We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I like this hotel very much. I stayed this hotel for one night. I stayed at the garden pool villa. The roon is big and very comfortable. The breakfast and dinner is very good.
The staff is very friendly. It has a spa room, fitness and swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pairpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadeeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Thank you for your positive review of our resort. If you have any further comments or questions, please feel free to contact me directly at gsm@paradeeresort.com.

I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Paradee Resort!

Mr. Jesse Gagner
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    92
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
115
368
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

My husband and I went to the Paradee for our honeymoon. I researched where to go for months, and thought i had found the perfect place. As soon as we arrived on the island it surpassed all expectations. We were greeted from the speedboat on the beach by a selection of staff who made us immediately feel very welcome. We were then shown around the resort. It is quite hard to describe in words how stunning the location is. it truly is paradise. The beach looks like something from a film and the sea is bath warm.

Our villa was luxurious and keeping with the Thai traditional style. The outdoor shower was quite a treat! As we were on honeymoon, we were given a free upgrade to a garden villa with pool. If you can stretch to having a villa with pool i would definitely recommend it. Half way through our stay we were further upgraded to a beach front villa, as there were engineering works taking place near our original villa. Wow. The view from our bed was stunning. We also chose to have dinner on our private veranda one evening. Something i would also recommend.

Many people have commented on the expense of the food and drink. Whilst we did find it expensive, there are ways around this. The breakfast is excellent and included. Afternoon tea is also included, and yummy! Also if you are around the main pool during the day, you are served with fruit and ice cream. At the sunset bar in the evening, nuts and appertisers are served with every round of drinks. So really you only need to buy one meal a day. We only ate the Thai food, which was excellent every night. But the western menu also looked great.

The staff are amazing. Very attentive and welcoming.

You really would not need to leave the resort; everything is there. However, I had read about the top end of the island and we wanted to explore. You can get a taxi for 1000 baht return. The driver will wait for you until you want to come back (any hour - we left at 3am one night!) Just a warning: the taxi is a truck, and you have to sit in the back and hold on. We loved it - but i realise this is perhaps not for everyone! If you have time and want to see a bit more of the "real" Thailand, then the north of the island is the place to go. We went to Ao Phai and Hat Sai Kaew, where there are many bars, restaurants and little shops. For food we would recommend Jeps - beautiful Thai food! and cheap too. Many of the bars on the beach lay out blankets and cushions on the sand with little tables and candles. it really is beautiful.

The only thing that I wish we had done differently would have been to stay longer! We were only there for 7 nights, which i didn't think was enough.

I hope this review is helpful. Trip advisor was like my bible when i was booking this holiday!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CharlotteJenkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This is with no exaggeration one of the most beautiful places on Earth. It is possible to watch the sunrise at the beach on one side of the resort and later on to see it set from the Sunset Bar on the other. Spectacular! The restaurant is overpriced due to the isolation, but still served excellent Western food (although the Thai offerings were a little hit and miss). The room we were initially placed in suffered from an invasion of flying ants on the first evening (these things can happen when you are in the middle of a nature reserve) and we were quickly moved to another. The staff were attentive and professional. Breakfast is served on the balcony of the villas, as is high tea, and both are in the price (make sure you take advantage of this as it offsets the high cost of dinner condsiderably!). The beach is perfect. The speedboat ride to and from the mainland makes you feel like one of the jet set. Again, however, this transport is overpriced. Despite the tendency to extract higher prices from guests for food and transportation than would otherwise be the norm in Thailand, the 5 stars are more than merited by the one-of-a-kind location and excellent rooms, breakfast, spa and staff. Exquisite.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hi-so_hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

This is by far the best hotel we 've ever been at - and I have travelled a lot in the last few years. It's really difficult to express our feelings in just a few words...

You feel like you spend your days in paradise, the nature is perfect, the staff is helpful and there for you all the time, the rooms are big and integrated with the environment. The hotel is totally secluded, so you have a private beach for very few people. You sleep and you listen to the singing of birds.The spa is marvelous and not very pricey (for western, not thai standards).

The only con is that you only have one restaurant in the hotel, and you need to arrange for a speedboat to go to other places on the island.

Try to visit off season, we paid an amazingly low price and we enjoyed the place empty, with just 15-20 other people on site.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_S_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

If you're looking for a place to relax and get away from everything, then this could be the place for you. The resort was not crowded at all and I think they keep it that way intentionally. Clean beaches, most water sports included. Excellent staff all the way. Definitely take advantage of the afternoon tea at 4pm. A Thai set (dinner) menu for 2 came with the room and I'm told was delicious. I ordered off the menu and was very pleased. The breakfast buffet was good, but only about average for Thailand. The only issue I had were the huge amount of flies around the restaurant in the morning and the bar in the evening. The rooms we had (101 and 102) were amazing. I can still feel the tension wash off of me under the rainshower head in the shower.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javabear68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2010

nice beach with good service. you can enjoy your holiday here. food is very nice. i will back again. very value with money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wataek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Well, it all started so well - seamless pick up at the airport, smart transport, efficient check in landside, chilled welcome drinks, speedboat ready to go.... and then we got to the Paradee. Which is in a beautiful setting as the other reviews say - a lovely white beach, bathwater warm turquoise sea, quiet setting etc etc. We'd booked this as a treat-y 3 days at the end of 2 weeks travelling round Cambodia & Laos, and it just didn't live up to our hopes.

What was disappointing was that it wasn't just one thing or two things that were off - any place has its glitches - but the service at the Paradee was so patchy that it became a greater and greater issue as the 3 days passed and the list of 'just not good enoughs' sadly grew. None of the hitches was huge in its own right and we asked ourselves if we were just being picky, so I'll detail some out and you can call on whether they'd spoil your holiday enough to consider a different resort.

Firstly - while our room was lovely, spacious, mostly clean and nicely private, the walkways leading there hadn't been cleaned for some time - there was fruit splattered across the walkway, up the walls, plus leaves, tree debris etc - of course this is just nature doing its thing, but other places keep public areas tidy, as part of their overall quality standards - the Paradee does not. The shared pool (we were in the Garden Villas) was not cleaned each day, so was full of leaves, and our walk to the main hotel area took us past the hotel bins and general detritus, left on full show (when they could pull a gate across to screen it).

Apart from in the restaurant (very nice, thank you to all there), the pool / beach service was non-existent: apparently there were fresh fruit kebabs and small ice creams handed out daily but in 3 days we saw none of these - the staff did not give any to guests on the beach, just by the pool. Really inconsistant and a shame as it was a nice touch - and there were only about 25 guests in total staying there, so the service should have felt a lot more personal. Nor was any pool/beach drinks service offered - crazy when its a good source of revenue for them, but once your ice bucket with two bottles of water (again, nice) was delivered, there was no other service to be had. Each day we went to get our own towels - one day having to root through bin bags to get some clean ones - and lay these out - as did some guests, while others timed it 'right' and had this done for them.

We also had to ask for the pool area to be cleared - all 6 tables had empty glasses and plates piled up, plus used towels - and no-one had the task of keeping it clean (mad, when the pool/beach is the only area guests are all day!)

Another good idea was the (free) afternoon tea... but on day 1 it took 3 frustrating phone calls and an hour to arrive, as we waited in the sun by our villa. We were expected to 'know the drill' (ie nominate which type of tea you want) - but weren;t asked and the nice touch became a total palaver.

And while the resort obviously would prefer to keep guests on site, it does somewhat take the doodah when they charge £60 for a boat to take you anywhere. Its reasonable for a half day trip but not just to go out! Way over the odds for the area. And the beach sports are also limited - only kayaks and snorkels/masks are inclusive - the 3 catamarans therefore sat unused, and the day we tried to take one out as we were a little in need of an activity, the boatman dissuaded us (we suspected as he couldn't be bothered to rig the sails).

Add in the dirty glasses left in our room, the mosquito candles that weren't replenished, the broken phone, the toilet that took three visits to mend... you can see the picture. And finally our checkout turned into a total shambles - 50 minutes of them over charging us for a spa treatment we'd not had, and a blooming Toblerone of all things. What rankled was that they did not take our word for the spa treatment (I hadn't even been in there) - nor when I showed my signature on my credit card didn't match the one on the spa form. Only when the spa lady was dragged out to check my face, did they agree to take off the payment, not impressive. They couldn't refund the over-payment, we ended up baking hot (there's no aircon in reception nor the dining areas by the way!) and the experience ended on a sour note.

As I said - nothing in its own right was a deal-breaker, but to have all this happen in 3 days.... unforgiveable in a resort in this price band. A real shame.....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ScottyHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadeeResort, Guest Relations Manager at Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Dear ScottyHawkes,

I am terrible sorry that you did not experience the "Sixth Heaven" here at Paradee. I am shocked by some of your comments and wish to address each one in an email. When the time is convenient for you, please send me an email to gsm@paradeeresort.com so that I can address your comments.

Regards,
Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
3.0 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
705 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
309 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Property: Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: 76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradee is renowned and treasure for its tranquility and “away-from-it-all” location. 40 luxurious appointed villas, all with magnificent view of either lush tropical Gardens, or white sandy beaches washed by the Gulf of Thailand.Hotel Pier; Jadet Pier (Opposite TOP Supermarket)Optional for compulosry speed boat;1) Shuttle speed boat (fee at THB 750 per person per way)From Jadet Pier (mainland) at 2PM and 5PMFrom Paradee (Koh Samet) at 11AM and 1PM2) Private Speed boat (fee at THB 3,000 per boat per way, Maximum 6 passangers)**Advance reservation require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradee Resort And Spa Hotel
Paradee Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing