We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This review could really be written in one word: excellent. We stayed in a beautiful cottage with a great, great bathroom. The beach was clean and clear, the grounds and swimming pool were all very well-kept. It was very peaceful and really a place for adults. The breakfast was mixed and could actually have been better, fruit and the coffee were always great, whereas the bread was always a sad and dry affaire. All in all it was a beautiful experience and we would happily go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived via the hotel's speedboat, about 15 minutes from the mainland. We stayed in a deluxe cottage which was great, nice room well decorated, only issue really was the cheap shampoo and gel they supply. Breakfast offering we thought was a poor selection, beach area small and no chance of sunbeds on the beach unless you want to get up at 6am.

Very expensive hotel room and food for Thailand, bed was comfortable so on that on the baias I would stay again on all other accounts we would not - just an average hotel with staff that do not seem that professoinal and well trained.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andypoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We selected Le Virman on Koh Samet after extensive research for our honeymoon and it exceeded our expectations. As soon as we arrived at the pier to take the boat over to the Island the service was exceptional and this continued throughout our 11 night stay. On arrival at the resort, which is breathtaking, the welcome drink and check in experience was simple and relaxed. We stayed in a Spa Villa and we were very happy with our choice, the room has excellent views (902) and I recommend requesting this is you can.The air conditioning, cleanliness and room facilities are also excellent. The rooms are kept immaculate by the staff throughout the stay.
The location itself is simply paradise, we could not have asked for more for our special holiday. Basically we loved every moment at Le Virman! We cannot finish this review without mentioning the very lovely Payab who is the restaurant manager at both Le Virman and their sister resort at the other end of the bay. This perfect genetlemen made our stay even more special and we are so grateful to him, and his wonderful team of staff for such wonderful service and that extra personal touch he provided. You touched our hearts, thank you. Mark and Hannah Lambert

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is rare these days to go to a destination by boat. From first impressions this resort has everything for couples, families and friends and the staff a polite and well trained. Whether you want to laze around the pool, swim in the ocean, snorkel, scuba, sail, visit the turtles, have both fine dining and casual eating locations this resort has all of this. The island Koh Semet has yet to be commercialised like so many other Thai resort locations which means there is virtually no traffic just the sound of the waves breaking on the shore with fun nights. For those of us that want to remain connected to the world whilst on holidays, the free wifi was fast and worked well with our iPad.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. Most have them but just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnScutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 5 days at Le Vimarn on a last minute getaway before Christmas. This was a total of two families, 4 adults and 3 children. We had two adjacent rooms and initially booked for 4 nights and then extended for a fifth. We were coming out of Pattaya so the trip was very easy, around 90 minutes door to door, including the speed boat crossing to the resort.

Overall everything about this vacation was perfect. The rooms were excellent, clean and well presented with good A/C to keep us cool in the surprising hot Thai winter. The location was superb. The beach of Ao Prao is secluded and faces west so it has fantastic sunsets - the best on Koh Samet. There are three resorts on Ao Prao, making it quiet and out of the more party side of Koh Samet, yet not as secluded as the Paradee resort. I also think the sea is a little calmer on this side making for a great time in the water. Plenty of options for water activities (but be warned if anyone tells you you can kayak around the island in 2 hours they clearly have never tried).

The resort itself was welcoming, the staff were friendly and we have absolutely no complaints. Cocktails on the beach at sunset in December really can't be beaten. For those who need it internet access in the Le Vimarn was also fine. Breakfast was great every morning and all the staff were very polite and attentive. Don't be surprised if you see a few critters at this location - we saw plenty of local wildlife including a couple of snakes, frogs, geckos and a few tokay geckos.

Next door to Le Vimarn is Limacoco - this was also a great place for food and cocktails and a more casual dining experience. The staff here were also great.

Overall if you want to be out of the party side of town (which is only 10 minutes away by taxi, so easy to visit, if you don't mind bouncing around in the back of a pickup on a pretty bumpy road) and want a slightly more secluded location, with excellent accommodation and service - I'd highly recommend Le Vimarn, yes cheaper accommodation can certainly be had on Koh Samet, but the prices is certainly worth it at Le Vimarn, given the combination of accommodation, location and great service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at le vimarn in november for 5 nights after some time in oz. The room was very nice and overlooked a small pound which was a popular gathering for the local frogs at night. Theres plenty of lizards about sunning it up, we also had a pet snake one day.The rooms were kept immaculate and the housekeeping staff were always friendly and very efficient. The breakfast buffet was excellent and managed perfectly by the manager and staff. The restuarants were also very good.
Le vimarn is a really nice resort and anyone visiting will enjoy it. But the resort and even the bay is more for couples and families. The other bays are easy to access by one of the 4x4 taxis, but you need to understand , by taxi i mean pickup trick with benchs on the back. Theres about 30 metres of road on the island and the rest is dirt track, taxi journeys can be quite exciting. But they are cheap and widely available. Le vimarn is Made successful by the staff, they all work very hard.

Room Tip: 606 was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozzynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Le Vimarn Cottages and had a fantastic time. The drive from Bangkok took about 2 hours on motorway straight to the hotels own private pier where you catch a speedboat (about 20 mins) direct to the hotel.
The rooms are spacious well decorated and well equipped, you even get a pair of flip flops for the beach.
Some reviews have complained about breakfast, we had no such complaints, every day the food was great and the service even better, the staff in the restaurants are extremely attentive and go out of their way to ensure you have a great experience particular mention must be given to Payab the restaurant manager who is without doubt the best staff member I have met in any hotel I have stayed in and you can tell that his love for his job is filtered down to his staff.
My one gripe would be the prices at the hotel which I fear is driving customers away:
1) Food and drink prices whilst on a par with restaurants in England are high compared to other restaurants on the island which is a real shame as the staff are great and it would have been nice to spend more time with them. We found it cheaper to pay £4 each way for a taxi (an experience in itself especially when the clouds open) than to stay at the hotel each night, you have to walk through the O Restaurant to get to the taxis and most nights it was empty or only had 1 or 2 tables being used.
2 good options on the island we found are Buddies run by Englishman Paul and his wife in Samet village on the Saikaew beach and the Seabreeze restaurant on the lively Ao Pai beach which has a nightclub next door that gets going about 10.30 each night. A good meal can be had in both restaurants for about 150 baht compared to about 400 baht at the hotel.
At lunch we walked along the beach to the Lima Coco bar where drinks were about half the price of the hotel, the staff are lovely and soon get to know you, in fact after just 1 visit they knew our order, Daow and Tree deserve a particular mention for their great service.
2) I enquired at the hotel about a boat trip round the island for 4 people and was quoted an astonishing 7000 baht for a 3 hour trip, I later enquired at the Gecko bar (opposite Seabreeze Restaurant) and was quoted 400 baht per person! A staggering difference. We had our own private boat, were given water and melon and were able to go snorkelling.
3) The spa is overpriced a massage costs 1500 baht, if you walk to either Lima Coco or the Ao Prao resort you can get the same for 500 baht! 
That said, the prices are reflective of a 5 star hotel but you can get the same product cheaper if you hunt around.
We did eat in each of the 3 restaurants at the hotel and sister hotel and the food was great in each. Lima Coco was great for drinks but the food was not on a par with the rest of the island.
The great level of service continued right up to leaving the hotel, having paid our bill we waited for the speedboat and when it arrived we were touched to see that as many staff as were able made the effort to come and wave us off, including the hotel manager.
I was worried about staying for 2 weeks thinking it may be to long but the staff here were great and took care of us really well even when we had a problem it was sorted out quickly and efficiently.
I would definitely come back for another stay. Thank you once again Payab for your excellent service.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
751 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa

Address: 40/11 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: $247 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa is a unique tropical Boutique Resort for an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Clustered on the gentle slope of a hilly cove overlooking a quiet bay beach is your stylish retreat from the world. Supremely comfortable individual cottages all with balconies, some with your own outdoor spa that look down onto a peaceful curved bay of sparkling sea and fine sand. The cottage cluster centers around a superb infinity pool, a world class spa and a restaurant offering a most interesting and comprehensive menu.Le Vimarn attracts sophisticated and discriminating international guests year after year. A dream location that will last in your memory for a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vimarn Cottages And Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages Hotel Koh Samet
Le Vimarn Hotel
Le Vimarn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing