We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Ploy Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Ploy Sea
Ranked #4 of 55 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I liked this hotel, close to the Pier for transportation and a great place to relax. Its far away enough from the hustle of the main town (10 min walk). we had sea views, a private beach and not many tourist business going on around the hotel.

The info online does need updating, as there is no longer a floating deck restaurant on the sea. As a consequence, a new restaurant is being built next to the hotel. Sadly we did have to endure a team of carpenters hammering throughout the day for 12 hours. Not ideal when relaxation is required.

The good news for future visits, there will be a new restaurant next year.
The Team at reception were very welcoming. (Ammy was very helpful).

The rooms are great, perhaps they are dark but I found the dim lighting to be cosy and relaxing after a day in the sun.
the whole place is clean and new, I like the ambience and style of the place (even though I dislike the colour orange, it works).

Breakfast is good and efficient service too.

If you book online with a travel site, its a good idea to research times of 'Samed resorts' free ferry.
This is the hotel companies own ferry service that takes you to the pier close to the resort. We had taken the bus to Ban Phe and took the main ferry.
On return to mainland, the Hotel and ferry staff were most helpful, including a car to the Bus station.

This is a great place to stay. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nickgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The only possitive thing about the hotel was the suite room we were staying in,It was clean and spacious. But TV only 3 channels working just 1 in english and no WIFI in rooms as advertised.The breakfast is terrible and the location very poor with a dirty beach.well over priced and woyld not stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Baan Ploy Sea is a beautiful place in a great location just meters from the edge of the water. The property incl the rooms are very stylish.
We booked the place because of it's quiet location, it looked very much like a retreat on paper. And that's what it was for the first half of our stay - pure bliss!
Until a large family (around 20-25 people incl a bunch a small kids) arrived and COMPLETELY took over with whistles, screams and boozing most of the time. From then on the pool was out of bounds and all the other guests we had previously seen, disappeared.
We would definitely stay there again, but only if it can be guaranteed that there won't be a group...

Room Tip: Room 201! Upstairs with endless sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaMariaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Like someone else that had reviewed this resort, we were hoping to Stay at Ao Prao. But we failed to secure a room, so we gave Baan Ploy a go... And super glad we did. Mainly because it meant we got to explore another part of the island, rather than just the nicer part which we eventually stayed at.

It was close to the village and plenty of 7-11s for us to stock up on water and I do love that woody feel of the rooms.

Do be careful about the prices the hotel quotes for activities. Snorkeling, motor bike hire, massages were all much more expensive if you got it through them..., so dont. It's worthwhile taking a stroll and asking around. There are plenty of places offering these services. Especially massages..., we found a nice place in the village which we loved.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which we enjoyed. You had a balcony looking out into the water which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyY393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel has a magnificent location... If you like a sea vista. It has mo beach and is no good for lounging by the pool. It's a quiet property with magnificent views from the restaurant ( in the sea on stilts)

The other thing is that the rooms in the main block are small and not too comfortable The view from the first floor suite in the main block is superb you can get this for 3-4000 baht a night. The views from the sea villas, accessed by boat from main block are also great, but priced at double or more.... at that price, you can find better value elsewhere

Service at the hotel is poor, but service at the restaurant is great. Food is average. There is no
room service in the main block worth the name but the main drag is an easy walk and an even
easier cab back, and motorcycles for hire are cheap and plentiful. Cab from BKK is baht 2000 return for 1500.

Room Tip: The best value is the first floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rathin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This resort seems to be rather the 'Cinderella' of Samet Resorts - the company that seems to have tourism on the island of Koh Samet pretty much stitched up (quite a large number of the island's resorts, ferries and diving schools as well as other activities seem to be run by them).

The Baan Ploy Sea is situated away from most of the more popular resorts on the north coast of the island, next to the jetty where one of the regular ferries comes in. There are two sections to the resort - one by the beach, where most of the rooms are; and the other built on stilts in the water about 100m from the beach, which consists of the restaurant and the posher rooms. You reach the 'offshore' part of the resort by a flat-bottomed boat pulled by a cable (you ring a bell then you need to cross and the boat gets sent over - all rather quaint!).

Things did not get off to a good start, however. We'd booked a package, which specifically included a room with a sea view. We were actually given a room at the side of the building where you had to crane your neck for any chance of seeing the sea - all other rooms being occupied we were told (but the lack of people at the place belied this). The resort offered to change to room the next day, but frankly the alternative room wasn't much better - very dark and only a small balcony overlooking the pool (beyond which you could see the sea). We asked about availability on the 'offshore' section: there was no difficulty with that as there seemed to be no guests there at all. However the rooms were nearly double what we were paying. After some haggling, we managed to get a discount, and decamped to a much larger 'offshore' room, with a very nice view (we were right over the sea after all) and a large decked area outside with tables and benches, which we had all to ourselves for the whole stay.

One disadvantage of the 'offshore' rooms is the proximity of the jetty, which means you may be woken up by the revving of the ferry and assorted motor boats from about 7.30am and the evening peace can be disturbed by luxury yachts being hauled ashore (for what reason we weren't sure....).

The rooms are spacious, and we had a separate dressing room and bathroom, which was a plus; but only two coat-hangers were provided (which seemed to be standard issue in all the rooms) and there were not much in the way of cupboards to store things in.

The restaurant provided good food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live fish swimming in large plastic basins, from which you could choose you preferred catch for your meal. If you don't like fish, there's not much else on the menu; but it was very well cooked!

The tables in the restaurant at first looked very low indeed and we wondered how we were supposed to sit at them; until we found that the floor under each table had been cut away, and you ate dangling your legs over the sea, where you could watch shoals of fish swimming about through the table's glass top as you ate. The fish devour any scraps of food that happen to come their way!

Service at the resort was friendly - we were served at dinner by a rather statuesque lady-boy who was very attentive and helpful. At breakfast (which seems to alternate between a buffet and ordering off the menu, depending on how many guests are in), we did encounter some communication problems with a couple of the waitresses who seemed to speak no English whatsoever. Fortunately the receptionist was there to interpret!

Being at the 'wrong' end of the island does really mean you need transport if you are going to get to any of the other beaches - unless you want to rely on the 'bus' service (actually open-backed trucks which looked very uncomfortable!). There is a scooter hire place at the resort right next door (300 Baht a day), but be warned, once you get beyond Samet village and into the nature reserve, the road is a very bumpy, potholed and gullied dirt-track, and you need to be fairly adept at avoiding the worst crevasses and staying upright. A better bet - though a fair bit more expensive - is to hire an ATV (All-Terrain-Vehicle or quadbike) which deals quite effectively with the road's worst excesses, especially in the south of the island, where it becomes less road and more assault course. But the beaches in the extreme south are well worth having your bones shaken up a bit! The resort charges 1,700 Baht for hire of and ATV, which is quite a bit more than you'll be charged in the village, (where you can hire the most basic model for at little as 800 Baht), but then they do bring it to the door and take it back for you!

Overall, we enjoyed staying at Baan Ploy Sea, if only because the other resorts looked quite crowded and noisy. At least we had the place pretty much to ourselves, apart from the odd invasion by parties of Chinese tourists, who mysteriously vanished after staying just one night, it seemed! The place could do with sprucing up a bit (some of the decking is becoming quite warped), but that didn't spoil our enjoyment. There's nothing much basically wrong with this place, the staff are friendly and try hard to please, and altogether it makes a good base from which to enjoy Koh Samet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 'offshore island' are much better and quieter than those in main resort - thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel-Gordon-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the first impression arriving at the pier, the staff at Samed resorts were friendly, attentive and welcoming. The transfer by ferry took about 25 minutes and unlike others who then had to travel further to their resort, Baan Ploy was just a 3 minute walk down the beach.

It may not seem like the most convenient location as the beach is not the prettiest on the island, but the motorcycle hire is right behind the resort and is very reasonably priced with fuel included £300 baht per 24 hours) which allowed us to make the 5 minute trip up to the main village to get access to the main beaches and restaurants. Personally we prefer the quieter more laid back vibe at Baan Ploy as opposed to Sai Keaw. There is also a little store and laundry shop next to the hotel.

The place itself is stunning, we loved the original design and the rooms were always immaculate. One complaint - the sun loungers really should be changed, they do not fit in with rest of the hotel and look cheap for what your paying, but that's a minor point! But saying that, we spent little time at the hotel during the day for this reason and because we wanted to explore the other beaches which got more sun later in the day. Ao prao bay accessed by taxi is stunning and quiet, just watch out of the sea urchins!

In regards to food, we only ate at the restaurant one night and a lunch time but the food was excellent. Deep fried squid and the green curry soup were highlights - and all reasonably priced. As others have mentioned, you ring a bell at the main land for the boat to take you to the restaurant. It sounds like an inconvenience, but was always quick and the end view you get while you eat your breakfast on the ocean is worth it.

We couldn't recommend this place highly enough, but think it should be an adults only resort - it does not seem fit for young children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timmykerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.9 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
0.3 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 46 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Ploy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Ploy Sea

Property: Baan Ploy Sea
Address: 84 Moo 4, Phe | Ao Klang beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Ploy Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Ploy Sea, One stylish and unique resort in two different feeling; 7-villa built on stilts in the middle of the sea and 16-room offers the comfortable retreat on the lovely fine sands of Ao-Klang beach. A total of 16 rooms, ranging from 2-Deluxe room, 12-Deluxe Seaview, 2-Beachfront suite. FREE HOTEL SHUTTLE BOAT FROM/TO RESORT(For hotel guests only) From Seree Pier mainland : 11.00 Hrs., 13.30 Hrs., 16.00 Hrs. From Koh Samet : 10.00 Hrs., 12.30 Hrs., 15.00 Hrs. **Please stand by at Seree Pier (hotel pier) 20 minutes before shuttle boat time. **If missing the shuttle boat, extra cost of a private speed boat will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Baan Ploy Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing