We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June stay at Ao Prao”
Review of Ao Prao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ao Prao Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The staff were amazingly helpful and the food at the hotel restaurant was very, very good. The beach in june was not very busy but good for swimming. We were very lucky with no rain apart from one night-time storm. The distance to the main sai kaew beach is walk-able in the day or you can get a taxi truck thing day and night. The staff were so helpful, they provided room service late an night in a storm when my boyfriends food didn't arrive at another hotel across the island. Overall amazing stay on a lovely relaxing island which feels very safe. I agree it is more expensive than normal thai prices but this is true across all of koh samed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_lax_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Ao Prao Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 445 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were at the resort with 6 others. The resort arranged a speed boat ride to the island and when we arrived at the beach we stepped off onto a platform and then a tractor pulled us all to shore so we didn't have to jump off the boat into the water. The porters removed our luggage from the boat and delivered them to our rooms. We were treated with a delicious iced drink while awaiting our room keys. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The service was good. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious with a variety of Thai and European/American foods. It was so relaxing eating breakfast near the beach with a wonderful view. The sunset was beautiful. The resort is peaceful but if you want more activities, you can take a taxi to the other side of the island to Hard Sai Gow in the evening. It is a very bumpy taxi ride. If you need a taxi just let the front desk know and they will arrange it for you. At Ao Prao resort the sand was soft and the water was clean as well as the swimming pool . There are many stairs to climb to your room so if you are handicapped ask for a room with fewer stairs. They offer a Thai body massage for 400 BHT by the beach. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OmahaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is the first time that I travelling with my daughter. Both of them a bit scare when we are on speed boat but staff treat well which make them feel much better. The room is in a good location and well prepare. Garden is well groom, all staff are very friendly & helpful. The beach is nice, clean and peaceful. We enjoy this stay very much and will visit this place again :) Thank you Ao prao team!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phadung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The beach and the room are nice but it's really overpriced in regards with the service has we had.
Nobody help you, no smile. They don't clean our room.
We ask a babycot they don't provide matelas for the baby. They ask us 1200 bath for an extra bed though we said when we booked that we will come with one baby and one young boy and they don't mention this extra price.
The food is the worst I never eat in Thailand (too oily, too much pepper and spices even if you ask no spices for children) and the service of the restaurant is simply inexistant.
The spa is really good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 453FrancineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willy p, General Manager at Ao Prao Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Valuable Guest,

Greeting from Ao Prao Resort, Koh Samed

It was with much embarrassment and regret that we learned of your disatisfaction with the products and services at our resort. I would like to take this opportunity in the public forum to apologise sincerely and ensure you that all your comments have been taken most seriously and that the management team are already taking measures to improve the inconsistencies you encountered. We have been tasked with tackling each of your comment points and improving them without any delay.
We hope that in the future you will allow us an opportunity to show you the improvements made to our products and services - please do not hesitate to contact me personally so as I may assist you accordingly.
On behalf of our team our sincere apologies for the fact that your vacation was not all you expected it to be but please be assured of our committment to all guests that comments recieved are taken in the manner they are sent and acted upon straight away.

Thank you

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What is not to like about this place? Better yet, how do you get away from the hustle and busy of the city without having to fly? Ao Prao Resort is where you go!!

Ao Prao is on one side of the island where there are only 3 other resorts there so it is very quiet and serene with it's own beach front access. Although this is quiet expensive for teh region, it was cheaper than the other resorts next to it and had no complaints here. We got to the port and was promptly ushered onto a speedboat which took us to the island....not just to the island but almost right to the front step of the hotel!! The boat staff took care of the luggage as we strolled up to reception and was welcomed with a drink.

We were then taken to our seaview cottage rooms when we were done with the check-in. The place was amazing. It was almost as if you had the whole place to yourself on a deserted island. I forgot we were at a hotel until i came outside to sit on the balcony to enjoy the view. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The bed was a bit firmerthan I would like but some tend to like that more. Personal preference I suppose. The only issue with the room was a trail of sugar ants in the bathroom but housekeeping took care of that promptly.

The breakfast spread was pretty nice. It had a little bit of something for everyone and freshly made omlettes to your liking. The seating area was right next to the shore so it was nice to enjoy a leisurely breakfast and enjoy the view with a cup of coffee in your hands.

The beach front was very clean and uncrowded. It's not the powder white sand but it is still very nice. The water is very clean and had a great time just swimming around and laying out in the sun.

If you are looking for a bit more action at night, there is always a local taxi at the end of the walkway of the resorts that will take you to the other side of the island where it is rowdy with touristy partygoers, bar, and restaurants. Be sure to stop into the convience store and get some snacks and drinks before heading back to the hotel as their is nowhere to eat late at night at the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aznboi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I travelled to the Ao Prao resort with my wife and two children (5 & 6). The boat ride there was excellent, about 15 minutes but well worth it, the kids loved speeding across the sea to our destination, especially after a two hour journey from Bangkok in a hire car!

Upon arrival we werte welcomed with drinks and were taken very swiftly to our room which was spacious, very clean and had the biggest bath I have ever seen, top notch for my kids.

The beach there was fantastic, small, very clean, with rocka at either end which would have been good (I'm guessing) if you wanted to snorkel and see some sealife. There was always someone on hand to deliver drinks or food if required and the pool in the resort was very clean and often very quiet.

Cannot fault this place (but it was a bit pricey - for Thailand). A 10-15 minute ride away in a local taxi took you to the other side of the island which was very different on a Saturday night, a bit like the Khao San road in Bangkok, but on the beach!!

Reastaurants were awesome, would recommend Buzz if you want to try the Thai food, very good.

All in all, had a great time here but did spend a few pennies.

Maybe go back there someday........

;))

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My friends and I have just stayed in this resort from 2 to 5 April 2012.
Upon check in, we were allocated to our reserved room type, Room 226 (Deluxe Room) and 406 (Deluxe rooom with sea view, more expensive one). However, the Room 406 is even relatively smaller than 226 especially the bathing and tiolet area. It looks like just a small cube! Also, the room is too dark. Next day, we requested to change to another room with same room category. Luckily, our request was warmly entertained and we were switched from 406 to 200. The 200 is much much spacious especially the shower area. We still could enjoy lots of sea view from the room private balcony!
Room tip: aviod the rooms of 4XX. The 2XX is highly recommended: more privacy surrounded and more sunlight and spacious. Trust us!

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the beach are recommended: like our Room 200. Must try!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
720 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Prao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Prao Resort

Address: 60 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: $131 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Prao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AO PRAO RESORT - Located in a stunning location at the northern headland of lovely Ao Prao beach, on the west cost of Koh Samet (Samet Island), renowned for its crystalline white sand beaches. Only 2 1/2 hours by road from Bangkok, or one hour from Pattaya, followed by a short sea crossing in our shuttle boat. For the active holiday makers ... Sailing, windsurfing, snorkeling, diving, fishing, boating, sunbathing, swimming, bike riding or relaxing in your own tropies style cottage set in luxuriant greenery. A vacation on a tropical island has never been better than this. Ao Prao is a resort village located on a secluded beach with spacious cottages , first-class facilities, fantastic food and accommodation that offers real style, comfort and warmth. Here, you are miles away from everyday worries with all the beauty and wonder of a tropical paradise. This is the perfect vacation spot for couples or families and also offers modern facilities for a company seminar or conference for up to 70 delegates. Ao Prao is a tropic island vacation resort that is beyond your expectations. Free hotel shuttle speed boat from/to resort (For hotel guests only) From Seree Pier mainland : 11.00 Hrs., 13.30 Hrs., 16.00 Hrs. From Koh Samet : 10.00 Hrs., 12.30 Hrs., 15.00 Hrs. **Please stand by at Seree Pier (hotel pier) 20 minutes before shuttle boat time. **If missing the shuttle boat, extra cost of a private speed boat will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ao Prao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Prao Hotel Rayong
Ao Prao Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing