We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Samet a great place to getaway from Bangkok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vongdeuan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vongdeuan Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Samet a great place to getaway from Bangkok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Took the bus from Bangkok to Koh Samet- this involved a four hour bus ride, and they supply you with a bottle of water and some cookies. Once the bus ride is over, everyone takes a ferry across to Samet. You can buy the ferry tickets at the bus terminal in Bangkok or at the pier itself. There are also fast boats to the island but cost a lot more to do. Everyone that was on my bus waited for the regular ferry to come.

The Vongdeuan Resort is located in a small beautiful bay, along with about 6-8 other small resorts. To walk from one side of the bay to the other takes about 5-10 minutes, and the beaches are a beautiful powdery white sand, and the bay itself shallow and very warm....almost like a bath. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this is a good place to go. Moving around the island is difficult as there is only one dirt/paved road which gets washed out if it rains. So most people stick to the beaches of their resort. If you are looking for a little more action, I would suggest staying closer to the main town or the Silver Sands Hotel- which is where the "nightlife" is. It is a quiet island remember.

The hotel itself is very nicely kept with many western and Thai style huts in the jungle a few steps from the beach. I could hear the waves at night, which was nice. The rooms are of a good size, very clean and comfortable. The beds are very firm, as are the pillows. There is a shower with hot water if you need it, and a spacious changing area with a desk. There are no safes in the rooms, but the front desk will be happy to provide a box with a deposit.

Breakfast is served at the restaurant located along the beach, and is included in the rate. They have a nice selection of Thai/ Western foods, and plenty of fruits and vegetables to make your meal complete. There are also a number of tours that leave from the hotel, you just have to reserve the day before and these are all very inexpensive.

Enjoy Samet, it is a really beautiful place not far from Bangkok!! Oh beware of mosquitoes that come out at dusk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1IslandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    152
    94
    22
    20
See reviews for
93
168
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

You pull onto Koh Samet in the hotels boat and the first thing that strikes you is that you just arrived in paradise! The hotel is set on the most beautiful bay I have every stayed in Thailand. It gives a really good feel for how Koh Phi Phi must once have been and my only fear for this island is that it becomes over developed like many other Thai islands.

I must admit, I'm amused at some of the reviews of this hotel on trip advisor saying ‘it's not luxurious enough, too basic, too many bugs etc etc..’. Let's be clear, this is one of the newest tourist islands in Thailand, they don't even have running water yet with all water being brought over and pumped ashore by boats, so what did you expect?? If you want all mod cons, high speed internet connections etc, then stop in Bangkok, or even better, why not stay at home!!

We stayed in two connecting standard bungalows. Whilst the standard bungalows are the cheapest at the resort, we found them to be adequate. After all, when you arrive in paradise, you don’t spend all your time in your room. Koh Samet is a dry island in terms of its rainfall, hence temperatures are very high but thankfully the air conditioning in the rooms works well to give you that rest from the heat of the island whilst you sleep.

Apart from the rooms, all other parts of the hotel (reception, pool and restaurant) are set on the beach as with all other resorts on this stretch of beach. We didn’t eat dinner at the hotel restaurant but found the breakfast to be of reasonable quality with European and Thai dishes on offer.

Despite being out of season, this was the only location during our trip which was buzzing, with fire performers on the beach every night and all restaurants full. It really is paradise with a nice strip of perfect sand with several different choices of restaurants where you can chill right by the water’s edge with a nice drink at the end of a 'warm day' on Koh Samet.

Given the limited infrastructure, which I actually found nice in a strange sort of way, the hotel does remarkably well to make this as close to paradise as possible. The hotel owners are very helpful and we found that they really couldn’t do enough to help. For all you people who cannot manage without internet whilst on holiday, you will be pleased to know that internet comes free at this resort..

A great little resort and I cannot wait to go back again before the island becomes too developed. This is what a desert island should be like..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonandJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Getting out of Bangkok for the weekend with the family, you will need to leave around 07h00 in order to catch the 10 AM boat straight to the resort where you will be arriving around 11h00. However, taking the hotel ferry is huge advantage as you will arrive directly on the beach and at the hotel instead of what is called the usual "harbour" and the horribly expensively overpriced pickups which are called "taxi".
Booking a Thai House through Agoda (cheaper then through a direct contact), arriving in a clean little AC'd house with comfortable beds for the 3 of us.
This stretch of beach is cleaner and less noisy then other beaches in Koh Samed, but a word of warning : everything on Koh Samed is hyper-inflated and you pay on average 4 times more then in other places in Thailand. Yes sir, that will indeed be 40 Baht for your pomelo from the beach vendor instead of the usual 10 Baht.
The breakfast, included in the price, was extensive by Thai standards. For food, we didn't try the hotel restaurant, and were honestly disappointed by the neighbouring "restaurants". You will feed yourself and have the necessary calories, but don't call it a meal.
This stretch of beach is fairly calm - again, by Koh Samed standards - with not too much idiots blasting by on water scooters, but beware of the dangerously close speedboats however.
Still, no complaints - this is only a total of 3.5 hours away from Bangkok, the sand is white, the water is blue (or green ? or both ?), and the sun shines. Who are we to complain ?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had stayed one night at Samed Cabana nearby, but figured we could find something cheaper so we walked along the beach and checked. We talked to the man at the desk here (who seems to be an owner or manager), and he quoted us 1,500THB/night and showed us a room. It looked good, so we came back the next morning to check in.

By morning, the signage had changed and the price was listed at 2,500THB for the same room. But the same man was there and honored the rate he had quoted. (He seemed eager for me to be quiet so he could charge some other people the higher rate).

The room was nice enough -- quiet with a comfortable queen bed and shockingly reasonably-priced minibar. The bathroom was nice enough, with a shower partitioned from the rest of the bathroom (not a given in Thailand). We soon discovered that there were a lot of tiny ants and lizards that lived behind some of the panels in the bathroom. They proved innocuous, though unwelcome, company. Probably hard to avoid in the jungle...

There are a lot of semi-stray dogs and a few cats around the beach and property, which is true at most resorts on this beach. (They seem to live outdoors but get fed by locals). They're not the cleanest, but if you keep your distance or approach with care/respect, they don't seem threatening. Some were even nice. Just remember they're not your family's Golden Retriever.

The restaurant on the property is great, especially for the included breakfast. Also included is in-room wifi, which is very slow, but worked okay for our needs.

The beach area is fine, as long as the resort is not fully booked. I could see it getting very crowded otherwise, and there are too few lie-down chairs as it is. Yes, there is some boat traffic, but we didn't feel it was dangerous or obtrusive at all. But probably not a good place to let kids play by themselves in the surf. Also, there's not much beach left when the tide comes all the way up, though this was at night when we were there.

The biggest negative was the staff (excluding the restaurant staff, who were fine). There are no "do not disturb" signs, though the staff usually notice you leave for breakfast and service the room then. But one morning we slept in and got a knock on the door around 10am. We told the housekeeper we would be gone in a half hour and asked her to return then, but she said she had to "check" the room right away and said "5 minutes." In 5 minutes, she was back to check the minibar with no apologies. The room was later cleaned once we left. I'm not sure why she was so urgent to check the room, and it's pretty obnoxious for a housekeeper to insist on entering at a certain time, in my opinion.

Also on the service front, you must sign out towels. After other (rude) guests removed our towels from beach chairs (as mentioned, there aren't enough chairs) while we ate, we explained and tried to get replacement towels, but the staff refused since we hadn't signed the others back in. (We stole the chair-thieving family's towels to resolve the situation, but still, why hassle us over some not-so-nice beach towels?)

The resort runs its own boat to the mainland twice daily directly from Ao Vongduern, which saves a bumpy songthaew trip to the main pier.

Despite the grumpy staff on the property and ant/lizard presence in our bungalow, the resort was a decent value and none of the small annoyances prevented us from having a good time. This place definitely seems like the best option on Ao Vongduern.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

very overpriced - to many bungalows (to many people on a small strech of beach) - to many boats (dangerous swimming , smells and noise) - only thai speaking unhelpfull reception - to many stray dogs (we saw a dog bite a child without any reason: the dog stayed) - poor cooling a/c conditions in some bungalows - WIFI and TV problems - low quality expensive thai food - drinks are not really cold - sometimes terrible smells in the garden (septic tanks) - noisy frogs and big gekkos at night (they live in your roof) - the girls that clean the rooms and serve meals are friendly and helpfull but the owners are arrogant and greedy

the paradise from the eighties and nineties became a paradise lost: TO AVOID

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
dumfries
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have just come back from 5 brilliant days here! It really is like a paradise island! We found the cottages very sweet an we also thought that the breakfast was fab---our teenage son loved it! Like others, the lady doing the omelettes had a lovely smile and was very charming! We also adored the 2 regular dogs that hung around! Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jenscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in the resort for just a night but the room was indeed good (we stayed in one of the cottages). It was maintained well and a very interesting bath room. It has perhaps around one half of the bedroom and the shower area was huge. I really had no problem with the room nor the resort itself. Also, the cottages that are closest to the beach were being renovated. I believe that the resort is really to maintain the quality of its rooms.

In addition, the location was great as it was really along the shore. Even so, the resort still had its own swimming pool. The problem are just the mosquitoes. This is a problem in the island itself and I personally do not know if the resort can do something about this.

One problem that we had was the ride trip within the island. There were parts that had cement roads but were really destroyed, which in fact made the path worse than not having them at all. In addition, there were portions that had no light and as such it was a bit spooky during the night as most passengers of the pick-ups were sitting at the back and the only light source are the headlights and the tail lights of the truck. Since the pick-up trucks can't reach the resort, one has to walk to the resort (which I can't complain because its a walk along the sea shore).

In another matter, Vongdeuan provides free ferry trips from Rayong to Koh Samet. One in the morning (1030 H, if I remember correctly) and one in the afternoon (1330 H). The problem is that the earliest van from Bangkok is 0700 H and the trip normally takes around 2 hours and 45 mins going to the pier. Given this situation, one could not really catch up with the 1030 ferry ride to Vongdeuan. They could have taken into consideration those people leaving Bangkok on the same day (I assume that many of the travelers had the same plan). The choice left was either to wait for the 1330 trip or pay extra for a public ferry plus the ride within Koh Samet.

Room Tip: According to the front desk, rooms have practically the same amenities. Differences of each type of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dragkhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.5 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vongdeuan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vongdeuan Resort

Property: Vongdeuan Resort
Address: 22/2 Moo 4 | Ban Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vongdeuan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Vongdeuan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vongdeuan Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing