We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captive on an island!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Captive on an island!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and typical Thai island with white sand beach, beach front bungalows ( not all ) smiling staff who unfortunately have little resources to satisfy guests requests ( I wanted to water ski or hire a jet ski or SUP, all not possible ) Because this is an island we were totally dependent on the resort for our holiday experience as there is no where to go but to a tiny village along a dirt road with nothing in it. The food is well below standard with everything tasting the same no matter what is ordered off the menu ( brown sauce or brown sauce with chilli ) and because meals are the only activity at the resort it becomes monotonous, The general manager was very nice and tried very hard to please and took our concerns seriously. After moving us to a new villa away from the construction noises but there was little more he could do for us. The general feeling after talking to other couples at the resort is that we all felt captive on an island with poor and expensive food and little else to do besides enjoying our own company. A place to go where you can not do anything but rest and work on your tan! We are glad we only booked 5 days and other guests even left early!! To end on a positive not this place is great for your love life and any reading you might need to catch up on!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamedscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    92
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
117
371
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Paradee for nine nights as part of our honeymoon. We had a pool villa at the far end of the beach next to the big villa. We recommend a pool villa as we found it private but we were right on the beach anyway. Although the hotel was nearly empty during our stay, we felt that a beach front villa would be imposed on a little if lots of people were on the beach etc.

The room was amazing and so big. We had a massive bath and a great outdoor shower. The rooms comes with a TV, CD player, a couple of CDs, and a stocked fridge. We have a daily plate of fruit however I don't think we ate this once. Our room was kept clean, however sometimes they forgot to light the incense which we selected. Choose the lemon grass incense for your room as it adds to the Thailand ambience and smells great.

We were a bit disappointed about the arrival at the reception on the mainland. The room stank badly of urine on both our arrival and departure; we had to sit outside to wait. Selecting the soap and incense for our villa was just a tick box on a bit of paper, and the soap just smelt of soap anyway. When we arrived on the island we were taken by buggy for a brief tour of the hotel before being taken to our room.

The manager was on site daily and made an effort to ask the guests how they were which was brilliant. He was genuinely interested in us and spoke to us everyday to see if we were happy. We were told by our tour company that the hotel were informed that one of us is a vegan, but this didn't seem to be the case. On the first night the waiter pointed out only two things on the menu which could be made suitable, however after a quick chat with the manager the next day we would choose our dinner option in the morning which was selecting anything on the menu and that would be adapted for dinner in the evening.

The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. If it was not too windy we could eat on the beach or by the pool. We went during quiet season anyway so inside it was fairly empty. The hotel did aim for top-notch service however this wasn't quite the case during the stay. During dinner we found that we were not looked after by one waiter, so often we were asked the same question twice or drink orders were missed. The staff were incredibly friendly though. The seafood was amazing, especially the sea bass, also the tiger prawns.

We had lots of choice at breakfast. There was a extensive buffet selection, as well as a menu with eggs and other cooked options. The breakfast chefs were always friendly and chatty and offered to carry our plates. A few times though our eggs order did not turn up.

We found that the beach was really clean with no rubbish which had been mentioned in previous reviews. We did spend a few days on the beach however we didn't receive any drinks service on the beach which we have always received on other holidays. During the day guests receive a free fruit serving, ice cream, and afternoon tea, however it was never made clear when this was and as the staff did not serve it to us we had to hover around the pool bar and ask around until we got it. Quite often we gave up.

There was not much to do but that suited us fine after our Bangkok and Kanchanaburi stay. We made use of the kayaks one day, and one evening we book the bumpy taxi into the town. The reception staff were very helpful in organising this. On a cloudy day we took a walk left out of the hotel to the tip of the island. We both had a thai massage in lovely surroundings which was good but not as relaxing as we thought as the girl really stretched our muscles. It sorted out any aches and pains that we did have though. The massage were about 50 GBP each which was expensive by thai standards, but they were good and lasted about an hour.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the stay, however we are not giving top marks because the hotel is aiming for top service and is charging for this, but there are improvements to be made. The staff were lovely and if you asked them they were always happy to help, however as on previous holidays we would have expected them to not wait until we approached them and to get our orders correct.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spend for days in the resort and they were very nice. From the arrival to the end of our stay, everything was great except the weather... The service and the facilities were adequate, just the spa is overall a bit expensive and special deal should be offer especially during low peak season... We had a trip to the main "city" for 500 bath (one way) and had a really nice massage at the Meer boutique spa on the main street. It was really professional!

We also had a room upgrade and we ended up staying in room 203 and 202 which enjoys a nice view and privacy at the same time. Privacy which is not always possible on the beach villas... The beach is stunning and the cristal clear water is just a delight!!!

The selection of the food was large and the prices were fair for a resort. The quality was good but it lacked of daily suggestions or catch of the day.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone willing to unwind and enjoy an easy access location, just 3 hours form BKK. It was a nice pick and we will come back... I would recommend to hire a private car with driver to reach the island, which can be easy via the Internet at price ranging from 2500 to 3000 bath (one way, all inclusive).

We want to thank the staff and especially Khun Pornthep, the general manager!!!

Room Tip: We much enjoyed rooms 203 and 202, in between jungle and beach. U can also look at the map of the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

we spent there 2 weeks. Our concerns about "maybe too long time in such a small insland" dissapeared already on the first day. The beach is a dream - crystal water, just few steps from the villa, and is quite - you feel all the time beeing almost alone in that wonderful nature. Relax is it all! The villas have a special beautiful thai style: big, every detail is inspiring, the garden is pretty big - even though we did not use it much due to the mosquitos (the garden is a green tropical one, full of plants). The pool in the garden is small for use, we used it only in the evening, after sport. The fabulous beach is just too close for staying on the garden pool:-) I loved the bathtube in the garden - just great bathing in the tropical darkness after a day on the beach.
The breakfast is excellent for a hotel in Asia: many good choices for westerns (maybe less for asians), fresh juices, modest buffet but totally sufficient.
The stuff was excellent friendly! we had a great time in paradee resort - we would love to have the opportunity to repeat this experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dream30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful James Bondesque speedboat arrival and Fantasy Island beach welcome by hotel staff and management. Then shown to fabulous beach front villa with its own pool with the waves lapping only metres away. Could not get much more perfect.

The hotel property location is not only on a very secluded and beautiful beach, but given the geography at the narrower southern end of Koh Samet island it is also directly adjacent to the opposite side of the island (5 minutes walk), where the resort has located a well equipped modern, albeit small sized gym and also a very nice bar with decking which overlooks the sunset to the west.

So far, so good. Unfortunately, the perfect setting and wonderful rooms are let down by food dining quality and service issues, which are not quite up-to-the-mark. Better standards should be expected in this part of the world, where Asian quality is meticulously high at the deluxe end of the market. There is only the single restaurant and prices are very high for the quality level provided. We felt the dishes were laced with MSG, which may be common practice in Thailand but should not be necessary and should be avoided in a luxury hotel resort. We opted therefore on a couple of nights of our stay to catch a local pickup truck taxi into the local town. However given the diabolical condition of the road was a slow, uncomfortable and, for Thailand, an expensive experience.

The comment on service standards is not a reflection of general staff friendliness or motivation, but more to do with language difficulties. On several occasions during the stay it was very hard to communicate due to poor staff English, which again for a hotel resort at this end of the luxury spectrum should not really be an issue.

In conclusion the Paradee offers a fantastic beach location and great villas but we felt a bit captive and stuck with excessively costly hotel catering, which for what was on offer was not value-for-money.

Pros
- Tranquil, idyllic beach location
- Excellent beach pool villa
- Speedboat arrival and beach welcome
- Sundowner bar experience in the evening
- Hotel management’s direct guest interaction and general staff friendliness

Cons
- Dining standards could be better at the prices charged
- Staff English and communication

Room Tip: Beach villas excellent. Pick your season. September can be wet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spent 3 days here with my partner and this is my second visit. The resort has had a lot of work done to it since I was here last year and it shows. the beach is quite stunning and the facilities are excellent We had a villa with private pool and it was lovely. I loved the outdoor shower and the cleanliness and attention to detail in our room. there were some delightful little touches which made our stay so pleasant. however the biggest plus point without doubt are the staff who were so wonderful , nothing was too much trouble and their happy smiling faces will stay with me forever. a wonderful,l wonderful, place to unwind. 3 days here was like two weeks at any other resort.

Room Tip: get a beach villa or garden villa with pool well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Are you looking for high class Thai hospitality?
Do you have high expectations on food quality and taste?
Is privacy a big issue to you?
If you are looking for a Resort that must meet these expectations....
PARADEE is the place you need to go!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Beach Front Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcPaeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
3.0 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
712 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
438 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel

Property: Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: 76 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradee is renowned and treasure for its tranquility and “away-from-it-all” location. 40 luxurious appointed villas, all with magnificent view of either lush tropical Gardens, or white sandy beaches washed by the Gulf of Thailand.Hotel Pier; Jadet Pier (Opposite TOP Supermarket)Optional for compulosry speed boat;1) Shuttle speed boat (fee at THB 750 per person per way)From Jadet Pier (mainland) at 2PM and 5PMFrom Paradee (Koh Samet) at 11AM and 1PM2) Private Speed boat (fee at THB 3,000 per boat per way, Maximum 6 passangers)**Advance reservation require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradee Resort And Spa Hotel
Paradee Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing