We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh - nice views, but noisy and over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Villas Resort
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh - nice views, but noisy and over-priced”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pros: near the tourist pier, nice views of the harbour
Cons: near the tourist pier, on the main road

We had a partial-view bungalow.

View was nice enough, but didnt make up for the room itself - which was right next to the road, so every time a car drove past it sounded like it was headed for you.

Room didn't seem particularly clean. Only light in the room wouldn't work for first two nights. No TV, although thought was supposed to be included. Boyfriend ordered a sweet and sour pork from the kitchen which he claims is the worst meal he's had in a long time.

Room Tip: Avoid anything that backs onto the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellieJeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
70
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Due to our budget we could only stay on koh samet for one night and this place really hit the spot!
The villas were beyond our expectations, clean bathrooms, air con, fridge, tv (although we didnt use it) huge balcony with a hammock!
The view was amazing and it's on the more secluded bit of the island which we liked but some might prefer to be nearer the clubs.
You can eat sitting inches away from the sea next to the cute restaurant shack, it's very atmospheric. Although to be honest the food isn't quite as good as some of the other places on the island. But the staff are very friendly!
It's near a 711 as well and close to the pier without ruining the views and secluded feeling.
We had a really great night and would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zozocrazymofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent more then a week there and had a nice stay, Chilled out place with walking distance from the village with bars, restaurants and 7-11. They have a nice little bar themself just by the ocean with cheap prices for beer and food. ( Also good for squidfishing a local guy told me).
I want to give credit to Micheal who fixed all for me.This guy gives you better service then some 5 star hotels I stayed at. Thumps up Micheal!

Also they have the cutest cleaning lady in Thailand working there, and thats never wrong:)

Room Tip: Room nr 12 has good karma, and is close to the bar:) Also if you are super drunk and return from oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for just over a week after changing from another hotel we originally booked. We changed to Sunrise due to a recommendation from another guest we met staying at sunrise villas. The rooms are simple but clean with TV and fridge (excellent when its so hot!) and the highlight- glass double sliding doors facing out the ocean for fantastic views from the room. Each has a balcony with seats and a hammock. There is a bar and lounge area too on the rocks. The staff were great during our stay especially Michael one of the management (who is English and speaks Thai) - nothing was too much trouble and he was really so helpful. We loved it so much we extended our stay! Deffinately recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrOinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in October and it was wonderful. The view from my room was wonderful, on the front porch, there is a hammock and I spent a few hours just sitting there reading. This is a small beach bungalow hotel, so it's nothing fancy, but a great place to rest after a day at the beach.

I had no issues at all with the room or bathroom. It's also not a far walk from the pier, which made it easy to come and go from the island. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main beach, but I enjoyed it. It gave me a chance to see the town. It looks like a lot of the hotels on the beach are right on top of each other, and I imagine that as high season approaches, a place like Sunrise Villas will be a nice escape from the crowds and the noise.

A+! I hope to make it back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyanatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visited Sunrise Villa with a friend, rented one room each and hit the town.
I had an accident my first day there, and the assistant/functioning manager Michael, a really outgoing nice guy from britian went out of his way to help me get around the island, get medical care, and was pretty much at disposal 24/7 - really made my experience a great one, despite the fact that i was reliable on crutches from the second day of my stay (another tip - dont go swimming in the beach at night, theres big rocks and there hard to see..)

The rooms where equivilant to hotelstandard in Bangkoks four stars - aswell as a nice view of the sea from your villa.

Also got my own watchdog laying outside my room every night after I went to sleep, seemed generally loyal to customers and was a nice addition to my experience.

Would definetly recommend anyone looking to relax on the islands to check this place out. Just DONT SWIM AT NIGHT ;).

Room Tip: If your two people living in seperate rooms, I recommend 11 and 12, since they have one common stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay if your travelling to Koh Samet. When you arrive its close to the pier so its easy to get to. Plus it's right on the beach and the views are spectacular. The staff and owners are really friendly and helpful. On my last night they invited me to have dinner with them and did not charge me. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.0 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pandora Resort
Pandora Resort
#2 of 47 in Ko Samet
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#5 of 47 in Ko Samet
51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Villas Resort

Property: Sunrise Villas Resort
Address: 36/1 Moo 4 | Nadan, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Villas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't miss the view at Sunrise Villas Resort. No matter which room you are in you have the magnificent view of the rocky shore looking across to the mainland. The resort is located adjacent to Nadan Pier along the North Coast of Koh Samed. The smartly furnished, air-conditioned rooms are all fitted with wardrobes, fridges and mini-safes with tiled flooring and a private veranda that overlooks the gently lapping waters of the rocky beach. All rooms have private bathrooms with shower facilities.The resort provides access to the internet via it's free Wi-Fi service. The resort can also provide laundry services and a barbecue area.The waterfront bar and restaurant serves authentic Thai and western dishes. A breakfast menu is also offered there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing