We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”
Review of Silver Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Sand Resort
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Although the location on the beach is nice the waiters seem very young and disinterested. A dog went into the kitchen. I saw a friend of a worker smoking there. A waitress was scratching her head with a vengence while carrying a meal out with the other. My crab salad came with a crab the size of a dessert spoon. I would have preferred canned meat as these were purely cosmetic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank seasoned_daveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

My fiance and I stayed next door at the Samet Villa Resort but ate lunch a four or five times at the Silver Sands Resort Restaurant, which overlooks the beach.

The food was good (tasty) and, for the most part, came out quickly.

The down-side: The waiter staff -was rude at worst, indifferent at best. (My Thai fiance says many of the waiters and locals working are Cambodian, not Thai and simply don't have the same friendly attitude found in most other places in Thailand.

The flies were also horrible. Eating consisted of using one hand to "shovel" food into our moths as fast as possible, while the other had waved constantly to keep the flies off the food.

The first day we ate at the Silver Sands, there was an older Thai man, who seemed to be the boss (manager or owner??); we watched him stay on the wait staff's case - directing them and keeping them moving to take care of customers. He was never there on subsequent visits and that first day was the only day there service was better than poor.

Food: 4 of 5 stars
Service: 2 of 5 stars
Other (flies): 2 of 5 stars
Overall dining experience: 2 of 5 stars

Room Tip: If you don't mind poor service and flies, the food is good and view of the beach is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We picked this bungalow type resort from some older guidebooks. Quite a surprise to see how prices had gone up the last few years. Ended up paying 2'400 for a garden room, set back from the sea. The location on a small bay and ok. beach was nice. There is a large open air restaurant with reasonable food, international and Thai. Staff very unfriendly and arrogant. They could care less if they had customers or not. Rooms were not cleaned properly, at least not for the price of 80$ which buys me a clean room in many parts of the world. There is a noisy bar next door. A final warning, avoid Samet on weekends, holidays. The place is packed with Thais from Bangkok and foreigners. We would not go back to Samet at all.

Room Tip: Pay more and book Samed Villa next door, if you feel you need to see this island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The very first moment of our visit was already unpleasant. There was no greeting from the receptionist...she did not even smile or look at us when we checked in. The internet has worst connection, it did not always work. The room was so terribly unclean. You can see dirt and fingerprints all over the mirror.

The waiters are so lazy and are not helpful.

I would never go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay_donnyCGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a resort, where you do not have to go further than 75 meters in any direction to have anything you want... beach, food, disco, more food, drinks, bungalow, massage, pedicure, fruit, icecream, sun, shade... anything that you are looking for in a good island resort.

If you bring kids, then maybe you should consider getting a bungalow in the back, away from the disco that plays loud until 3am.

Room Tip: close to beach = close to disco = loud. arrive early in the morning to get a room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sverre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Silver Sands, koh Samet.... my personal review - room nice enough, lack of towels but given more when requested, sunbeds, too busy, too close together, uncomfortable then forced off them at 5pm!!! mats put down with low tables for evening meal, then forced off them at 10pm.. continuously disturbed by vendors of henna tattoos, sarong & fruit sellers and massage etc etc... loud music from disco but it didnt bother us... some staff were pleasant but it was hard to get their attention! couldnt get some cocktails as `we have no staff!` was the excuse.... :(

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

if your expecting smiles and helpful staff dont sty here,we stayed here whilst traveling aroun thailand at xmas 2011,never again,the staff were rude and couldnt be bothered!they just want your money,the place it self was nice we had a beautiful bungalow ,would not go again and in fact nearly all the places we stayed at were the same thailand is defo not the land of smiles anymore!we have been many time and it was quite a shock to find the people of thailand not so friendly anymore.

Room Tip: chose a room at the back as there is a big disco at the front which is really loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agnes187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.7 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samed Pavilion Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sand Resort

Address: 92 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range: $63 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sand Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing