We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Paradee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
JasmineHolidays
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Loved Paradee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

In brief: The beach is fantastic - powder white sand. Villas are very spacious - huge beds, great rainforest shower, nice living area, very spacious bathroom, nice outdoor area. Pools are a decent size. Slight downside is the lack of complete privacy but not a big issue. The food was outstanding - great service. The afternoon tea is a really nice touch (great cakes!). Overall, by far the best on Koh Samet and the setting and standard of the villas make it a great choice for a relaxing, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    92
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
111
362
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bp2523
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stay at Paradee last weekend...and found 2 surprize about the nature at Paradee!!!

First surprize, we saw the turtle's eggs inside the sand - on the beach in front of main swimming pool in our first day at Paradee. Their staff said that the veterinarian and academician from Sea Turtle Conservation Center will came to pick the turtle's eggs to take care of them and this time they found 109 eggs! WOW...it's very amazing!

The second surprize, we found hornbills at the next to our villa. I know that these hornbills are very difficult to find since they are almost extinguished (if the nature is not really in good condition.) However, we do find them here!!

If you have free time for relax and near Bangkok, let's go to Paradee...you will find the nature hear :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bp2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

We drove to the Jadet pier on the mainland where the Paradee Resort has an office where you can check in. Don't worry about your nice car if you are driving because they also have a convenient car park where a security guard will look after your car. The Jet boat ride only takes about 15 minutes but you you have to catch the 11am ride for it to be complimentary. For other times you pay Baht 3,000 for one way, which is quite expensive. After taking the 11am ride we reached the hotel before noon and we were greeted by the pier. At that time we were told our beach front villa was not ready since check in was at 1pm. (I heard that they were about to amend/add more complimentary jet boat rides to their schedule soon). That was fine but we waited and waited and at 1.45pm our room still wasn't ready. At this time I lost my temper, spoke to the hotel manager and told her this wasn't acceptable. She sped things up and shortly afterwards we got into our room. Apparently the hotel was full the day before and guests who were checking out were allowed late check outs without consideration for guests checking in. I have no complaints about the rooms or the facilities which were great. I would recommend the beach front villas if the rates are within your budget. The bedroom has views of the ocean and if you have kids they will love it. The gym and bar where you can sit and have drinks in the evening both have great views of the gulf. The hotel occupies a private beach and the sand was nice and the sea water crystal clear. You can go snorkeling around the coral reefs which are near the hotel. The other complaint I have is about the food which tasted fine but was seriously overpriced. But other choices are limited as it is difficult to get around the island unless you hire a boat which can also be costly. Service was also very slow so expect to wait at least 45 minutes to one hour to get your meals. On the way back to Bangkok it only took us a little more than a 2 hours drive as the distance is approximately 190kms from the pier to inner Bangkok. Despite my complaints, I'll probably go back as the location is great and not far either.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adithepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

The Paradee Hotel is in a perfect spot, close enough to Bangkok for an easy transfer, but far enough away to seem like paradise. This all comes at a price though, and the nightly rate is only the beginning!

Location-wise, the hotel is almost at the tip of Koh Samet island, far from the back-packer bungalows and with its own private beaches. The hotel grounds could not be prettier, with secluded villas in amongst lush greenery, and coral reefs out in the bay to snorkel over. The pool is a decent size and generally deserted, as most of the villas have their own private pool. This makes for a very quiet and intimate resort, which is ideal for a honeymoon or a relaxing break.

The location can prove inconvenient when trying to explore the island however, as you are obliged to either take taxis everywhere, which are 500 Baht a time, or hire a moped in the main town, which is cheaper, but involves driving on the extremely rough dirt tracks (only very small strips are paved). There is not an awful lot else to see on the island in any case - Paradee occupies probably the two prettiest beaches there, and aside from swimming/diving, there is very little else to do.

The villas themselves are beautifully furnished and offer all the facilities you could need. Ours overlooked the sea and had a terrace for sun-bathing/dining, which meant you could spend your entire time tucked away in the villa, if you wanted.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Their English was a little patchy and we sometimes ended up with the wrong food, though generally they couldn't do enough to make your stay comfortable. Right from the moment you arrive at the hotel office on the mainland, you are made to feel pampered, and this made for a very enjoyable experience.

The main gripe here would have to be about the prices. The standard of food was very high and both the Thai and Western menus were varied, but the cost was just ridiculous. The hotel is quite isolated and there is almost no alternative to eating at the restaurant. So, even lunch came to a minimum of 1,200 Baht, which is more than double the average price in the main town. Non-alcoholic cocktails were 300 Baht, and even one small scoop of ice cream came in at 200 Baht. The breakfast is free though and the menu has a good amount of options, so we often ended up getting up late and skipping lunch!

Expeditions were also prohibitively expensive. A four hour snorkelling trip came in at 7,000 Baht, and a 'packed lunch' would add another 4,000 Baht to the bill! This was a real shame, because the sea-based activities were one of the main reasons we chose this hotel and we ended up staying by the pool the whole time.

Overall, the Paradee Hotel is a top-notch retreat and perfect for a honeymoon. It is more of a relaxing break desintation than a base for exploring though, and staying there requires that you bring a good amount of cash!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teppy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

This is a nice piece of Paradise close to Bangkok. We stayed there with our family and had a wonderful time, in low/rainy season, but the weather was great and the resort was wonderful. It is very professionally run, and the service is warm and prompt. We loved the rooms--we had three of them. They cannot accomodate requests for twin rooms, but the kids managed. They are quite spacious and a great value. The food in the restaurant is wonderful, if pricey for Thailand. The food and beverage manager is a fun, personable French woman who really knows her job. We booked through a website that wasn't exactly easy, but it all worked out. The beach is wonderful, quiet, great for swimming. The pool was idyllic. We loved the afternoon tea, the pool menu, the vidoe library, the great service from the dive master, the great Thai massages at the spa, and the friendly service. The spa even gave our teenager a quick lesson in Thai massage one afternoon. This is not a "party" place--its wonderfully low key (although one night the Sunset bar closed to accomodate a party including a Thai Princess, so we know it gets high-society clients). But it kept us all busy and happy for 3 days. We would go back in a second!

  • Liked — 5 star, clean, low key; best croissants in the world
  • Disliked — No other dining options except the one restaurant; but lots of menu options are available.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank playquartets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halmstad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

we stayed 1 night at paradee and loved to get back there. first its a boatride to get there from the sore in rayong, we had to wait for 1 hour at the boathouse because they had problem with the speedboat. its around 20 minutes by speedboat getting there and its very nice when you arrive at the hotel. they greet you by the beach and you really feel welcome. check in they did at the room which i really think is a good way. our villa was wonderful with a small pool outside and open air shower. you also feel that you have privacy in your villa. there is 2 beaches and you get both sunrise and sundown that is amazing. the food is very fresh but rather slow but this is not a place where you should hurry anyway.staff is very friendly and you feel at ease and can only relax. we will certainly go back another time and prefer paradee to rayavadee in krabi.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank senna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Paradee for our honeymoon and it was absolutely gorgeous. The grounds were amazing. The pool is stunning and it overlooks the beach. The beach is a little small but also beautiful. The rooms are stunning and very secluded. We felt like we really had our own little piece of paradise on this gorgeous little island.
We had an amazing time just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful weather and views. The only problem was the service. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful but they just seemed to be overwhelmed and it took them a long time to do things, especially regarding food service. If we were sitting on the beach and we wanted to order lunch, by the second day we knew to order an hour before we were hungry because it took them an incredibly long time to bring out our food. Once we got the food, it was great.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Liked — pool and beach
  • Disliked — food service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaV211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Samet
3.0 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rayong Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Property: Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: 76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradee is renowned and treasure for its tranquility and “away-from-it-all” location. 40 luxurious appointed villas, all with magnificent view of either lush tropical Gardens, or white sandy beaches washed by the Gulf of Thailand.Hotel Pier; Jadet Pier (Opposite TOP Supermarket)Optional for compulosry speed boat;1) Shuttle speed boat (fee at THB 750 per person per way)From Jadet Pier (mainland) at 2PM and 5PMFrom Paradee (Koh Samet) at 11AM and 1PM2) Private Speed boat (fee at THB 3,000 per boat per way, Maximum 6 passangers)**Advance reservation require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradee Resort And Spa Hotel
Paradee Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing