We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Avatara Resort(Ko Samet)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradee Resort(Ko Samet)
$572
$524
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ao Prao Resort(Ko Samet)
$298
$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tub Tim Resort(Ko Samet)
$64
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveler rating
254
326
118
45
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
326
118
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roomsai kaewpremier seasideolder partlife jacketssea viewpool sidebreakfast buffetthe cottagesother placesclear waterbars and restaurantsinfinity poolrelaxing stayban pheevery eveningsamed island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 767 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is our second visit to his hotel and in comparison to our stay last year, we did not enjoy it as much. This visit, we found the staff to be less helpful, possibly due to the high turnover of guests as most visitors seem to only stay for 2-3 days (we stayed for a week). Our premier room was located around the large pool with the gym above it. I have no complaints with the room itself, although on two occasions, our room was not cleaned as we had to go back to our room at around noon as we have a small child. The breakfasts are a little disappointing, I found the choices quite limited and what was available, was very Asian. The gym is ok, and the pool area could do with some renovations, such repairing some areas of the decking and the tiles in the pool. There is also no smoking around the premier pool area, which is most welcome, however, non of the staff could be bothered to enforce it. Another annoying factor was that guests were using the kids pool as foot washing area before heading back to their rooms.

The beach is not as clean as it was last year, but to be fair, the hotel does make an effort to clean the trash off their part daily. The main thing that I noticed this year was the huge increase of daytrippers visiting SaiKaew Beach. The beach is a great place to be before 10am and after 4pm, when all the daytrippers leave. Otherwise, there are lots of speedboats moored just off the shore and the beach is packed predominantly with Chinese and Russian daytrippers.

After this experience, I'm not sure that we'd like to return to Samet

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chowfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked last minute during a very busy time of the year. The hotel was lovely. We stayed in the premiere rooms by the pool. The hotel is nicely designed and made to feel smaller than it actually is. There are a number of different pools for the different types of accommodations so it didn't feel too crowded despite being packed.

It is a pricey hotel and the food is expensive by Thai standards but not by upscale hotel rates and at least everything we had was very good. One night the restaurant got slammed and people were waiting quite some time for food. People were not served at the same time which, given the price is not ideal but I am thankful they got the food for our young kids very quickly. All our other eating experiences at the hotel were very good.

They keep their beach very clean. The rooms were impeccable but what really made this a great stay was the quality of the staff. They went out of there way to make us feel welcome and make sure we had every thing we needed. They are extremely child friendly as most places in Asia but the affection and kindness they showed was outstanding. I want to give a particular shout-out to the assistant to the GM Khun Nikom who was in a league of his own.

Two things we which we wish we had known before our arrival. More advance notice of the fact that the Tuesday of Songkran the local port town has a huge festival and closes down. We had to leave early and lost half a day. This would have likely not been a problem if we had booked directly with hotel vs Agoda site. The other is arriving at Songkran, we didn't realize the transfer was in open trucks and local kids dumped ice cold water as we were passing. Fortunately our camera/kindle etc were fine. My two year old was taken completely by surprise and was traumatized and bawling for ages afterwards. A word of warning would have been nice or at least made sure the small children rode in the cab behind driver where there were some seats vs giving that to some adults and putting us on the back. But again, this is Thailand, it is Songkran so with hindsight not surprising.

We would happily go again and highly recommend this place for people with small children.

Room Tip: I've read the bungalows have a lot of mosquitos. We were in premiere rooms and were quick to enter and exit to avoid letting them in. We saw some other seasoned asian travelers bring mozzy killing spray and spray around their door going in and out. A tip I'll definitely follow in the future.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cordelia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We enjoyed our Stay at Sai Kaew beach resort during the Songkran (Thai New Year) weekend. It was our first visit to Koh Samed. Stayed in the Deluxe Cottages in the old part of the resort. The cottages were clean, well maintained.

The area of the resort is a little bit unusual because there are roads crossing near the entrance and other facilities that I do not think belong to the resort. The staff was professional and eventhough they had lots of people check in in at that time, I think they did a good job. The beach is beautiful and during our stay the waves were pretty strong our kids had a blast. We ate at the Zea restaurant several times and we had good service and good food. Similar with the breakfast buffet. A couple sang during the evenings and it built a nice atmosphere. Also visited the bakery which had great smoothies, coffee and croissants. We also went to the Spa for a foot massage and they did not have a problem taking all four of us.

Sai Kaew beach resort has a great beach location. They changed our sheets every day and provided enough clean towels as well. We enjoyed our stay at Sai Kaew Beach Resort. In our way in we took the boat from the Hotel but it did not go directly to Sai Kawe BR. We had to take a taxi to get there, it only took 10 mins. On our way back to the main land we took a speed boat directly from Sai Kaew BR. Did not experience swarm of mosquitoes as I read in other reviews.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the cottages. They are a good value. Basic, comfortable and have all you need plus you have access to the newer part of the resort as well.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ortiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a high quality resort compared to other hotels on Koh Samet. It's more expensive but wourth the price difference. The facility has free wifi, but this works best i the lobby area and the new flats by the trainingcentre.
The staff is polite and friendly, but missing towels, toilettpaper and coffie-bags gives a minus on the service score.
They serve a great breakfast with lots of different food. They also have custom made omelets :-)
If we come back, I think we will chose the same resort again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamar_Tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Got to Koh Samet after being on paradise Island Koh Kood, and felt like coming to a big city. People everywhere. Arrived by speedboat to Sai Kaew Beach, but had to walk half the beach to get to our Hotel with heavy luggage.
Check in was very ok anf fast. We got a drink and wet cold towels to wash up while checking in.
We had booked a premium pool side room, but the room we got was on the first floor with no privacy. Contacted reception, and finally got a room on 2. Floor. Good job :-)
Room is ok, but little outdated but had everything we needed, included a more private balcony than the 1floor has.
Breakfast also Ok. A lot to choses from, but the bacon they had was not good. Tasted old....
The Hotel is 5 minutes away from the main street in Koh Samet. Lots of bars and restaurant, but also a lot of people and vehicles. The area is extremely dirty with trash all over the island. Why do not the Thai Goverment do something about this? this is a problem in Thailand when a place gets popular, and the mass turism sets in....The only place on the island that was really Ok was Ao Prao beach. The 3 Hotels on this beach was very beautiful, calmed and relaxed. Beach similar to Sai Kaew, but with crystal clear water.

Positive:
Big resort, on the main beach on Sai Kaew. Resort also has a second beach called pinapple beach. Sai Kaew beach has very fine, white and delicious sand :-)
Big breakfast, with a lot to choose from.
Complementary water in room every day.
Quick check in / check out
Good sunbeds on main beach
Very clean Hotel area.

Negative:
Staff not interested in giving service. Most of the time they ignore you. This is not how we know Thailand. There was one man in the main restaurant that was there during happy Hour. He was the only person that really cared about the guests.
Overcrowded and noicy beach, very bad the first days due to Big Buddah Weekend.
Very large Hotel.
Smoking not allowed anywhere...not even on the balcony. Smoking areas here and there.
Pool area is not very inviting, and very few people used it. Also no smoking around the pool....
2000bath fine if you are cought smoking outside smoking areas.

This Hotel is OK for those how seek to be along lots of pepole on the beach, and being close to parties. For families with children, also, since there are some calmer places on the Hotel. The Hotel itself looks spectacular in the reseption / restaurant area, with some nice features. Rooms in superiour OK, but could need some upgrade. First time in many years I have seen an old TV :-)

A tip:
Please use the outside showers before going to your room :-) the sand on the beach and Hotel area are so fine that you will bring a lot of it into the room.

If you really go for this Hotel, please upgrade to Superiour Seaview if you can afford it. This area of the Hotel looks very nice, and with a nice pool area also. Very close to main beach.

We will never go back to Koh Samet, mainly beacause this island is very populated and dirty. The people living here is not as inviting as other places we have been in Thailand. Island is extremely dirty with rubbish piles all over the island, and rubbish heated by the sun SMELLS!

Could be great for thoses who likes to party in a tropical island, not for us.

Room Tip: Superiour Seaview rooms are the best. Own nice pool, close to beach. Superiour poolview also OK, but no privacy on main floor. Good for thoses who have children maybe since you can see the pool. Second flor gives more privacy on balcony, espesially the corner rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews