We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beach Break Whilst Travelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Beach Break Whilst Travelling”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

After spending a week at an Elephant camp we decided that we would like some R&R on one of Thailand's infamous islands, and as this is in close proximity to Bangkok we thought that it would make the perfect retreat.

BEWARE! When we got to Ban Phe to catch our speed shuttle we were greeted by a man on a converted scooter who took us to a travel agent who attempted to sell us tickets over to the island for 2000THB each (£44). We remained adamant that we got a free transfer and after standing our ground the scooter driver took us to the Samed Resorts office and then tried to charge us for his services! We refused...

Our room was beautiful, but the bed creaked every time you rolled over and was rather hard, and the breakfast menu always offered a lot of choice, however we felt that it was overpriced. At over 65,000THB (£1200) for a week in a Spa Villa, we were disappointed to find that the outdoor jacuzzi was in fact a (dirty) indoor bath made of mosaics. Nevertheless, the room was modern and the pool was kept clean.

As for eating out, we avoided the on-site "O" Restaurant, as for 2 non-alcoholic drinks and main meals (we picked the cheapest on the menu) it cost 1100THB (£25) and they didn't even bring change! The Buzz Restaurant offers much more value at an affordable price, does cocktails at 125THB between 16:30 and 19:00 and is absolutely exquisite. We would normally spend 1500THB (£33) a night and get 2 alcoholic drinks each, 2 mains and a starter or a desert.

We had hoped to go over to Koh Man Nai (Turtle Island) whilst there, but found that the resort (Samed Resort and Le Vimarn are owned by the same company) was only willing to offer trips to groups and after expressing an interest in going at the beginning of our stay they were unable, or unwilling, to organise a trip with other holiday makers for the end of the week - perhaps they were hoping we would pay for the private trip and spend 15000THB (£333).

The cheapest massage at the spa was 1500THB (£33), therefore we went to Samed Resort for a 400THB (£8) Thai massage, but it was done on the beach front and so perhaps the experience wasn't quite what it would have been had we gone to the Divarin Spa.

On the plus side the beach is usually very quiet, but be careful as bad weather can bring jellyfish to the shore, and is also kept quite clean. There's no coral reef around Ao Prao and to get decent snorkelling you would have to take a boat trip.

With regards to getting out and about, the scooter hire company outside the resort will charge 500THB (£11) for a days hire, whereas it is 300THB (£6) further inland and so it may be wise to barter and there isn't a massive amount to see. Sai Kaew has beautiful white sand and Ao Thian has a rugged beauty about it.

Overall, we wished that we had gone over for 3 or maybe 4 nights and then travelled on towards Koh Samui, or even flown to Phuket. But if you're looking to get away from it all and enjoy nothing more than a beach holiday, then this island is perfect for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carleeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    137
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
75
170
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Hotel is generally very good with excellent service and friendly and helpful staff. We encountered the following problems and for these reasons the ratings we provided are lower:

Firstly koh samet has no proper roads so if you want to get from the hotel to Samet village it will involve an uncomfortable bumpy journey in the back of a green jeep through numerous pot holes!

Secondly the massages were completely over priced (almost 4 times what we had seen generally in Bangkok)

Thirdly on the last night we decided to eat at the 'O' restaurant. Having eaten Thai food all holiday we went for a change and order pizza here. Both ended up with 2 days of food poisoning. Stick to thai food and either eat at the 'Buzz' restaurant or go to Samet village.

Finally reception took a little too much time to respond to requests...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Rooms are great, beach is spectacular and staff if friendly, but still, it really is too expensive. Compared to other similar hotels in Thailand, it really isn't worth the extra money. Nice to have been here, doubt we'll go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCeBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked this hotel for a weekend with family and kids. We booked the hotel through agoda.com and were pleasantly surprised to get a free upgrade to a villa on arrival which were great rooms right on the beach. The airconditioning was not too effective during the day but was fine at night. Service was upto the standard as well.
We had italian food at their restaurant when we arrived which was alright but not as good as what you get in Thailand otherwise.
There were two other hotels adjacent to the hotel, which made it more lively and fun. We had a fun time with the kids at the swimming pool.
The sea water and beach was not too clean though due to constant movement of the speed boat. The massage available on the beach was magnificent. All in all it was a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Quiet comfortable and Ko Samet is not worth going to of you do not stay here. Living in Bankok I wanted a quiet relaxing getaway weekend and just get away from it all. The beach is beautifull and if you want some action there is ample watersports to activities. Best is, no touts, no jet ski's and no hassles. Will come again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Novaftse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The location and the resort sell itself. Nice beach, calmer than other beaches on Koh Samet. Koh Samet is very close to Bangkok, so it is perfect place for a quick escape from the city. There are only 3 hotels on this beach (no more land to build!). Le Vimarn is the best one. Agree with previous comment, this is the only place where it is a proper hotel in terms of decoration, sun lounge etc. It is also on the best spot on this beach, wider beach front area and very well maintained property: clean beach front, nice garden etc.

Breakfast was okay. I disagree with some reviews here, there were enough choices. Not outstanding but definitely enough to eat.

Likes:
1. Spacious room, high ceiling. I like that it is a cottage, not a building. So it feels like home. The room is also only few steps from the beach. I also went to inspect jacuzzi villa and found that deluxe villas were actually in a better location and more charming.
2. Location: Nice and quiet beach, no beach vendors, the resort is by the beach
3. Proper sun bed
4. Speed boat service (500 Baht return, if u think it's a complimentary, actually it's already included in your room rate). No hassle to get to the island


Dislikes:
1. Staff need to be more informative. I checked with them about the boat time (public boat, not the hotel service one), they literally said they had no idea. No offer to check what so ever. Really, for this type of hotel, I expect that they should be able to provide this information or at least shows eagerness to assist.

2. Bed sheet and duvet cover: should have been a better quality, duvet cover material is different from bed sheet and it's not very nice.
Bring:
1. Liquor and snack: wine, beer etc. A bottle of beer here is 125++ while it costs 40 in supermarket. It makes sense they mark the price up but why not grab an opportunity to safe :-)
2. CD: there is a DVD player in the room. The resort has DVD to borrow but not music.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed at Le Vimarn for 3 nights over Songkran - Thailand's new year public holiday. For that reason, we paid a premium for our room - but I'm not sorry we did. We loved Ao Prao beach and this hotel, and I am surprised by some of the negative reviews because that wasn't our experience at all. I can't wait to go back.

We have recently moved to Bangkok so were very happy to discover Koh Samed at only 2.5 hours away by car and a short boat ride to the island. Ao Prao beach (which is where this hotel is located) is smaller, with only 3 hotels, and much less of a party scene than the main Koh Samed beach. There were lots of Thais and lots of families - which for us was a good sign. It was very relaxing and chilled out, but with enough to do for the more activity-focussed tourist!

The beach is perfect - incredibly warm water, clean, and good sand at high and low tides. We went snorkelling at while it wasn't the most amazing I've seen, it was worthwhile (yes you have to pay 150 baht to hire gear for an hour, but they were pretty flexible with return times, and gave me extra flippers). The scuba diving, snorkelling trips, and turtle sanctuary are probably all good options for keen divers, and easily organised from the hotel.

The hotel was lovely. We stayed in a "deluxe cottage" - not the largest, I don't think - basically a large studio room, well appointed, and a large bathroom, with a balcony out the front. There were larger cottages which also looked very nice, but we didn't see those. The room was clean and well maintained during our stay. There is a nice pool but mainly we kept to the beach - where there were very nice loungers (and by the pool as well). The gardens and common areas were lovely.

Breakfast was delicious, with a good mix of Western and Asian options. Beautiful setting right by the beach. There are two restaurants attached to Le Vimarn - Italian and Thai - and both we thought were excellent (and the Thai was cheaper). There's also a much cheaper restaurant next door at the Lima Coco resort (a charming but much more basic, and slightly shabby, place).

I thought the staff were good - attentive and helpful, friendly, and with good English, without being "all over you" which is sometimes the case at pricier resorts.

The hotel had recently upgraded to free wi-fi, which was a bit patchy but worked better in the common/pool areas than our room. It was hard to be away from the beach in any case!

To summarise this lengthy review - Koh Samed is fantastic, Ao Prao beach one of the best and much quieter than some others, this hotel is superb. An excellent holiday (we were also lucky with flawless weather). This hotel is by no means Thailand's biggest bargain, but if you want to pay a reasonable price for a few days in paradise, it's a great option.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
2.7 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa

Property: Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Address: 40/11 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa is a unique tropical Boutique Resort for an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Clustered on the gentle slope of a hilly cove overlooking a quiet bay beach is your stylish retreat from the world. Supremely comfortable individual cottages all with balconies, some with your own outdoor spa that look down onto a peaceful curved bay of sparkling sea and fine sand. The cottage cluster centers around a superb infinity pool, a world class spa and a restaurant offering a most interesting and comprehensive menu.Le Vimarn attracts sophisticated and discriminating international guests year after year. A dream location that will last in your memory for a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vimarn Cottages And Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages Hotel Koh Samet
Le Vimarn Hotel
Le Vimarn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing