We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and noisy”
Review of Baan Puu Paan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Puu Paan
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and noisy”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at baan puu paan and was greeted by the noises of building work taking place directly next door. We asked the manager about the noise saying that it would stop at 8. Needless to say when eating on the pier at 9.30pm the banging of building work was taking place. Having eaten at summer restaurant many times before the food as always was exceptional but the service was dire. We ate on the pier and granted it was a large party for a friends birthday it did not excuse having to wait over an hour for food which had been forgotten, having to get staff to take drink orders and general lack of courtesy towards paying customers.
We had booked several rooms at the hotel and we stayed in what was described as a deluxe bungalow with no air con, hot water and certainly no peace and tranquility thanks to the building work. The shower/ toilet room was old and needs refurbishing and it was certainly not worth the price.
The next morning after being woke at 8 by the building work, we could not find a member of staff to get a drink. Finally at about 10 we spoke to the manager and complained about the room, no apologies were offered suggesting that we had in fact been informed about the building work. We hadnt and I had spoken to them on 2 previous occasions when booking and making arrangements for our friends birthday.
To say that it is western owned is very disappointing.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
1
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We read the reviews here and it sounded nice the food, the friendly owner. On arrival at the port of Koh Samet, you take a tuktuk to this property, you must sometimes wait a few minutes. It is not too far in the tuktuk, but would take 20-30 minutes by foot. We arrived and it was a beautiful spot, overlooking the Thai coast and the glorious colours and clear crystal sea. There was only 1 room actually over the sea, we were expecting Maldives type huts, inside the room was spartan but tidy. Well it is only a pension type house, we told ourselves. Right next to our room in a small grassed area there was a huge pig , wow was it stinky during the day ! We asked for a different room very politely, the scottish lady owner told us to "[--] off if we didn't like it". We were very shocked. In the evening we ate at Baan Puu Paan, the food was quite poor, not at all Thai, the dishes sounded nice on the menu, mixed vegetarian fancy meals missed in with British pub food. The lady owner was there, she was very drunk and so were all her "friends". Not what you expect in a paradise island. We decided to leave early the next morning, although we didn't have any problems with false "breakage' claims like other people have had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We booked five nights here at the end of our honeymoon as a get-away after reading reviews on here and in Lonely Planet. It didn't disappoint.

There is a beach but it's not wonderful. And that's the only negative thing I can think of to say (apart from bring some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper as the waves lapping against the bungalow can disturb you - didn't bother my husband but woke me everyday - what a life if that's the only complaint aha).

It's a ten minute walk from Na Dan pier and around fifteen minutes to Samed village and twenty to Ao Phai beach (the prettiest in our opinion), so you're close enough to the action should you want it, which we did some days, and it's a pleasant walk with beautiful scenery.

However, the selling point of Baan Puu Paan is it's isolation. The views are breathtaking, across to the mountains of the mainland and the peace is something I'm unable to describe sufficiently in words. Lazing on our veranda we often felt alone in the world, which was exactly what we wanted.

The room was decorated in a nautical theme which was a sweet touch, and was perfect for our needs. Very basic, but that just adds to the tranquillity.

The staff were amazing, couldn't do enough for us but never felt intrusive, they make this place even more perfect.

The restaurant is definitely worth a visit even if you don't stay, best food we had the whole trip, and we ate a LOT.

Room Tip: Room 1 with the massive veranda is ideal for lazy days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angilinaballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We visited Koh Samet in August reluctantly but looking for some good weather in Thailand during the rainy season - research told us that Koh Samet was the driest place in the country in August an we were lucky to get 5 rain free days! Gutted we didnt find Baan Puu Paan sooner, after reading online we had decided to head to the busier beaches on the west coast but when eating our lunch one day Lizzie handed us a flyer and the dishes coaxed us up to the restaurant for dinner that evening. The setting for dinner is lovely, especially if you get there just before sunset! My boyfriend and I enjoyed some lovely prawns, scallops an the biggest mussels I have ever seen whilst sitting on the pier over the ocean! (Only suggestion might be to put some music on out there - our experience was disturbed by a group of Americans joining us and spoiling the peace....perhaps even a live guitarist or something might make it even more amazing!) We thought Lizzie was lovely and she was massively helpful booking trips for us an taxi's etc. There is no beach as such at Baan Puu Paan and admittedly in the daytime without the water below you its not quite as spectacular, however we stayed in room 4 and as we went on a boat trip the next day we didn't spend much time there in the day! All in all great food, great hosts - the staff are all so polite and wonderful an above all the most amazing location!

Room Tip: The middle hut overlooking the water has aircon, the other 2 dont they just have fans but this was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KW123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Eight of us ate at Baan Puu Paan last Saturday night. Everything was fantastic from the atmosphere to the food. The food was the highlight of the evening. The 20 year old chef knows his stuff. The presentation was phenomenal and the food just melted in our mouths. We all ordered something different and had a taste of each others dishes. This is the best food we ever had and we will be back. T.Igoe Lopburi, Thailand

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TommyIgoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My Thai wife and I stayed here for 7 nights recently. Our little bungalow over the water was outstanding and the staff who were running the place ( the boss was away overseas) are a real credit to her. Sitting on the deck of our bungalow supping a gin and tonic , watching the tide come in and the sun go down was an experience we shall never forget .Very romantic.
The restaurant on the wharf served up exquisite food , no complaints. Please try it.
All in all I can happily recommend Baan Puu Paan. See you again next year.

Room Tip: pick any of the 3 bungalows over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jono2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Found this place to be a bit of a hidden gem. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the menu was varied with western and thia food available. The hostess Lizzie was very entertaining and took time to speak to all of the guests. I had no time limit but ended up staying for a month. I will certainly be back some time this year on my hunt for "smugglers cove' . The last thing i remember is a glass of red wine. thanks again to Lizzie and all the staff. Stevie the baker xxx

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kivo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Samet
0.1 mi away
Mooban Talay Resort
Mooban Talay Resort
#10 of 55 in Rayong
91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Resort
Pandora Resort
#2 of 47 in Ko Samet
144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Puu Paan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Puu Paan

Property: Baan Puu Paan
Address: Ao Noi Na, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Baan Puu Paan Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing