We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and relaxing - and the best beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banthaisangthain Resort
Ranked #18 of 57 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Authentic and relaxing - and the best beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a week in the low season, and had a great stay. However, it's difficult to rate the resort, as it is very dependent on your preferences. My plan was to relax, relax and relax. Let's say it this way;

1) Area: Great, quiet and a 10 min walk away from the more touristy beach. The area, with a dozen resorts and small restaurants (I highly recommend Jelly Fish - walk 200 m south/turn right out from the resort's beach side), is a bit more authentic than the ones at the beaches further north. Santhian Beach resort, a few steps to the north, is not a bad (nor cheap) place to eat. Nevertheless, the resort's own beach is the nicest I found on Ko Samet with hammocks and white sand. ATM, mini mart, massage and (not disturbing) tour operators nearby.
2) Rooms: Difficult. I had a sea front room with two bathrooms, and had a good time (cockroach on the bathroom, btw), but if you have a room further back you might feel a bit pissed off. Standard is ok, wifi slow (and turned off during bad weather).
3) Resort facility and service: Ok. Nice "garden" and rest area, but the nearby areas tempted more. Service ok, but the rooms were not cleaned during my week, although new towels, toilet paper and water were given.
4) Ko Samet in general: Ok for a few days (maybe a week if you, like me, want to get away from everything and just read your book), but my advise is to stay away from the northern beaches. Much better further, but not too far, south, and for sure best around Banthaisanthian. Forget about hiring a moto, as road standard is like a third world country. Boat trips in the area are ok, but a three hour tour is enough. Don't miss the sunset from the viewpoint near the hotel, and remember to check out the yelling frogs during the evening.

And one more thing; all the waste floating in the sea, at the roads and in the back yards is a shame for Thailand.

In total, I had a great stay, and I recommend it if you want a quiet and non-fancy down to earth place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of three who stayed here nine nights. This was just after the oil leak (on the other side of the island though), so we could see that there were fewer tourists on the island than normal. As for the oil leak... there are no signs of that. The beaches are beautiful, sea is good and we had a lot of spectacular seafood. So no worries - just go!
Ok, now the resort. We had a huge apartment, ditto bathroom and two balconies. Friendly and helpful staff, that will welcome any request - just ask.
The resort doesn't provide breakfast but there are plenty restaurants nearby that do. There's a beautiful private beach at the resort that we pretty much had all to ourselves (it might not be like that in high season). We rented an ATV a couple of days and explored the island and can say that this resort has the best beach.
This is a rather quiet area so come here to relax and recharge your batteries. Then take a ATV, motorbike, pickup taxi... if you want to go to the more busy villages/beaches. My wife took the padi open water course in Ao Phai and was very happy with the instructor (Udi).
Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Location is excellent if you prefer a quieter spot, but there are enough small bars and restaurants within a short walking distance to make this a comfortable stay.

Rooms however are a bit small and becoming dated with some minor maintenance issues. We stayed in the Deluxe Room and expected a bit more for the premium paid.

WiFi signal was weak and difficult to connect, so avoid if this could be an issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived by speed boat in the evening 9pm (dont be put off by the Ferry times for 2200 Baht we had a private speed boat take us direct to the Hotel beach) staff met us on the beach and carried our bags to the rooms.

Hotel is in a beautiful area away from the busy and noise night scene, and rooms are comfortable. Dont come here for luxuries, come for peace, quiet and a beautiful and romantic setting. The hotel does not offer food, and the internet was not operational during our visit however next to the hotel, 10 metres from the door of our units is a restaurant by the beach which offered food from breakfast to dinner as well as drinks served on the hotel beach and free wifi.

Swimming pool is the sea and right on the door step. There are a number of restaurants within an easy walk along the beach or there is the option of a taxi to the busier night life. However be warned the roads are very very rough and taxi is the back of a pick up, expensive at 700 baht return and you will understand when you set off!

Had a great time and a hotel I will be returning too, great and safe bathing for children

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

50 meters from the beach, 100 meters from the massage place and delicious Thai food cafe. Quiet and simple place. Free Wi Fi. Cleaning the rooms and changing the towels upon request. Rooms for 3 persons available. Many other cafes around and small shop. You can go to the neighbor beach, 10 min of walking. Speedboat going to the main land for 250 baht. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_Sannikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.8 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
1.0 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banthaisangthain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banthaisangthain Resort

Property: Banthaisangthain Resort
Address: Ao Sangthain, Phe Ko Samed, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banthaisangthain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banthaisangthain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing