We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST if you are on Koh Samet!”
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Ko Samet
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Thai, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Home-cooked food. " It's all about sauce".
Rayong, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A MUST if you are on Koh Samet!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Roger and Nood have it covered!

If you want Thai food... Nood will prepare excellent dishes for you. If you want great Farang food, Roger has your back. Vegetarians will fare well here too. Not always so easy to find great options when travelling.

When you have settled in and ordered, the owners will come by and chat with you and make sure you have everything you need. If you want company, you will have it! Rogers is a great conversationalist (providing you speak English) and Nood is Thai.

You can't help feeling you have just had dinner with great friends because... you have. Be prepared for a long night. You won't want to leave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    96
    28
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A must visit!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food and amazing workers. You'll feel right at home, which is a nice bonus. Y'all need to come! ;)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tausha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best food on the island!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was def on our top 3 restaurant on the island! which I can say it was the best, number uno!!
Everything was perfect, since we stepped in, the waiter was friendly, the food was excellent, we had chicken satay for appetizer, then ribs and chicken breast with mushroom! The satay sauce I can tell it was the best ever! The owner/chef sat down and had a drink with us in the middle of our dinner...he got a interesting story to tell and we got a chance to meet his little princess :)
oh and don´t forget to make some room for the dessert, brownie :)

We wanted to return the other day for lunch but they were closed for weekend plus monday! (it was full moon weekend plus budhad day).
Well I guess thats what call "island life"! Close the restaurant whenever they want! :D

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelindaCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, good banter”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After spending a week on Koh Samet going to the traditional eateries on the beach, last night we decided to go to Red Ginger, which is about 200 yards away from the beach. We were welcomed warmly by Olly, our waiter who was excellent. The food was simply the best we have had on the island and Roger, the owner, clearly cares about quality- from the food to the music! Roger, his family and Olly all were great fun and contributed to an enjoyable- if somewhat different- evening! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“very good to eat and chat!!!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

i got a bit tired of asian food after several months of traveling, so red ginger was a welcome change for me. the salads there are really nice and definitely something you don't get so easily in asia.

the owner is a very friendly and talkative chap, happy to share with you any information you'd like to know.

for me red ginger is a very welcome change in a place where otherwise only one menu seem to exist! definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing