the mid March, when there is snow everywhere. The lopes are great, and at Eschenhof we really enjoy ourselves. The meals are delicious , for the half board you even get the lunch-soup wich is adorable - and you can always find the Hütte where to go by just following Anka :-)
The service and the staff are more than welcoming, the spa and wellness area is simply as enjoyable as it would be a simple wellness hotel without providing the mountains!
We always get what we have in mind - even more - and the best : our four legged family member could also join as mush there as we do!
We are planning to make a visit during the summer time- it must as relaxing in an active way-as during winter time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were 3 couples without children , everything was perfect . Rooms, food, wellness and friendly owners of the hotel - super, We recommended it for everybody . Ski lifts are situated very near hotel. The food is in "bio" quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojelinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Small family owned hotel with great and modern cuisine. It is visible that owners care for details - e.g. first night they sing you warm welcome song. Although quite funny, I appreciated it very much. There are also local newspapers with useful info. Rooms are very clean and well equipped. Very good children playroom with nice personnel - thank you tante Eva. Location is also OK, approx. 200 m from slopes. For sure I recommend!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sinisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the third time, very briefly - only 2 nights - at the beginning of September. It is quite simply our favourite hotel in the whole world. The Ornter family and their team achieve the alchemy of uniting an intimate hotel while providing all the luxuries that many world-class hotel would be proud of. The cuisine is outstanding, the spa and treatment options offer anything you would wish for: after an hour or two in the Silencium, their latest spa innovation, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. This hotel has something to offer all year round and is a great choice for families as little ones are as well catered for as grown-ups. We will be back again as soon as we can manage it!

Room Tip: I would recommend a Wintergarden room as it enables you to bring the outside in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

With the family spent 4 days here. The price was appropriate being less expensive than the higher rated hotels in town, but lacked nothing. The location is perfect, being next to a chairlift and 5 min walk from the center of town. The pool and rec. area were very clean and though small the indoor and outdoor pools were well heated as well as the lounge areas. Making appointments for a massage was difficult as the desk was rarley attended. The rooms were of good size, but found the beds a little uncomfortable, the family room had seperate room for the shower and the toilet, ideal for a family. A play room for smaller children, foosball and X-box to keep the older ones entertained. The restaurant was the crowning factor. Breakfast was very good with very good quality ingredients, dinner would be comparable to a starred restaurant, by far the best meals I've had in Austria! Arriving at the hotel was a pleasant experience, well trained, courteous staff though some did not have a good command of english or italian. Every morning a news flyer was put out listing the day's activities also to welcome arriving families and bidding good bye to departing guests. An excellent experience and we will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco-Friuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

My husband, son (2 years old), parents and me spent 3 nights in the eschenhof hotel in february.
The hotel is a not in the city center, but it is very convenient if you want to go skiing, since you can walk to 2 different lifts and proceed to two different regions. The ski complex is quite old, but the slops were very well maintained and there was artificial snow everywhere.
You can also go on many walks from there. My mother and my son had a nice time walking around and playing with the snow.
We stayed in a room with wintergarten, which gave us more space and a nice sunny spot. The room is simple but nice, all wooden and cosy. Bathroom is not new, but good and clean.
We very much enjoyed the food (breakfast, dinner, and soup/snack at lunch).
The most amazing thing in the hotel was the children's room: plenty of toys and a teacher to look after them. She also helped them eat dinner, so that the parents could enjoy a good meal knowing that the children are close by and having fun. My son would have stayed there forever!
Since it is a family hotel, they really had a lot of attentions for the little ones: children menus, shampoo, toys and so on.
We went once to the pool, which was quite small and the floor extremly slippery. We also thought that the water was quite cold..
The staff was amazing: very nice and polite, always smiling, made us feel very comfortable.
On the weekend they also had a music group playing first at the restaurant and then in the lobby. It was quite nice but not to loud, so you could also go to bed if you didn't want to take part.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Kleinkirchheim hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Praegant
Hotel Praegant
#5 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trattlerhof
Hotel Trattlerhof
#1 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
#6 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Almrausch
Hotel Almrausch
#4 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wohlfuehl & Genusshotel Felsenhof
Wohlfuehl & Genusshotel Felsenho...
#11 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ortners Eschenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ortners Eschenhof

Property: Ortners Eschenhof
Address: Wasserfallweg 12, Bad Kleinkirchheim 9546, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Bad Kleinkirchheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Kleinkirchheim
#6 Spa Hotel in Bad Kleinkirchheim
#8 Family Hotel in Bad Kleinkirchheim
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bad Kleinkirchheim
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bad Kleinkirchheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ortners Eschenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ortners' Eschenhof - Alpine Slowness Time for me, time for you, time for us...Experience a holiday with a new sense of time at Eschenhof! Spend an enjoyable holiday in an absolutely quiet location right in the centre of Bad Kleinkirchheim. Revitalise yourself amidst the nature of the biosphere reserve. Whether by bike, e-bike or with your hiking shoes in summer, or with snow shoes or skis in the wintery Nockberge, one thing is for sure: you will leave everyday life far behind and be in close touch with nature. You will feel quite at home in the "large living room" of Eschenhof. The cosy rooms and family apartments have modern interiors with many thoughtful details and are a personal oasis of tranquillity for every guest. Time for yourself, time for your partner, for the family: find complete relaxation to suit all requirements in the family wellness area with an outdoor and indoor pool and in the spacious Eschenhof spa with beauty treatments, massages, quiet oases, various sauna attractions and a separate adult area. The organic meals from the regional "Green Toque Cuisine" will make your healthy holiday for your body and spirit perfect! Children are also well taken care of. Eva and the kids' pavilion await children every day with fun and creative games ideas - with and in nature. "Mountains of holiday fun"... ...in SUMMER: guided hikes, mountain bike trails from the hotel, free tennis on our tennis courts. Greenfee price reductions at the Bad Kleinkirhheim-Kaiserburg golf course... ...in WINTER: lifts and pistes within walking distance (about 5 minutes), peace and quiet away from the pistes on snow shoe hikes in unspoilt nature, cross-country skiing on our perfectly prepared trail in the valley, winter hiking trails right from the hotel, daily soup voucher for our hut Maibrunnhutte, from March ski pass included in the price of your stay, Family Euro with special ski pass rates for families, free shuttle to the ski school... ...the WHOLE YEAR: "Nature Experience" - guided nature experiences introducing you to the beauty and diversity of the Nockberge. Equipment hire: free hire of rucksacks and poles, mountain bikes, e-bikes, and in winter snow shoes and sledges. You are welcome to bring your four-legged friend to our hotel, but you are kindly requested to inform us in advance. As we care about your and your children's health, all our rooms are NON-SMOKING, as well as all public hotel areas. However, you are allowed to smoke in our designated smoking islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ortners Eschenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Familien Verwoehnhotel Eschenhof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing