We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In general, I like this place, however..........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vimarn Samed Resort
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago for second time, and to be honest, I'll probably stay there again.
It's nicely situated on the end of the cove and away from the bustle of the beach bars, but less that five minutes walk from them.
The room are nice if a little careworn, but the aircon works, they're clean and have a nice feel to them.
My only problem with the place is the breakfast. It's not great, although quite edible. The main issue is that it finishes at 09:30 !
Now, I don't know about other folks, but when I'm only holiday, I like to be able to have a bit of a lie in if I want to, and having to set my alarm clock to be able to make breakfast before the buffet closes is a little annoying to say the least.
Having said that, there are plenty of options for having a leisurely and late morning repast all along the cove so it's really not a huge issue, but I suppose the main thing that annoys is the feeling that the hotel sees then breakfast service as a necessary evil to be just gotten through as quickly and painlessly as possible.
I'd suggest to the hotel management that if this is the case, then give people a room only option with an appropriate rate. At the moment rooms can only be booked on a B and B basis.

Other than that, I love the place. It's reasonably priced, nicely situated, and the staff are nice and friendly if a little linguistically challenged.

If I go to Koh Samet again, I will be booking in here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miket97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my first trip to Thailand to visit my son who resides in Bangkok. He made it plain there would be 3 adults sharing. When we arrived there was only 1 double bed and we were told another "bed" would be brought up to us. What arrived was something akin to an old stained judo mat, and equally stained bottom sheet, one pillow and a kind of fleece thing with a hole and iron burn on it, the lot was dumped onto the floor and left. I tried sleeping on this but ended up sleeping on the edge of the double bed with my son & partner.Non of us got any sleep at all. In the morning I took the burned "blanket" to reception and pointed out we had paid for 3 beds and at 60 I was not going to sleep on the floor. We were offered a family seaview room with a loft bed.Better but half the light fittings were broken, wires visible, bits of the walls repaired with sellotape.The place could be lovely but its rundown, the staff try hard but I guess the owners are not really interested in investment or training. We ate at other places further along the beach because one meal arrived still partly frozen. Photos give the impression of top class accomodation be prepared for some disappointments.

Room Tip: Rooms on the topmost balacony are a challenging climb not the place to be with small children or old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I couldn't really rate Vimarn Samed as Very Good, but Average seems a little low - it is somewhere in between. The staff were generally friendly, except for one guy who was setting up breakfast and looked totally flustered. Some staff are Cambodian, and once we realised this it made communication a little easier (as we speak a little Khmer and absolutely no Thai).
The hotel is on a rocky outcrop in between two beaches. Basically, you need to not have hugely high expectations for Koh Samed. It is close to Bangkok, which makes it really convenient, but it is not like the islands further south with their pristine beaches and fantastic snorkeling off the beach. But it is a nice place for a quick break. We only had two nights there, which really meant only one full day, but it was a nice day with some okay snorkeling near some rocks at the opposite end of the beach and seafood for lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant is okay, although we only had the free breakfasts and one other meal there. Food and drinks are much cheaper than Bangkok, which was a relief because $3 beers in Bangkok were depleting our budget. But there are other restaurants on the beach that are also good.
The rooms in the hotel are nice. If you wanted to be awfully picky you could whinge that there was a tiny bit of mould in the bathroom and quite a few mosquitos, but it isn't the hotel's fault about the mosquitos and the mould is barely noticable. The shower is fine and the bathroom clean. The rooms are quite small, but you don't spend much time in them so it doesn't matter. Beds are good, not too hard and not too soft. And the balconies attached to the sea view rooms have a nice view.
Basically I would recommend Vimarn Samed, even though I have only scored it a 3. This is because it isn't ridiculously expensive and if you are there for a quick getaway from Bangkok, then you probably aren't going to be in the rooms much anyway.
The only things that I would suggest could be improved is that they have huge plasma TVs in the rooms, with 200+ channels, but absolutely none in English (I would probably not bother with the TVs at all), and they cranked up some really loud pop music when we were eating at the restaurant, and we were the only people there. I guess I would've preferred to listen to the waves.
So in summary, quite a nice place, most staff are friendly, and good if you just want to get out of Bangkok but don't want to pay too much.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blixicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've stayed there for a night on a weekday, so the resort was quiet with not so many guests. If you arrive on a different beach, you'll have to travel on a bumpy road to the resort... which wasn't so pleasant. About the place, the view was great, food ok, service ok. Not good if you can an exotic nightlife, but if you're looking for a relaxing vacation, then this place is recommended :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissVxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This could be a lovely hotel the room was comfortable but furnishings now a little tired. The room and balcony needs some TLC restaurant furniture also needs painting or tidying. Breakfast is ok but there is limited choice.There are no safes in room or safety deposit box at reception either which is a minus too. However the view from our balcony was amazing, the beach was lovely and the sea very warm.

Room Tip: A sea view room is the best. No twin rooms so if you need 2 beds you have to book duplex bungalow, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Booked superior room as needed twinbeds. The room clean and looed out to sea. Duplex means up steep ladder with matress on floor. Duplex floor had its own air conditioning which was new and effective. Light switch at opposite end to bed.
Balcony furnirure and dining furniture in need of some T.L.C. No safes in room or at reception.
Staff will transport luggage across sand to taxi rank. Breakfast average.
Sun loungers in need of cushions but pleasant to sit on jetty and look out to sea.
Maid service late in day. Very hard matresses.

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

In spite of sending an e-mail to arrange transfers from Bangkok we got no response and it is not exactly easy to get there. While other hotels on this beach have their own ferries this place gave us no help or information about getting there. The last bit involves a long and arduous trek with luggage which is pretty difficult as it involves trying to drag your baggage through loose dry sand. The staff though helpful when goaded is not forthcoming. A tad overpriced for what they offer. We had what they call superior rooms, and still wonder what they were superior to?
We must however say that in spite of all this we had a pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: If you stay here make sure you get the sea facing bungalows. Though overpriced they are the only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayantRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vimarn Samed Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vimarn Samed Resort

Address: 13/18 Moo 4 A.Meung Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Price Range: $56 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vimarn Samed Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vimarn Samed Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing