We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend this place”
Review of Red Ginger

Red Ginger
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Ko Samet
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Home-cooked food. " It's all about sauce".
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I highly recommend this place”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Altough we couldn`t get a Mai Tai in Thailand ?? we decided to stay for dinner.
Roger was witty and fun and the food was very good. The mashed potatoes was super and we would have returned if we had stayed longer.
A bit expensive but well worth it.

But Roger, please change T-shirt....... it was a bit too unfresch .... :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tussemaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    96
    28
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and Great company”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I definitely recommend stopping at Red Ginger for dinner. I got to have dinner with the owner, Rodger, and he was great. His wife is Thai and she home cooks the Thai menu options so they are a must order. So good, I went there both nights I was in Koh Samet!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckyanatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good ribs”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Friendly and relaxing welcoming. The owner is Canadian and he does very good "farang" food. We tied the ribs and his wifes fish cakes. Both very delicious. The price is upper range but we think it is worth it. We also tried his brownie for dessert. It was the best dessert we have tried in Thailand so far.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Eating now at Red Ginger!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I thought I have to say this restaurant serves good food, excelent service, it is very clean. This is the topping on the ... Ko Samet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“going again and can't wait!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

nothing much to say apart from the most delightful evening, still feel warm inside from the food and service. its rainy season so very quiet around the place. an absolute pleasure to relax here. music perfect, food perfect. if we only eat there without trying anywhere else on samet i would still be completely satisfied.
will go there for lunch tomorrow mmmmmm:)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank g p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ginger also viewed

Ko Samet, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Red Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing