We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beach Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just enjoyed 10 days at the beautiful Sai Kaew beach resort. We were a bit concerned going there because of the oil spill on the other side of koh samet, but decided to go anyway.... Thankfully the beach on our side was unspoilt, beautiful white sand & turquoise water! The hotel staff are very friendly and excellent with kids! We stayed in a premiere seaside room, which was amazing! The rest of the resort is also nice, but the premiere seaside is def. the best, most modern area. Service is excellent & we got nice surprises in our room every day, like flowers, fruit baskets, chocolate... We went out for dinner almost every night, lots of restaurants along the beach, the best one is definitely 'buddies' & the worst the one next to it, as we all got ill there....the hotel restaurant is also very nice, but a bit expensive for thai prices, a curry is about 300 baht....still cheap for European standards! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurrayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    301
    109
    41
    23
See reviews for
156
212
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Premier Seaside Room on 1/F.

We arrived at the pier an hour earlier and we're asked if we'd like to take the speedboat for free. We welcome this offer as that saved us time. The speedboat ride is bumpy. When we got off the boat our pants and feet were wet as there's no platform. The friendly staff helped us carry our luggage.

We have walked along 3 beaches and we found Sai Kaew Beach Resort looked the best. The food at the Zea restaurant is nice... we loved the curry chicken and seabass. Pasta is great too. The breakfast is just so so yet the sea view is really great. Sand at the beach is as fine as powder. Waves are big and people have great fun there. Sun chairs are sufficient.

The room is clean but the floor is a bit worn out. It's hoped that the indoor slippers are available without making request. Don't know why but the electricity, hence, air-con, was switched off temporarily for several times in the first morning. But it's OK in other 2 nights. Wifi reception is very weak and i can hardly download or upload anything from my iphone.

We're lucky that it didn't rain too much during our stay. Otherwise, there's nothing much to do when it rains.

We haven't tried the spa there. We tried the lotus massage at Samed Villa instead. 700B for 2-hour thai massage!! Very comfy!

Motor cycles can be rented just outside the lobby. Taxi can be booked to tour around the island.

Room Tip: Premier Seaside Room on 1/F is better than G/F or the rooms near the gym area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraHoHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked a Premier room for 7 nights. When we arrived it had been raining for a couple of days and we got a room on the ground floor .
When we stepped into the room the damp mouldy smell was terrible! I stayed for about 10 minutes and realized I was going to get sick if I slept in this room. When complaining we got a new room on the first floor without any problems, and it was better. But I would not recommend anyone with asthma to stay here, it still smelled, just not as much as on the ground floor.
The room was big with a balcony. Good cleaning of the room but it looked worn down.The tap in the bathroom was loose and you got soap and shampoo in a dispenser! No conditioner!
The room had an old tv, not that I came to watch tv but still...The balcony had bird dirt on it and wasn't cleaned during our stay.Couldn't sit there anyway because of mosquitoes so bring repellent!
The aircon was effective but made it almost impossible to sleep in the bed placed by the window ,it was blowing to much even if it was on the lowest .All in all I would say that the room was average, still the price we payed was much more expensive than the 5 star hotels we stayed in during our trip in Thailand. But that's Koh Samet! It's an expensive island!
The breakfast was okay, lots of options and the view eating it spectacular. But no coffee serving here , you had to get it yourself, not a big problem but not what I'm used to in hotels in Asia.
Had a walk around the resort and the rain had made the Deluxe zone a swamp!!! Sure glad I didn't stay there!
Now for some good parts!
The staff was amazing! Always a smile and a good talk and kind words. They made us feel speciall!
The Zea restaurant had delicious food especially the thai food and a nice band playing in the evenings.
The beach was lovely and the water amazing, well I could do without the roaring from the speedboats and the smell of gasoline!
The resort invited us to a complimentary thai set dinner on our last night, a very nice touch, thank you!
Beware of the Buddha statue on the road just outside the resort,. We had a look and a monk greeted us, invited us to light candles and gave us some small amuletes. Nice ,until I asked if we could make a donation of about 250 baht and he told us that a PROPER donation was more like 1000 baht! 500 each!
Koh Samet is a national park and I was surprised to see litter everywhere. Not so nice!
Remember that if you book one of the Samed resorts the transport from Seree Ban Phe pier to Island and resort is included. Just go to the pier opposite Tops market where you find the groups office and check your luggage in.
If you're a smoker it could be good to know that smoking outside the smoking zones is prohibeted and you can't smoke on the balcony!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were here just a for a night and should have been here for a longer time. We stayed in the Premier Wing and room are new and everything just working fine.
Air condition take a while to cool down but watch out there might be water dripping from the fan coil unit when it is running for a while. Bed is comfortable and blanket is a bit light and thin.
There are a lot of ants in the room so watch out for food and drink left behind.
I don't expect a luxury from a resort but the price may be a bit over as compare to what we are getting in this hotel.
Food is just excellent from the cafe. Breakfast is crowded but fun! Since it is a relaxing area and relaxing trip, i don't really care.
Nice exercise room over look the pool. It is Singapore School Holiday. Pool area is relaxing but unfortunately we hit a family with a group of naughty kids in the late afternoon even on weekday. They were just misbehave and parents are ignorant. Mess up the whole area and screaming everywhere.
If you are travel in a group, it is worth to pick your own speed boat rather than join the crowd transfer from the mainland to the island. It is FUN!
Fire show at night on the beach is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolVic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is good . Really good . If you can afford stay at premier seaside . If you want little bit of solitude stay at the deluxe bungalows . said that I will draw a comparison between Le vimarn and sae kaew . If you are a couple wanting to be in your own world by the sea stay at Le vimarn . But if you want a quiet place and also sports activities and beach fun , then come to sae kaew . Try to walk on the beach at night and see the other restaurants . These places have good food , and activities like fire spinning . Remember most of these places close at 2200 hrs . Also try the mango cafe at sae kaew .good coffee and pastry . The restaurant and bar at sae kaew is breath takingly beautiful by the sea .i recommend this place highly .

Room Tip: Want to see the sea stay at premier seaside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's my first trip to Thailand. Stayed in Phuket for 3 days, n then travelled to koh samet. This hotel is definitely over priced. We stayed at one of the deluxe rooms by the pool:

– dunno if it is coz of the season, there were ants everywhere, in the room, by the door, the pool, the tables. I bought a piece of cake and went to the shower. when i came out of the bathroom, ants were all over it.

–the room equipments are far from the word deluxe. i can bear the very old tv, since im coming for the sea n beach. Shampoo n shower gel were from a dispenser, something i have only seen in some Chinese motels. There were even no toothbrushes when i checked in and the desk told me it's not standard supplement and i should ask for it.

– i understand all rooms are smoking free. but im not even allowed to smoke at the outdoor porch of my room, but have to walk all the way to the smoking area by the pool. i did not pay for a prison cell, for gosh sake.

– the selection of breakfask buffet is questionable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnlibj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in a bungalow, apparently one of the older ones in the resort. It was very clean and comfortable, and nicely decorated. The food was excellent and all staff were very friendly. The pool-side bar was well worth it! I don't normally stay in large resorts and avoid busy beaches like this one, so I can't compare with similar resorts, but as far as busy, resorty places go, this was OK. The only problem: outside my bungalow there resided a frog that sounded like a fog horn! Whenever it started raining, it would start "singing" and I would stop sleeping... I came on a business retreat, but could see myself enjoying it with my family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
3.0 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#5 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Kaew Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Kaew Beach Resort

Property: Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Address: 8/1 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sai Kaew Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sai Kaew Beach Resort is idyllically situated on two adjoining beachfronts on the northeast coast of Koh Samet. Sai Kaew beach is the most popular destination on the island, having a rustic charm of its own with an active main beach and several smaller ones.Located on the most popular beach on the island, there are ample opportunities For beach sport such as volleyball and soccer;for the sea-going enthusiast, sailing, scuba diving, windsurfing, canoeing and snorkeling are all available. Swim in the resort's pool, or in the warm clean waters of the Gulf of Thailand, or stroll the narrow streets of the small nearby town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sai Kaew Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Kaew Beach Hotel Koh Samet
Hotel Sai Kaew Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing