We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Avatara Resort(Ko Samet)
$90
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$167
$76
Trip.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ao Prao Resort(Ko Samet)
$148
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
$130
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tub Tim Resort(Ko Samet)
$66
$22
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradee Resort(Ko Samet)
$705
$620
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    Reviews (410)
    Filter reviews
    410 results
    Traveler rating
    201
    143
    45
    10
    11
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    201
    143
    45
    10
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrestaurant managerthai restaurantlima cocoao prao beachbuzz barimmaculate gardensbeautiful cottageenjoy the peacethe cottagessister hotelluxurious hotelspecial thankshuge showersamed resortswelcome drinkbreeze restaurantfine sand
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    157 - 162 of 410 reviews
    Reviewed December 29, 2012

    We spent 5 days at Le Vimarn on a last minute getaway before Christmas. This was a total of two families, 4 adults and 3 children. We had two adjacent rooms and initially booked for 4 nights and then extended for a fifth. We were coming out of Pattaya so the trip was very easy, around 90 minutes door to door, including the speed boat crossing to the resort.

    Overall everything about this vacation was perfect. The rooms were excellent, clean and well presented with good A/C to keep us cool in the surprising hot Thai winter. The location was superb. The beach of Ao Prao is secluded and faces west so it has fantastic sunsets - the best on Koh Samet. There are three resorts on Ao Prao, making it quiet and out of the more party side of Koh Samet, yet not as secluded as the Paradee resort. I also think the sea is a little calmer on this side making for a great time in the water. Plenty of options for water activities (but be warned if anyone tells you you can kayak around the island in 2 hours they clearly have never tried).

    The resort itself was welcoming, the staff were friendly and we have absolutely no complaints. Cocktails on the beach at sunset in December really can't be beaten. For those who need it internet access in the Le Vimarn was also fine. Breakfast was great every morning and all the staff were very polite and attentive. Don't be surprised if you see a few critters at this location - we saw plenty of local wildlife including a couple of snakes, frogs, geckos and a few tokay geckos.

    Next door to Le Vimarn is Limacoco - this was also a great place for food and cocktails and a more casual dining experience. The staff here were also great.

    Overall if you want to be out of the party side of town (which is only 10 minutes away by taxi, so easy to visit, if you don't mind bouncing around in the back of a pickup on a pretty bumpy road) and want a slightly more secluded location, with excellent accommodation and service - I'd highly recommend Le Vimarn, yes cheaper accommodation can certainly be had on Koh Samet, but the prices is certainly worth it at Le Vimarn, given the combination of accommodation, location and great service.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank MattBromley
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 6, 2012

    We stayed at le vimarn in november for 5 nights after some time in oz. The room was very nice and overlooked a small pound which was a popular gathering for the local frogs at night. Theres plenty of lizards about sunning it up, we also had a pet snake one day.The rooms were kept immaculate and the housekeeping staff were always friendly and very efficient. The breakfast buffet was excellent and managed perfectly by the manager and staff. The restuarants were also very good.
    Le vimarn is a really nice resort and anyone visiting will enjoy it. But the resort and even the bay is more for couples and families. The other bays are easy to access by one of the 4x4 taxis, but you need to understand , by taxi i mean pickup trick with benchs on the back. Theres about 30 metres of road on the island and the rest is dirt track, taxi journeys can be quite exciting. But they are cheap and widely available. Le vimarn is Made successful by the staff, they all work very hard.

    Room Tip: 606 was a great room
    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mozzynet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 27, 2012

    We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Le Vimarn Cottages and had a fantastic time. The drive from Bangkok took about 2 hours on motorway straight to the hotels own private pier where you catch a speedboat (about 20 mins) direct to the hotel.
    The rooms are spacious well decorated and well equipped, you even get a pair of flip flops for the beach.
    Some reviews have complained about breakfast, we had no such complaints, every day the food was great and the service even better, the staff in the restaurants are extremely attentive and go out of their way to ensure you have a great experience particular mention must be given to Payab the restaurant manager who is without doubt the best staff member I have met in any hotel I have stayed in and you can tell that his love for his job is filtered down to his staff.
    My one gripe would be the prices at the hotel which I fear is driving customers away:
    1) Food and drink prices whilst on a par with restaurants in England are high compared to other restaurants on the island which is a real shame as the staff are great and it would have been nice to spend more time with them. We found it cheaper to pay £4 each way for a taxi (an experience in itself especially when the clouds open) than to stay at the hotel each night, you have to walk through the O Restaurant to get to the taxis and most nights it was empty or only had 1 or 2 tables being used.
    2 good options on the island we found are Buddies run by Englishman Paul and his wife in Samet village on the Saikaew beach and the Seabreeze restaurant on the lively Ao Pai beach which has a nightclub next door that gets going about 10.30 each night. A good meal can be had in both restaurants for about 150 baht compared to about 400 baht at the hotel.
    At lunch we walked along the beach to the Lima Coco bar where drinks were about half the price of the hotel, the staff are lovely and soon get to know you, in fact after just 1 visit they knew our order, Daow and Tree deserve a particular mention for their great service.
    2) I enquired at the hotel about a boat trip round the island for 4 people and was quoted an astonishing 7000 baht for a 3 hour trip, I later enquired at the Gecko bar (opposite Seabreeze Restaurant) and was quoted 400 baht per person! A staggering difference. We had our own private boat, were given water and melon and were able to go snorkelling.
    3) The spa is overpriced a massage costs 1500 baht, if you walk to either Lima Coco or the Ao Prao resort you can get the same for 500 baht! 
    That said, the prices are reflective of a 5 star hotel but you can get the same product cheaper if you hunt around.
    We did eat in each of the 3 restaurants at the hotel and sister hotel and the food was great in each. Lima Coco was great for drinks but the food was not on a par with the rest of the island.
    The great level of service continued right up to leaving the hotel, having paid our bill we waited for the speedboat and when it arrived we were touched to see that as many staff as were able made the effort to come and wave us off, including the hotel manager.
    I was worried about staying for 2 weeks thinking it may be to long but the staff here were great and took care of us really well even when we had a problem it was sorted out quickly and efficiently.
    I would definitely come back for another stay. Thank you once again Payab for your excellent service.

    Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    4  Thank Steve K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 7, 2012

    We recently had an excellent 4 days stay in Le Vimarn with our two small kids + other family (also 2+2 persons). Definitely overexceeded my expectations!

    The location is convienient: less than two hours from Bangkok airport to close pier, then about 20 minutes speedboat-trip to destination. The resort is located in a peaceful bay with own "postcard-like" beach (blue water, white sand, not to many people...)

    Facilities are new and high-class: both of our villas were great (=new, clean, well-equipped). Also the staff was very friendly and service-oriented. No complaints whatsoever.

    Something to keep in mind:
    - outside the resort area there was not really anything to see. I jogged to the other side of the island (to main village about 3 km away from resort) and was quite disappointed. Dirty roads and buildings here and there.
    - restaurant options are quite limited, so if u stay long, take a boattour back to main land once in a while
    - if looking for action holiday or night-life, this is not the place to choose

    Would definitely recommend to anyone seeking peaceful paradise to relax!

    Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    2  Thank Petteri L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 2, 2012

    This is my second time staying at Le Vimarn. The first was with my husband and this time with 3 friends. I certainly wasn't disappointed either time and it was exactly as I remembered! I cannot complain about anything really, the rooms are great, very clean and extremely comfortable bed. The food in both restaurants is really good (although a little expensive), the service is fantastic with really friendly staff. It is only a 5 / 10 minute speed boat ride away from the mainland, this transfer was included in our hotel rate. The beach is beautiful, crystal clear water and white sand. There are only 3 hotels on the beach so it is very quiet. We did not go into the town so I cannot say how far away it is. If you are looking for the ultimate relaxing or romantic getaway, this is definitely the place to go!!!

    • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank George451
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews