We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tub Tim Resort(Ko Samet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avatara Resort(Ko Samet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
56
72
55
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
72
55
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe hillside roomprivate beachreggae barquiet paradiseroom was clean and comfortableenjoyed our staythe beach is nicegrand viewbreakfast buffetfront officebig bathroomthai foodother parts of the islandextra bedbeach restaurantstayed nightsban phe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 210 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This place has gone downhill dramatically - don't spoil your christmas or break like we did wasting time with this terrible place. We booked via agoda for a 3 adult room and arrived for christmas -room shocking and the bed was a old dilapadated camp bed for the third person- and then the room full of mosquitos and a lovely old turd still in the bathroom toilet.
Staff totally not interested even though we reflected that this was our forth time there -essentally place run by kids now - no senior managment.

No service at all , the staff just stand around playing and hugging each other and picking god knows what out of each others hair, the beach was dirty - full of glass and even the sea full of building debris obviously they could not be bothered to take any of it away hence just walked in a dumped it.

Outside the place there is a massive rubbish site and it stinks - there are dogs running about the place and even we had three snakes in the gardens - great for a 7 year old safety ehh.

The staff are crap and the manageress this morning told us "dont book by internet, I do you special deal next time, we thought your foreigners!!!!'

Well at 80 quid nearly 4000 baht a night - would be better if the surly , lazy, arrogant staff stayed alone in their "hotel" , the only time they moved was to play volleyball with each other and then mess around with a brush which had 3 strands attempting to shift loads of crap that had landed on the beach.

Forget it - stay anywhere bar this place - a disgrace to Koh Samet !!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel that is vagely interested in looking after guests
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here for one night with my husband. I was initially impressed by the beach front location, cute swings, lounge chairs, and individual villa style rooms with beach views and front porch. However, upon entering the room, I was disappointed -the top of the shower area was see through ( plastic cover i think ?) so I could see the dirt/leaves accumulated from the weather. The bathroom itself was also very dim, even with the lights turned on. There was barely any water for showering on the night that we stayed, service was minimal.

Although I would prefer to stay somewhere else next time, I actually really enjoyed my experience here. The location was peaceful and relaxing, with a small and quiet beach. I really felt like I was on a secluded island far away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

If you are looking for night life, entertainment, and luxurious accommodations, however, I would not recommend Ao Cho Hideaway.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank joujoujade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We arrived by speedboat from the mainland (about £25 each way) and were dropped on the beach and waded ashore. The Ocean View bungalow was pleasent enough and very peaceful. It was was cleaned each day by grumpy cleaners and it had a TV, Kettle and decent air con. The beach was clean and fairly quiet and ideal if you are looking for a peaceful holiday. We did the hotel facilities a bit lacking though with any chance of eating over by 9pm. The next beach is 10 mins walk and we found it a little more viberant in the evenings with the chance to eat a bit later. The breakfast was served on the beach in a buffet style and offered very little choice with either rice or noodles, eggs and ham or frankfurters along with a small choice of fresh fruit. I was alarmed by the way the frankfurters and ham were left in a try with no heat or ice to avoid any problems and I suggested that the butter would be better kept in iced water so as to avoid pouring it on the bread. My wife eat the breakfast on day 4 and suffered severe food poisoning and she was really ill for 24 hours vomiting violently which obviously spoiled our stay. We also found that most of the staff were young and from Burma and quite honestly, could hardly smile a good morming each day and provided some of the worst service I have ever come across which is down to the training i guess as clearly the management consider it OK to treat paying guests with such indifference. We did go for a trip and found that once you leave the resorts and travel inland a little, the full extent of how filthy the island really is becomes aparent. We were horrified at the rubbish and lack of respect for the environment the locals seem to have and also the lack of infastucture. Its all about a fast buck and giving very little in return. Whilst the beach and room were quite nice, we wonr be returning to either this hotel or the island of Koh Samet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliotssleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

It is very difficult to find a reasonable priced, clean resort on Ko Samet and Ao Cho Hideaway proves the point. The bungalows are well located and have a lovely sitting area out front. They are comfortable and clean inside though not especially large. They would definitely be worth 1500 baht on an average Thai beach in the south, but the problem is that Ao Cho Hideaway charges 3000 baht for these simple air con bungalows. It is outrageous until you realize that most other places on Samet also overcharge and they are still full every weekend and publuc holiday since the island is just so beautiful and close to Bangkok.
The staff is terrible here, most of them are Burmese immigrant workers who live in filthy shacks right behind the resort. It's really no wonder then that they never smile, don't communicate well and are generally just incompetent. The owner of this resort should invest some money and hire at least a few properly trained staff, but I guess this is too much to ask. The food is terrible here, especially the free breakfast, which is hot dog sausage with egg and imitiation juice, or imitation ham with egg and juice or leftover rice in chicken broth. Mmmm.... I know this is standard in many Thai guesthouses, but I am paying 3000 baht, the same as Evason Pranburi in low season (check my review) which is a 5 star resort with 5 star food and facilities, also on the beach.
Only stay here if you cannot find any other place on Samet as its only redeeming future is its excellent location, between busy Wong Deuan and lovely Tubtim beach.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Ao Cho Hideaway is a good place to stay on Ko Samet. Staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable with AC and hot water, the food quite good, and the gardens beautifully landscaped. The bungalows are on a quieter part of the island which is great for evenings, and during the day, and yet not too far from other parts of the island to try other eating spots. The sand is white and clean, and a speed boat can get you from the mainland to the beach in about 20 minutes. It's also a fairly easy and inexpensive commute from Bangkok.

One difficulty was with the reservation process which requires submission to their bank account rather than use of a credit card. This makes the process a little more difficult, particularly for those not based in Thailand.

Overall our family was very satisfied with the hotel and would consider staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews