We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Resort - shame about the rubbish on the beach!”
Review of Ao Prao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ao Prao Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Nice Resort - shame about the rubbish on the beach!”
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We found the Ao Prao Resort to be a well managed and friendly resort. Our Junior Suite was pleasant and spacious with a partial outdoor shower. It had all the expected creature comforts and had a nice view of the beach. The standard of accomodation here is comfortable rather than luxurious.

Throughout our 3 night stay we found the staff to be wonderful with our young daughter. I asked reception about where we could get nappies ( diapers) and the lady picked them up herself from the other side of the island !

We also enjoyed dining next to the sea. There was a good mix of seafood, BBQ ( including Fillet Steak) and Thai food available. It made for a very nice scene in the evening when they also laid on some music.

The only real downer was the level of rubbish that washed up on the beach. Ao Prao is the only beach on the rocky west side of Ko Samet so it seems that alot of the plastic bottles etc get washed up on the beach. The staff do try to clear it up but it did make bathing less enjoyable. The better beaches are on the other side of the island which is a bumpy taxi ride away. The other side of the island is more backpacker territory - lovely beaches but few international class hotels!

I would recommend the Ao Prao to someone who is going to travel around the island doing watersports but wants a quieter and more comfortable place for the evenings. The rubbish on the beach ( which equally affects Lima Coco and Le Vinmarn Cottages) does however damage Ao Prao Bay as a destination in its own right.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The rubbish on the beach
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimeTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    168
    60
    26
    14
See reviews for
93
159
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

This resort is the best choice we could have made. The resort is set on a beautiful bay on the westside of Koh Samet. On this bay are three resorts who use the beach.

To my opinion Ao Prao Resort has the most beautiful setting of cottages, tucked away in beautiful gardens, from the beach and up the hill. All have a nice terrace to look at the sunset.

Because of the westward location, you can sunbath 'till late. The beach has plastic deckchairs and parasols are provided by the staff if you like. Big beachtowels are provided in the cottages. The beach is beautiful with nice palmtrees for some shade, and you can swim easily. (No hazardous sea-urchins or shallow reef, as I have come upon in most tropical beaches!).
There is one big setback on the Ao Prao beach: the owners of the resort want to make money, big money, and so they rent out a part of the beach to day tourist. Most of the times these people are russian tourists from Pattaya, and they are loud and rude and with many (20 to 40 persons). The staff is not strong enough to regulate these groups properly.
Fortunately the beach stretches out on two sides of the restaurant and the other side is fairly quiet. (we were there in the highest season, just after new year.) If you can spend more money, the beach of Le Vinmarn is much more quiet.

We stayed in a junior suite, and the rooms were gorgeous. We stayed in two of them: we were offered an other room, because we complained about the day tourists. The first room (nr 407) was set on the beach and in the garden, but high up, so no bother of people walking by. This room was beautifully decorated, with nice blue tiles in the bathroom. Both bathrooms had huge showers and lots of space. The airconditioning systems were the most silent we experienced on our trip. The cottages are set in a beautiful garden and all are much closer to the beach than Le Vinmarn (Le Vinmarn looks beautiful, but also a little bit too perfect...)
The second room I would recommend to everyone, room 200. This room is on the most northern point, directly on the beach, beautiful views and very private!

The food in the restaurant is a bit mediocre. The most delicious food we found at the restaurant of Le Vinmarn, on the same beach, but much more expensive. Lima Coco has tables on the beach, with a very relaxing atmosphere. If you want to eat in Hat Sai Kaew, with a pickup truck and 200 baht it is only a 10 min. drive.

The resort has its own, well organized, boatservice to the beach of Ao Prao with a aircon waitingroom in Ban Pe. The boat brings you to the bay, and a little boat (looking like a floating bathtub!) brings you to the beach.

We enjoyed our 6 nights stay enormously, also because the staff was very nice.

  • Liked — The location and the beach
  • Disliked — The day tourist that take up a part of the beach and are very present
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank calijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

Owned by the same people as Le Virman, Sai Kaew Beach Resort and Le Paradee, Ao Prao is the mid range resort and shares Ao Prao beach on the Western coast of the Island with Le Virman and Coco Beach resort. If you are looking for some peace and quiet, but still want to have some contact with the outside world, Ao Prao beach is the best place to be as it is fairly tranquil without being completely isolated (as is the case with Paradee). Hat Sai Kaew is where the action is (long white beach, hundreds of people, bars, restaurants and stalls) and is fun for a while, but could be a little tiring if you have to sleep there as well – there are pickup truck taxis to town from outside Le Virman and there are any number of scooter rentals around the island.

Ao Prao resort is spotlessly clean and as with most places in Thailand, the staff are absolutely charming. The resort has a restaurant which serves an excellent breakfast as well as having one of the most romantic backdrops for dinner – tables are put on the beach feet from the sea and with a magnificent view of the sun set (which is only visible from this side of the island). Rooms up the hill from reception have the best views of the sea, but take longer to get too, rooms almost on the beach have their obvious attraction, but bear in mind that you will also lose some privacy. Friends have recently returned from Le Virman and the experience is apparently similar, but as to be expected, a little more luxurious. Le Virman has a pool which Ao Prao does not. You will be best to avoid the massage on Ao Prao beach as there is a far better option (and cheaper) on the beach in front of Naga Bungalows/Tok’s Little Pub on the way to Hat Sai Kaew.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank WTCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

As the boat arrives on beach, the staff are waiting there to welcome you as you walk up the beach to the resorts reception. The staff are very friendly & helpful.

We stayed in the beachfront cottage and it is beautifully decorated with all modern facilities but still keeping the feel of a cottage and not your standard hotel room feel.

Along the same beach are two other resorts which means that there is enough people to make the area lively but not too overcrowded.

A good choice if you want the luxury of service and a great view of the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

This resort is AMAZING! I would highly recommend it to anyone that is considering a beach wedding! My husband and I got married here right on the beach with the sand between our toes. The service is impecable and the people are amazing.

Our 5 day stay was seamless and all our guests also enjoyed themselves. You must catch a sunset from the beach, as they are beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Planerides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2004

This was our first visit to Thailand and after the hustle and bustle of Bangkok this resort on the island of Koh Samet was a fantastic way to unwind. Two and a half hours from Bangkok by cab then a gentle 30 minute ferry ride and we were in heaven. As we stepped off the boat the resort staff waded to the sea and carried our luggage ashore. We had booked a sea front bungalow and it was beautiful and literally a stones throw from the beach. The food and the setting at the resturant was both fantastic and romantic (I highly recommend the Thai green curry and the egg fried rice!) The resort was very pretty, especially at night with the soft lighting everywhere. There's not a huge amount to do on the island during the day, but we hired a songthaw and the driver took us to the most beautiul and secluded beach I've ever seen. In the evenings you can chill out at the couple of beach bars. Sit on the mats laid out on the beach, listen to the d.j. play his chill-out session and watch the stars. Fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank Kirstin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
705 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Prao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Prao Resort

Property: Ao Prao Resort
Address: 60 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Prao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AO PRAO RESORT - Located in a stunning location at the northern headland of lovely Ao Prao beach, on the west cost of Koh Samet (Samet Island), renowned for its crystalline white sand beaches. Only 2 1/2 hours by road from Bangkok, or one hour from Pattaya, followed by a short sea crossing in our shuttle boat. For the active holiday makers ... Sailing, windsurfing, snorkeling, diving, fishing, boating, sunbathing, swimming, bike riding or relaxing in your own tropies style cottage set in luxuriant greenery. A vacation on a tropical island has never been better than this. Ao Prao is a resort village located on a secluded beach with spacious cottages , first-class facilities, fantastic food and accommodation that offers real style, comfort and warmth. Here, you are miles away from everyday worries with all the beauty and wonder of a tropical paradise. This is the perfect vacation spot for couples or families and also offers modern facilities for a company seminar or conference for up to 70 delegates. Ao Prao is a tropic island vacation resort that is beyond your expectations. Free hotel shuttle speed boat from/to resort (For hotel guests only) From Seree Pier mainland : 11.00 Hrs., 13.30 Hrs., 16.00 Hrs. From Koh Samet : 10.00 Hrs., 12.30 Hrs., 15.00 Hrs. **Please stand by at Seree Pier (hotel pier) 20 minutes before shuttle boat time. **If missing the shuttle boat, extra cost of a private speed boat will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ao Prao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Prao Hotel Rayong
Ao Prao Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing