We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malibu Garden Resort
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed February 13, 2013

stayed one night and overall the reception staff on arrival very poor and unhelpful. Room very basic considering the price. passpwrd was need for the tv but we gave up asking for help as they jsut walked away. Breakfast was basic and because of the amount of people satying table were not cleared away and no knifes etc. But when you asked amemebr of staff they walked away. They were not managed and could not wait to leave this lace.. Considering this isalnd is a National Parl it has been runed by greed.

Room Tip: do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We frequent Ao Vong Duern quite regularly but this was our first time at Malibu as there wasn't anywhere else.
Booking the room via email was pretty painless but once we got to the resort the service went downhill.
Check in was very slow then it turned out none of the rooms were ready (we arrived after 2pm), some of our party were left for over an hour waiting. Once our room was ready we asked the porter for help with bags and he just laughed at us!
The room (superior) was clean and basic with soft beds (very rare on Samed).
We ate most nights next door at Green Place (Seahorse) as the staff were very attentive and the owners were very friendly.
To top the service standard and audacity of the place, they decided to start charging for the Wifi on the second day 'because my boss tell me'. They never took down the free Wifi sign though.
Shall not be staying at Malibu again.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here all the rooms are similar it's just the cheaper ones are at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThailandBeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

First: we did not stay here. Hunting for a place to stay we asked the staff for vacancies. An icky guy after some negotiation agreed to "have a look", which took 10 minutes just to say they are full. Unfortunately we had to go with their boat twice to Ban Phe. In both cases they demanded additional payment regardless to how many we paid in advance (should be 50B, once we paid 50+20, then 70+20). The price itself is not a problem, the strange surcharge is. When I asked why, the receptionist became irrate and told me to go away, that we can go from Na Dan.

Around the world we met different people, but staff here is the worst experience from Thailand, Malaysia and Sri Lanka together.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CikorkaDesiato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked this resort in their Pattaya offices for 4 nights. This turned out to be a mistake, we should have listened to friends that told us to just go to Samet without booking and look around first. Malibu is a tour operator and you are then kind of stuck at their resort which is far from the popular White Sands Beach or Beach Ao Pai. Rooms are bungalow style, nice enough, but not cheap at almost 3000 Baht for a Deluxe. Food was average and on the high side. We took a taxi to check out the main beach and would stay there next time. We were told never to go to Samet on public holidays as totally crowded and often fully booked with Thais from Bangkok. Samet is no longer a backpacker island for sure.

Room Tip: IMO over-prized, due to location. Better choices. We had a Deluxe and it was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clara O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Samet Island Tour Company made all the arrangements for our two night trip from Pattaya, This included minibus, ferry and accomodation at their Malibu Garden resort. The resort is very well positioned on the white sand Vongduan beach, It is obvious that the establishment has seen better days. The superior rooms are small and dark with the minimum of basic facilities but for a two night stay and the island experience they are just about acceptable. The breakfast is simple and the restaurant is open for lunchtime meals, drinks and snacks but is closed in the evening. There are plenty of bars and eating places on the beach close to the Malibu some of which have a nightly fire show which is quite entertaining. Mosquitoes are a problem around the garden areas but on the plus side the beach and swimming is first class.
One warning - Do not eat at the Seahorse restaurant next to The Malibu, The service there was the worst we have ever experienced in Thailand.

Room Tip: Take a chance but superior is definitely not superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed at Malibu Garden several times over the last 3 years and must agree with some of the other comments made here ,

However on a recent visit I was pleasantly surprised to find the whole of the resort , the rooms inside and out had been recently re-furbished and the whole place is looking very nice .

I have always found the staff friendly , and the 'free' breakfast is just about that , not exciting and quite often cold ,

I think one thing you must remember is when traveling in Asia you cant always expect everything to be as it would in your own Country , try to make allowances especially when visiting Islands , not everything is readily available as it would be on the mainland .

All in all I think Malibu Garden has made a positive change for the better .

The beach at night is alive with sea food BBQ's and fire shows , and the setting is very Romantic .

I will return because I always do !

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end or back of the resort seem to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebroguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were booked into this this hotel by a travel agent at the Bangkok train station. We were looking for a couple of nights at a beach resort on Koh Samet for our group of four adults and six kids. We took the shuttle boat over and were supprised when we had to jump off the boat into the water and walk to the beach with our bags - it was kinda fun but definately a suprise. Check in went smoothly and we went to see the rooms before heading to the beach. The rooms we very dated and not too bright but we spent most of the time on the beach so it wasn't a disaster. Meals at the resturant were pretty good and the western food was enough to keep the kids happy. The evenings offered various resturaunts and bars on the beach with enough to see and do for the three nights we were there. Overall it was too expensive for the quality of the rooms but the location was enough to balance it out. I would definately try a diferent property on this beach if we went back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank travelwith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.5 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vimarn Samed Resort
Vimarn Samed Resort
#17 of 20 in Ko Samet
94 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#11 of 20 in Ko Samet
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Garden Resort

Address: 77 Wong Deuan Beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Price Range: $49 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malibu Garden Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Malibu Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing