We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast ein Design-Hotel...”
Review of Silver Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Sand Resort
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fast ein Design-Hotel...”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have been here in mid of december for 1 week.
The rooms are really excellent/5 star character in Design-Look, quiet if you are enough far from the Disco. Stuff is nice, but....we got better service in other hotels in Thailand.
Food: good for reasonable prices.
Beach of Silversands: too full with beachchairs....like in Arenal or Rimini - terrible. But: walk to other beaches which are closeby - less people. Beaches are clean, nice for swimming.
For smokers: take enough from 7/11.....in all restaurants you pay 50 % more.
From Rayong only take 1 way for the speedboat to Koh Samed, if you buy the returnticket on Koh Samed: 50 % cheaper. Ferry seems to be cheaper, but: togther with overprized taxis to your hotel, entrance fee for the island....the speedboat costs only 15-20 % more and is much, much more conveniant and faster!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dietmar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    41
    21
    34
See reviews for
26
71
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here with my Fiance and our son as well as a few friends. We stayed during the week on a Thursday during low season. The room was 1500baht total including breakfast (its 2500 on a weekend). The hotel did not charge extra for a small cot for our son which was good. After a tip from a friend we asked for a room in the new buildings. The room was nice and good value considering its about 1minute walk from the beach. The location is excellent and the beach beautiful. Thai food was good but European food was very poor.... thats the good points. Now for the downside.
As mentioned in all of the other reviews, the service is absolutely terrible. There is not one member of staff smiling and if you ask them to do anything you get the feeling that you are causing them major trouble. If you sit in the restaurant there are several stray and dirty dogs running around and sitting at the table waiting for you to throw scraps to them. The staff make no effort at all to keep them out or chase them from the table whilst you are eating. The beach outside is beautiful, however, at around 4:30pm you start to get harrassed by staff members to leave your sunbed by 5pm so that they can setup the BBQ. At breakfast I wanted some fresh eggs cooked by the lady on the egg station. She kept pointing at the eggs which were sitting on a tray at the side, already cooked, and looking like they had been there for about 30mins. She insisted they were fresh... no way. I refused to take them and pushed that she make some more, much to her annoyance. I had the same problem with the toast. She was muttering something in Cambodian or Burmese to her colleague which was obviously about me whilst she cooked the fresh eggs.
Its such a shame because this resort has the potential to be excellent. Good manners, politeness, service and a smile would have made me rate this as a 5 instead of 2 for the price. Considering that these people skills cost nothing I cant believe that the owners havent fixed it. FYI the owner / boss actually lives on the resort in a house to the right of the reception... they obviously dont care about what they have because they just appeared to lie on the sofa all day without coming out and making the guests feel welcome.
Lucklily I was with a good set of friends and this more than made up for the lack of customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Reni_Jarra_Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Torbay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Although the location on the beach is nice the waiters seem very young and disinterested. A dog went into the kitchen. I saw a friend of a worker smoking there. A waitress was scratching her head with a vengence while carrying a meal out with the other. My crab salad came with a crab the size of a dessert spoon. I would have preferred canned meat as these were purely cosmetic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seasoned_daveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My fiance and I stayed next door at the Samet Villa Resort but ate lunch a four or five times at the Silver Sands Resort Restaurant, which overlooks the beach.

The food was good (tasty) and, for the most part, came out quickly.

The down-side: The waiter staff -was rude at worst, indifferent at best. (My Thai fiance says many of the waiters and locals working are Cambodian, not Thai and simply don't have the same friendly attitude found in most other places in Thailand.

The flies were also horrible. Eating consisted of using one hand to "shovel" food into our moths as fast as possible, while the other had waved constantly to keep the flies off the food.

The first day we ate at the Silver Sands, there was an older Thai man, who seemed to be the boss (manager or owner??); we watched him stay on the wait staff's case - directing them and keeping them moving to take care of customers. He was never there on subsequent visits and that first day was the only day there service was better than poor.

Food: 4 of 5 stars
Service: 2 of 5 stars
Other (flies): 2 of 5 stars
Overall dining experience: 2 of 5 stars

Room Tip: If you don't mind poor service and flies, the food is good and view of the beach is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We picked this bungalow type resort from some older guidebooks. Quite a surprise to see how prices had gone up the last few years. Ended up paying 2'400 for a garden room, set back from the sea. The location on a small bay and ok. beach was nice. There is a large open air restaurant with reasonable food, international and Thai. Staff very unfriendly and arrogant. They could care less if they had customers or not. Rooms were not cleaned properly, at least not for the price of 80$ which buys me a clean room in many parts of the world. There is a noisy bar next door. A final warning, avoid Samet on weekends, holidays. The place is packed with Thais from Bangkok and foreigners. We would not go back to Samet at all.

Room Tip: Pay more and book Samed Villa next door, if you feel you need to see this island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The very first moment of our visit was already unpleasant. There was no greeting from the receptionist...she did not even smile or look at us when we checked in. The internet has worst connection, it did not always work. The room was so terribly unclean. You can see dirt and fingerprints all over the mirror.

The waiters are so lazy and are not helpful.

I would never go there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay_donnyCGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notteroy Municipality, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a resort, where you do not have to go further than 75 meters in any direction to have anything you want... beach, food, disco, more food, drinks, bungalow, massage, pedicure, fruit, icecream, sun, shade... anything that you are looking for in a good island resort.

If you bring kids, then maybe you should consider getting a bungalow in the back, away from the disco that plays loud until 3am.

Room Tip: close to beach = close to disco = loud. arrive early in the morning to get a room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sn4p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.2 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#7 of 47 in Ko Samet
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samed Pavilion Resort
Samed Pavilion Resort
#5 of 57 in Ko Samet
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sand Resort

Property: Silver Sand Resort
Address: 92 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sand Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing