We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.”
Review of Vongdeuan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vongdeuan Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was my third trip to Thailand in 10 years. It has really changed a lot and developed in to a well oiled tourist industry. This island was ok, just over crowded with tourists. As a result the water, as well as the island, was very dirty. However the water temperature was great. The resort is ok, very basic which what we were looking for. So our expectations were low, and we were not disappointed at all. The service was good and the pool was well maintained. I don't think I will ever travel to Thailand again, it it too developed and expensive.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mi0soer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 416 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been coming here off and on for 15 years. Last visit 5 years ago. Was a bit apprehensive on this trip because of length of time since last visit, however was not disappointed. There has been quite a bit of development along the beach but not too bad. Vong Deuan is still run by the same family and many of the excellent staff have been there since my first visit. Good for families, safe beach, excellent sand.
Accommodation has gone upon price and obviously all prices have gone up (especially when you're used to getting 70 baht to the £).
All in all would still tecommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a really nice bungalow, nice and clean. The area was fantastic, felt like we were in the middle of a rainforest. Nice and serviceminded staff. The restaurant was excellent and the staff in the Coffeebar really knew how to prepare coffee for swedes... ;) We also felt we had the best part of the beach, not so crowded or narrow. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karo046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The best part of this hotel was its location (though that says more about the island than this specific hotel - the beach was absolutely beautiful). Other than that, we weren't too impressed. The room was just OK. The breakfast was pretty good. The staff that you interact with during check in and check out were pretty unfriendly and certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful. Overall, our stay at Vongdeuan was just ok...next time we will definitely check another place out

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were looking for a great place to chill out in a private room at an affordable price, were we could hang out four days having a nice beach, good Thai food, some Thai massage, nice weather, not very far from Bangkok and away from the extreme touristy areas of Thailand. We found the place.

The house we took (cottage) was 60 euros per night (including breakfast, free hire of beach towels, free transfer to koh Samet, and quiet (barely no noise) and exclusive. The house was separated from other cottages by about 5-10 metres and had Air Con, very nice toilets and shower, a TV, daily room service, two bottles of water/day and was oversll comfortable and very nice. Do not expect a five stars accommodation, but us (experienced backpackers) felt in a very luxury place.

The bay were is located has some small supermarkets (where to buy drinks (alcoholic and refreshments), snacks and other stuff like insect repellent, sunscreen etc), restaurants, four places of Thai Massage, people selling BBQ food, fruits, ice creams and stuff, and other resorts/accommodations.

I'm sure other resorts around may be better, but if you do not want to spend more than 60 euros/night including a good breakfast per double room, and want to feel in a great place, this is the one.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Duguevara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at this resort. It's an easy journey by taxi from Bangkok airport. It's about 2 hours and cost approx 2300 bht.
Arrived at Ban Phe pier in Rayong and got a speed boat across to Ko Samet which was only about 20mins. Unfortunately no welcome on arrival at Vongdeuan Resort. We had booked the Thai houses and we were very pleased with the accommodation both the size and the cleanliness . However the resort staff were unfriendly and unhelpful which is a real shame as it is a lovely resort.  There are not enough sunbeds at this resort so be prepared to get up early and get your own !! The restaurants in the bay are all much the same but we would highly recommend the Vong Deurn Villa restaurant at the end of the bay. There are a couple of small shops selling convenience items and alcohol and there is an ATM just next to the Malibu garden resort. There are people doing massages on the beach and people selling lovely fruit. Very good banana and chocolate pancakes in the evenings on little stalls ( called Roti). You can walk to the next bays easily but they are much the same. Overall it is a good place to relax and chill out. No night life or loud music, a very quiet resort. A lovely view and a great sandy beach for children with clear warm turquoise water which is excellent for swimming.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sallyanne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great hotel just by the beach where the sand is white and the water is clear. To get to the hotel you have to take a boat from Ban Phe which is on the mainland. The hotel has their own ferry that takes about 45 minutes and is free one way and leaves from the pier 10.00 and 13.30. (on the way back you have to pay around 80B per person). Koh Samet is one of the national parks in Thailand, and because of that you also have to pay a fee when you get there.
The staff at the hotel is helpful and even if the speak mediocre english its easy to understand and there was never any problems. You can choose either a regular room or a thai house. I have tried both and there is a difference but not much.
If you stay in a regular room you stay in a house which has two rooms separated by a door. if you are unlucky and have noisy neighbors its a bit disturbing. Otherwise the room is easy but still clean and the bathroom is nice with its own shower that has warm water. There is a tv, but mostly there are thai channels with the exception from BBC and a few german channels.
If you choose the little more expensive room, the thai house, you get your own little house with a terrace of your own. The house looks as it sound, thai style and more exclusive than the regular rooms. I would recommend the thai house just because its has a nicer touch but if you don't want to spend the money or the thai houses are fully booked there is not problem staying at the regular room.
Most of the people staying here will be at the beach but there is a swimming pool at the hotel that is in good condition. Its a little small and there are not that may chairs but if you don't like to be at the beach all day the pool is perfect.
The island itself is nice and quite, the beaches are nice and the water is clear. Most of the restaurants are at the beach and the food is like good. The prices are a little higher than on the mainland but not much. Things you have to think about is that the island is one of the driest ones in Thailand so all the water that you are using to shower witch is trucked from the mainland to the island with boats. So you have to use it sparingly. The other thing is that as soon as it gets dark the mosquitoes comes, so bring a spray or buy one at the local stores.

Room Tip: The thai rooms are recommended, but the regular rooms works just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank experiencedtravelIer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.5 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
755 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vongdeuan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vongdeuan Resort

Address: 22/2 Moo 4 | Ban Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: $48 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vongdeuan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vongdeuan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vongdeuan Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing