We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun”
Review of Baywatch

Baywatch
Ranked #17 of 35 Restaurants in Ko Samet
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Thai
Restaurant details
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The help here is fun and more attentive than many of the other restaurants. Out problem was that whatever we ordered to eat, they were out of.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EMS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had dinner here on our first night in Koh Samet. Nice to chill out with a beer while the kids slept on the bean bags provided. Food was reasonable, but the pizza 400THB (8GBP) was small and not "great" as it was advertised. Stick to drinks or BBQ here and you'll enjoy it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crafty_B_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly service & good food.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Baywatch is the place to go, especially if you want to be able to have a few drinks of an evening, as this bar is the last to close!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basrah Province, Iraq
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It used to be great, but not anymore.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I decided to write this review because Baywatch is mentioned in many reviews of Koh Samet as the best place to go on Ao Wong Deuan Beach. There was a time when that was true, but not anymore.

I'd been to Baywatch last year and found it to be a really nice bar, with great, friendly staff and with arguably some of the best steaks in south east asia, let alone Thailand. It also did really good seafood as well as great Thai dishes.

The people whom I had been there with last year and I pitched up for a reunion, looking forward to a repeat of the great nights and great food that we'd enjoyed immensely on our last visit, only to be severely disappointed.

Baywatch is under new management, and it's not good.

The food was terrible, the service was awful and in a very short while we realized why we were the only people in the place. Word is obviously starting to get around about the abysmal fall in standard at Baywatch. We paid our bill and moved on down the beach.

I'll not go on about all that has gone wrong there, just suffice to say that there are plenty of bars stretched along the beach, some of them great, some of them good and some of them not so good, but all, I am sorry to say, are better than Baywatch.

It's really very, very sad to see such a great place, with such a great reputation, fall so far.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baywatch also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Baywatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing