We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I was expecting!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking holiday resort
Pattaya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than I was expecting!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Last minute booking on a thai holiday weekend meant literally every hotel room on the island was booked, and we stayed here because we couldn't find anywhere else. Tripadvisor reviews were awful, but as it turned out, it's not that bad, especially if you can get a room for a cheap price, I'd say they are worth about 1400 baht. The beach is lovely, with rock pools to poke about in, a bit different from the usual. Very laid back, by no means luxurious, only 5 or 6 resorts spread out along the beach but I liked it, and vongdeuan is a short walk away if you want more choice. Rooms are clean if tired, food was fine, very good service, hotel has a artificial beach area which is handy when the tide is in. Overall, I thought it was a good 3 and a half stars worth, just don't expect anything more than a nice but basic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazzooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

stayed 3 nights at 3000 baht a night with my thai wife and 2 children,she was not happy with the room,dirty,staff couldnt understand her and she is thai,food very expensive,bar shut at 9.the shower you had to run around in to get wet it was that slow.the balcony banister was loose,so dangerous for the children.very dissapointed.dont bother,go next door to the ban thai sangtian resort,better cheaper rooms.the only plus about it was the sea, beach,even though small and the sun.

Room Tip: look around
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

ayutthaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed one night and the staff and most things seemed nice at first glance.. BUT the room way over priced and not that clean for 2500 Baht. 2nd We had a problem with are free breakfast included.. Very selective!! and limited on what we could order or drink, cheap food if you ask me . 3rd and WORST of all!! WE WERE STOLEN FROM!! 1000 Baht from my bag as well as 1000 Baht my friends bag. 2000 Baht was stolen all togethert and nothing was done about it.. Even after speaking with the manager about what happened, nothing was done! Very poor staff willing to steal when they clean your rooms..Go next door to Talay Guest House for a real beach bungalow and 1000 Bhat cheaper!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yingAyutthaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Arriving at the pre-booked affair, disappointment is the first word that springs to my mind. Don't these people have any decency, i.e. can they throw their garbage just a LITTLE further then their front door ?
Beach bungalow ? Excuse me. A bungalow just next to the staff toilets. Beach, you said ? A concrete affair.
Now, if at least the staff would be pleasant ...
Go elsewhere, there are plenty of options.

Room Tip: Avoid the place altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.0 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#5 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banthaisangthain Resort
Banthaisangthain Resort
#18 of 57 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sangthian Beach Resort
Sangthian Beach Resort
#15 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban Khiang Talay
Ban Khiang Talay
#8 of 57 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking holiday resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking holiday resort

Property: Viking holiday resort
Address: Ao Sang Tien, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing