We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pad thai I've eaten”

The Funky Monkey Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Located in heart of the village of Koh Samed, next to 7/11, the national park entrance, and 2 minutes walk from Had Saikaew, The funky Monkey brings you the finest Thai, international and fusion foods. We pride ourselves on high quality food, with only the freshest ingredients, the finest cuts of meat and NO MSG used in our food. We have a large vegetarian menu and we pride ourselves on customer care too. You will be greeted with a friendly smile from our staff who make make you feel at home and welcome at the Funky Monkey. If it's just drinks from the bar, why not try an ice cold beer, fresh fruit shake are one of our delicious cocktails, whilst soaking up the atmosphere and listening to the fine music. We have free wi-fi for customers and show live sporting events from around the world. Not forgetting our very competitive low prices and happy hour from 13:00-18:00 daily, what are you waiting for? Hope to see you soon, you won't be disappointed…..
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best pad thai I've eaten”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Read reviews which where mixed re service & food , got to admit was a tad slow for drinks but hey ur in Thailand everything is at a slower pace , it's not the end of the world. I chose the chicken pad thai which was probably the best I've had hubby had the pork steak which was lovely. Prices are very good . Chatted with the owner , nice guy and very helpful. Will deffinatly be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowbelly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    78
    40
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“gross food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went here after seeing reviews, JESUS CHRIST IT WAS AWFUL... Lemon chicken was watery and pale, and tasted so vile we had one mouthful and left the whole dish service was terrible, there was about 5 Thai people in there all on mobile phones, took about 20 mins to go in the fridge and get our cokes. Then the yellow curry which we ordered which was a chef's recommendation, was basically an extremely average korma. gross. hardly ate anything.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannahpeacekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We have visited Koh Samet 5 times and have never found a better place to eat. We now have breakfast lunch and dinner at Funky Monkey and have eaten our way through most of the menu. We've had two birthday parties there organised by the owners which were perfect. The location is great and cocktails to die for. A great place to sit and watch island life go by. Can't wait to go back next year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank weeble69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“BEST PAPAYA SALAD EVER”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely restaurant with excellent choice of dishes. The chef cooked me various delicious vegetarian meals every day and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Well situated near a beautiful beach and the National Park. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“garlic calamari +++”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

i normally don't go in for seafood but the garlic calamari here is great. it was above my price range but i still ordered it about 3 times during my stay. the staff here were very kind and talkative. i wish this place was a chain.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wintermute87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Funky Monkey Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to The Funky Monkey Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing