We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place though not a 'resort'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Villas Resort
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place though not a 'resort'”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I mainly liked this place cause it is quiet, cosy and that it is almost next 'door' to the pier (saves on transportation). The rooms are a little small but I guess if you spend most of your time in a room while on this island, what are you here for! On Samet you either walk or hire a bike so actually it really does not matter where you stay as long it is a decent place and decently close to the main beach (it is a 10 minutes walk from this property). And yeah the view from this hotel is an added plus. Note that I was staying during the low season so the boat traffic to the pier was not too much. Some of reviews here mention that you can't swim because of the rocky sea front of the hotel. Parts of the front are rocky but I saw quite a few guests taking a dip in the ocean. The price for this hotel was one of the lowest I saw on Agoda so two thumbs up for that too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
69
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
thailand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed at this 'resort' for 2 days in early November 2013. The 'resort' designation is misleading since Sunrise Villas is NOT a traditional resort: there's no swimming pool, no included breakfast, no fitness center, so spa....all the amenities that you would expect from a real resort. However, if you are looking for a place to sleep and spend some time during your stay on Samed (Samet) island, then this is a reasonably priced hotel with nice view in a convenient location. The room are rather small - just large enough for a double bed, a very small night table, a small fridge and a clothes closet - but the view is spectacular. The view is seen through the sliding glass doors, which form one of the 4 walls. The glass doors are tinted so they provide some modicum of privacy. However, the "Sunrise" in the name is misleading since most rooms are oriented to the north - so you can see a bit of the sunset on your left or a bit of the sunrise on your right - but do not expect to see either sunrise or sunset from your room!! The room shares a small porch with another room - there's a small table and 2 chairs on the porch where you can read or have a drink - and watch the boats go by! It's also equipped with a hammock - however, you must move the table and chairs in order to hang up the hammock.

The beach front where the 'villas' are located is rocky - so there's no chance of swimming there. You must walk 10-15 minutes to the beach and restaurants.

The reception area is not staffed regularly - there's a sign with a phone number that you must call for the receptionist to show up. If you are a traditional tourist without a local phone, I would not know how you could attract the attention of the receptionist. When she does show up, the receptionist (Ms. Nuu) is very friendly, efficient and speaks English very well. She can provide you with a map of the island as well as help you book boat and other tours.

One minor problem I encountered: the water is yellowish in color. I learned later that it comes from a reservoir on the island (I do not know the source of the reservoir water!) and is treated with chlorine. I would shower with this water but I would not brush my teeth with it. For that I used the 2 complimentary water bottles.

Sunrise Villas itself has a restaurant (NOT operated by the resort but contracted out - I did not eat there since I never saw any diners there during my stay.) You should shop around for restaurants. Some of the cheaper looking restaurants without view charged very high prices for ordinary items like Singha beer (150 baht for a large bottle - the simple excuse was a shrug of the shoulder, accompanied by the statement "this is Koh Samed!"). The nice, clean restaurant right next to the new pier (Samed Port) offers very nice view of the ocean - and yet charged only 120 baht for the same beer.

If you have not operated a motorcycle before, I would NOT recommend renting one on Koh Samed - the roads are pretty rough, muddy and hilly. If you want to explore the island, you should rent one of those 4-wheel drive ATVs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiacentury2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked 3 nights thru agora on the back of a few positive reviews. I wanted to leave after 3 hours. This place is right next to the main jetty servicing koh samet. Noisy, nothing of note nearby, semi industrial. There is no beach. Only rocks. Half of the room appointments listed are non existent. I had to crawl over rocks to get to my room. Dangerous. I paid $110 for three days. Checking out asap. Absolutely prepared to blow the dough to move on.Only redeeming fact. The staff member was very nice.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonySelf, Owner at Sunrise Villas Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Sorry to hear that your initial impressions of Sunrise Villas were not positive. Yes, we are near the pier, but many of our guests see that as a convenience. It can get busy but only between 8:00 to 18:00. All our rooms are a few metres from the sea, but nowhere do we advertise having a beach. Nor do you have to crawl over rocks to get to any of our rooms. Staff may have shown you a short cut but please be assured all rooms are serviced by well-lit concrete pathways with handrails. An 85-year-old woman recently stayed here. The room appointments we list are aircon, hot shower, free wifi, mini-safe and a fantastic seaview. You had all those.

As you can see, this is the first of 36 reviews we have found it necessary to reply to but we felt it important to clarify those points. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We are glad that you decided to continue your stay with us and wish you well on your travels when you leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First of all i just want to say that the rooms and the views are 100 times better than the online photos. We stayed in villa 5 and 6, which was far from the construction and had uninterrupted view of the sea. The location is right next to Nadan pier, so we just walked from the boat and didn't need any taxi. Ten minutes to the left and you are in the down town and ten minutes to the right and you are a nice quiet beach. There is a seven eleven a hop and a skip from the hotel, and plenty of taxi come up and down.

The internet was ok, not always on, but still good enough for facebook or youtube.... the owner was there and apologized, saying that it was due to the construction. And after browsing the hundred or so channels on the TV we found only 2 or 3 English speaking channels which were all about news... no entertainment. Also one of our villas was spotlessly clean, while the other had some severe molding around the sink. Also when the staff cleans the room, they do not change the sheets just simply fix them, I don't know if this is common, but I've never experienced it before. The do change the towels and provide 2 bottles of water a day.

Over all the staff is very nice, speak good English, and the restaurant on site has very friendly staff, who is willing to accommodate your taste buds.

While i would recommend this hotel to others, I would not recommend it for families with small children. The steps to the villas are steep, and unlit, and the veranda has no railing, and there are lots of sharp rocks and sea shells around. My god daughter tripped and scraped her knees pretty badly, as well as my friend, who fell on the steps and twisted her ankle.

Also each villa is paired with another so you share the balcony/ veranda... and thankfully we were together otherwise it would have been really weird to relax on the hammock next to a complete stranger, or to hand out my undies and bathing suite to dry right in front of the neighbors door. So i would not stay here unless i was occupying two adjoining rooms.

But overall it is a great value, hot water, AC, a small fridge, complimentary water bottles daily, friendly staff, and a breath taking view... what more could you want?

Room Tip: Definitely villas 5 and 6, or 4 and 3.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitaipriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubeda, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Compared to many other places on the island, Sunrise Villas is well priced, it's very clean, and it has an amazing view. I really liked the setup of the bungalows, they're perched on the rocks looking out over the north coast of Samet towards beautiful mountains. They have hammocks on each porch for you to enjoy the view. Be aware that this resort is right next to the main ferry pier. It's a great location for accessibility but in the same respect, you get a lot of noise from the boats. I would definitely stay here again because of all you get for the price. AC, clean rooms, comfortable beds, hot shower, beautiful view, friendly staff, and a neat little bar right on the water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Right on the water, check. Wifi in room, check. Sound of waves as I lay in bed, check.

As noted in previous reviews the bungalows are simple, but they are fresh and clean with hot water and new air conditioning units. Close to the pier means there's something interesting to look at as the boats come and go (they stop at night).

This is my second trip to Koh Samet. Previously I stayed at Vongduen Resort. It was nice, and the beach was beautiful, but my room wasn't right on the water (100M away). Worse, there was no wifi available in the bungalows so I had to go to the reception area, put in a code (each time), and sit there to use the slow wifi. Sunrise Villa has reliable and speedy wifi, and in talking to the manager I learned what it takes to provide it. Basically, to try and keep a good connection on the island they have to pay for three providers. One of the owners, Tony, is a retired IT professional and it shows. Chris the manager couldn't have been more helpful. I'll return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

At first i wasnt very convinced but after one night i liked it a lot. Huts are basic but with comfy beds. Each of them have nice terrace overlooking the sea. They are situated just by the pier, 5 minutes walk, even not. They have little nice restaurant with lovely food. The staff if very helpfull. They are only missing the beach as the one in front of the huts has no sand, just stones. Close the door at the evening as there is so many lizards around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieSmoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.0 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#6 of 47 in Ko Samet
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pandora Resort
Pandora Resort
#2 of 47 in Ko Samet
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villas Resort

Property: Sunrise Villas Resort
Address: 36/1 Moo 4 | Nadan, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Villas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't miss the view at Sunrise Villas Resort. No matter which room you are in you have the magnificent view of the rocky shore looking across to the mainland. The resort is located adjacent to Nadan Pier along the North Coast of Koh Samed. The smartly furnished, air-conditioned rooms are all fitted with wardrobes, fridges and mini-safes with tiled flooring and a private veranda that overlooks the gently lapping waters of the rocky beach. All rooms have private bathrooms with shower facilities.The resort provides access to the internet via it's free Wi-Fi service. The resort can also provide laundry services and a barbecue area.The waterfront bar and restaurant serves authentic Thai and western dishes. A breakfast menu is also offered there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunrise Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing