We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midrange resort on a perfect beach”
Review of Vongdeuan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vongdeuan Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The beach is the perfectly white with gentle waves. Furthermore the resort has a pool overlooking the beach.

The island is quiet and best suited for relaxing a couple of days and snorkeling.

The resort is ok but no more special than its neighbouring competitors. It has its own boat to the mainland, but that only runs to times a day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuudKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Vongdeuan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 393 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Vongdeuan Resort is located on the eastern side of Koh Samed towards the southern end of crescent shaped Vongdeuan Beach with its white sand lapped by clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand. The resort is reached in approximately 90 minutes by ferry from the mainland port of Ban Phe in Rayong Province. The jet boats, charging a fee of 300 Baht per passenger, travel the distance in approximately half that time. Vongdeuan Resort has its own ferry which offers transfers between Ban Phe and the resort twice daily on a complimentary basis to guests staying at the resort.
Accommodation at the resort is provided in standalone cottage style buildings spread over several acres with those furthest from the beach (about 100 metres) among more tropical vegetation than those closest to the beach. The advantage is that the foliage, to a degree, protects the rooms from the strong rays of the sun.
We elected to stay in a Thai Style Cottage and although the interior of ours did not look like the publicity photos it was indeed Thai style with stained wooden floors, walls and ceiling and rustic furniture. The main difference from the photo was the size of the room. Ours had a single bed and a double bed but three adults in the room would have been stretching the room’s capability. As it was we used the single bed to store our clothes as there was limited hanging space. The size of the room was sufficient for two. The room was clean, tidy and everything worked in it.
The room had a TV set with an international range of stations including BBC News and the Australian Service as well as French, German and US Channels. A fully stocked mini bar was in the room with prices we thought quite reasonable for the Island. As an example a 300ml can of Singha beer was 80 Baht, a 325 ml can of Coca Cola was 25 Baht, a 325 ml bottle of soda water 20 Baht, a 500ml bottle of water was 15 Baht and a Mama Cup Tom Yung Kung was 25 Baht.
2 bottles of drinking water were supplied daily on a complimentary basis to our room. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities were provided but surprisingly only coffee was provided. We overcame this by asking a staff member for tea and it was provided without hesitation and accompanied by a delightful smile.
The air conditioning system was efficient and noiseless something some of the major hotel chains should consider.
The bathroom consisted of a wash basin with a single cold water tap a toilet and a separate shower with, surprisingly for an island, hot water. The usual range of toiletries were supplied and replenished regularly. The bathroom was clean and more than adequate for the purpose.
It would be asking too much for mosquitoes not to be present. They were and seemed to be quite hungry. The housekeeper was quite happy to send someone to the room to spray it at our request and while we appreciated this we took what we thought was a better option and purchased from one of the three convenience stores along the beach a 300ml can of Baygon mosquito spray for 75 Baht and found we were able to keep our room mosquito free.
The resort also provided safety deposit boxes, holding a deposit of 500 Baht for loss of key.
The buffet breakfast, included in the room rate was provided in the dining room fronting on to the beach. There was a wide variety of food available, both European and Thai style which was replenished when stocks were low.
Lunch could be obtained for a fixed price of 300 Baht per person and dinner for 500 Baht per person.
Although being located on a delightful strip of white sand the Resort had its own swimming pool kept meticulously clean. There were an ample number of loungers by the pool and on the beach and the resort seemed to be free of those ignorant guests who place a towel on a lounger as the sun rises and then spend the rest of the day undertaking other activities. Beach towels were provided free of charge from a desk near reception.
Staff was easily identifiable by their grey T shirts with the hotel logo on them. Without exception every staff member we contacted was pleasant and although we were unable to speak Thai they were patient and helped us with a smile. Reception staff was particularly helpful and pleasant and arranged our check in and out without any fuss and assisted us with the many queries we seemed to have.
We made our booking for the resort by internet and when we logged on to the resort site was defaulted to the Agoda booking site. We received a confirmation and a form we had to print out and take to the hotel with us. On the form was the statement we had to pay the hotel X number of US dollars – not Thai Baht – even though we requested the rate in Baht. Ensuring we had the correct number of US dollars we attempted to pay for our stay in US $ as stated on the booking form. The receptionist said the hotel only took Baht and showed us the reservation form Agoda had sent the resort on which it clearly stated that we would pay in Baht. Why then did Agoda inform us that we had to pay in US $?? The matter was resolved amicably when the receptionist said we could pay later or pay with a CC. Poor form Agoda!
There are several resorts along Vongdeuan Beach, each having a beach front bar and dining facilities. Competition for customers is intense and a person staying in this area has the benefit of competitive pricing. As well there are small convenience stores, two ATMs and a taxi service to elsewhere on the island. There are a wide range of activities guests can avail themselves of when they get tired of relaxing. Kayaking, fishing trips, island tours, snorkeling and Thai massages are all available.
Vongdeuan Resort ticked all the boxes for us. Would we stay there again? Too right we would.

Room Tip: Rooms away from beach have added advantage of shade.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location is what works for this resort. Right by the beach and in a corner you have some privacy and beautiful water. The food in the restaurant is pretty good and reasonably priced. That's about it. The staff isn't warm or welcoming. The pool is so chlorinated I couldn't open my eyes in the water and didn't go back for another swim. Though with the beautiful beach I honestly didn't miss the pool too much.
I'd stay again if I went back, purely for the location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upfront with a view of the beach. We were all the back which was a fair walk and h...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay at Vongdeuan was a pleasant one. The Thai room we had was spacious, clean and well kept. The staff was very attentive and sprayed the room every evening against mosquitoes if we asked them to do so.
The island of Koh Samet is a nature reserve, so you will have ants and mosquitoes there; just spray, or use lotion, or stay in the urban jungle of Bangkok if you have a problem with little critters. Having said that; the rooms are kept very clean with very little insects - those that come in mainly are there due to us keeping the door open...

Wonderful beach at this hotel! Yes, it is shared with a string of small hotels and restaurants, but not overly commercialized and one of the nicest beaches of the island.

Next door at Vongdeuan Villas they have nice massages for 300-400 THB, the restaurant of the hotel as well as others on the beach serve nice food and the stay was a very pleasant one. We'll be back soon!


Some people complain about the staff and/or the mosquitoes. Yes, there are mosquitoes, given there is a lot of nature around, but not to the extend that a little mosquito spray won't solve it.
The staff is very attentive and my guess is that you get treated the way you treat others; a smile will always be answered with an even bigger one!

Room Tip: Thai 1 to 5 are facing the water; Thai 14-15 are connected in case you go with two couples.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis_Bours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went to enjoy our wedding anniversery and told them so when we booked. What we got was the worst room in the place with a lovely view of the workshed and the back of the utility area as well room that was quite small but still managed to be stocked with an impractical day bed. Glad this wasn't our first anniversary otherwise it might have been the last. Stay here if you enjoy wildlife (assuming your interest is ants and misquotes)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robins_656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had last stayed there in April 2013 with the family (10 of us) but I had stayed there before many time in the past years. We all had a great time at the resort, it was really laid back environment. If you go with high expectation you will be disappointed but when we were there, we were outside of the room most of the time, enjoying the sun, beach and pool. Like I mentioned earlier that nothing is fancy at the resort, the pool was small, beach wasn't nothing huge but just enough to entertain everyone, breakfast buffet wasn't nothing like you would expect from 5 stars hotel but it was hot, clean and decent.

We mostly stayed at budget hotels or resorts but once in a while we wouldn't mind staying at 5 stars hotels (of course!). So we wouldn't mind little issues here and there as long as the place is clean and meet what we need. Bottom line for me, Vongdeuan Resort has met our expectation that we set, we loved the beach there and we had a great time with the family so it was all great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's difficult to say too many positive things about this resort. We left Bangkok at 8am and got to Panphe at about 11.30am. We had a wait to catch the resort's passenger boat scheduled to leave for Ko Samet at 1.30pm, which was ok, we did some shopping and had lunch. We assembled at 1.30pm for the boat trip except the boat didn't leave till 2.30pm, and we finally arrived at the resort about 3.15pm.

First impressions usually tell a story and this was no different. It took an inordinate amount of time to get us to our room and the staff were decidedly not happy in the job, smiles were rare during our visit there. The room was a Standard room and basic. There were no tissues or soap for the wash basin supplied in the room. We found out later you need to request a tissue box from reception. The bathroom smelled. The aircon thermostat was noisy and the connecting wall to the adjoining room seemed paper thin.

The breakfast buffet was worse than average. The juice choices were orange juice (tasted like cordial), milk, or iced water. Invariably, the cooked food dishes were cold and overall the selections were poor and limited. The first day I got food poisoning, it must have been the breakfast or the resort's own labelled bottle water. We boiled the water after that and I was careful what I ate.

The beach is nice but only small and shared with other resorts. Activities were limited, you could sit on the back of a pick up truck and go explore the island but we heard the roads were poor and full of pot holes, so declined that option. The island is a national park so it would have been nice if there were some hiking tracks.

There were people with young families at the resort and I think it is ideal for them, but singles and couples like us it is probably not ideal. We paid for four nights but booked out after two nights, it was not a happy experience. The over riding feeling is the resort is tired looking and the staff are many and don't give you that warm happy friendly feeling you normally associate with Thai resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.5 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
720 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vimarn Samed Resort
Vimarn Samed Resort
#17 of 20 in Ko Samet
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#10 of 20 in Ko Samet
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vongdeuan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vongdeuan Resort

Address: 22/2 Moo 4 | Ban Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: $48 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vongdeuan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vongdeuan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vongdeuan Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing