We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting bathrooms, smell of sewage, dirty rooms and crappy service! All in all: TERRIBLE.”
Review of Saikaew Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saikaew Villa
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have just returned from Koh Samet, and staying at saikaew. We were travelling in a group of 4, and after our original accommodation on the island was double booked we decided to stay here as it was close to the beach and an ok price.
However, it was probably the worst room I have ever stayed in.
The lack of cleanliness is inexcusable, there were stains all up the bathroom walls (which were tiled so should have been easy to clean) the shower plug stank of sewage, and the bathroom even flooded, I'm guessing because the drains are so blocked, resulting in sewage water all over the bathroom!!!
The rooms were dark and dingey, and you could hear every footstep of the residents upstairs!
Beds were reasonably comfortable, but found dodgy hairs in the 'clean' sheets!
We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and had a drink one afternoon, the service was terrible, like we were invisible and took ages to take our orders, the food was okay but definitely not worth the wait.
The beach is okay, but we found dirty and smell of sewage with lots of rubbish in the sea.
Our stay resulted in us leaving abruptly as we couldn't stay a day longer!
DO NOT RECCOMMEND!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank graceyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

The saving grace for Saikaew Villa is its excellent location. A 5 minute taxi ride from the main pier if you are coming by the inexpensive ferry, close to the shops and restaurants and right on one of the best beaches in Koh Samet.
This is our second stay in 2 years. The first was fine but this time around it was a mixed bag. I agree with the negative reviews. Our rooms (4 traveling) were at the back of the resort. 700bt per night . One of the rooms smelled very bad. We complained but all they did was spray the room with air freshened. After the 2nd night we asked to be moved even if it meant paying more. We were shown 2 rooms near reception. They were 1200bt p/n with aircon and hot shower. No unpleasant smells and much better inside. We took the rooms. Rooms 412 and 414 if anyone is interested. Our overall experience improved. The staff installed a new water heater in the shower which surprised us. Only ate in the restaurant once. My rice took 20 minutes to arrive after the curry!
Would I stay here again? Only if we got the rooms we wanted, otherwise we might look around for other options.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have stayed here on many occasions and because of this we are always given a discounted rate by showing a reference number. Last year we had a great room in a new block at a very reasonable cost. However this year was a different story. To say the room was basic would be an understatement, the room didn't seem to be clean and the bathroom was disgusting. We were by the courtyard area and the early morning motorbike noise was an efficient alarm clock. When we arrived we hoped to see the man who often works on reception, instead we were greeted my the same miserable woman who just isn't bothered and an attitude that stinks.

The location is superb however and if you opt for one of the nicer rooms then the place is ok hence our previous visits. By Thai standards this place is expensive for what you get. Didn't go for breakfast as we know from previous visits that it was poor. The rooms that we had last year had doubled in price ??

Such a shame as the location is excellent but thats no excuse for ignoring basics. The owners here need to address the overall condition of the basic rooms. Oh as a tip when booking accommodation on the island you will nearly always get a better rate by booking at the resort and not and the Rayong ferry terminals.

Room Tip: Much more expensive are the 'New builds' but still overpriced for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I guess the review of this place depends on budget because this resort had several room styles. We were on a budget, so we got a three person room. It was very basic, 2 queen beds, 2 fans. Luckily, the weather was cool, so the 2 fans were adequate. The location is very nice, it's pretty much located right as you enter the National Park area, right on the beach. The cheaper rooms were tucked away in the back and the only way to the beach, instead of being steps away, was to walk through the middle of the resort.The restaurant is ok, there's definitely better food throughout thailand. Also, be aware, service is slow paced. For drinking on the beach if you're on a budget, I would suggest buying drinks at 7-11 and bringing it in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enc429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

the beach is the thing here, but the villas are adequate and quite a nice place to stay. good breakfasts, with lots of optiions and walking distance to anywhere else you want to go...has aircon which is nice for a pleasant rest or sleep.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony and not too far from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This place is right on the beach, but so are dozens of other hotels on Ko Samet. It's painfully expensive for what it is, and not terriblely comfortable. Most of the rooms seem to lack King beds. Does anyone besides your grandparents sleep in twin beds these days? I can't think of one compelling reason to return to this place, or one reason to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank carrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

OK, it was Songkran (Thai New Year) and Koh Samed being so close to Bangkok gets very busy during these days. We booked our room via friends and when we arrived we were assigned to room 325, which is way at the end and in the backside of the "resort". Disgusting, Ladies and Gentlemen! It smelled so bad that it made me throw up. The Toilet smell was everywhere and the windows were so old that you could not close them. This room was very small and the bed was old and hard with Linens full of stains. Discotheque was right behind us and they played music until the wee hours and stopped around 0430 am. My son, 3 1/2 years old, slept OK but I could hardly close my eyes.
The next morning we got another room at the Main House, which was much cleaner and had Air Condition. Of course it was 50% more but worth it. We settled in and stayed, since we previously decided to leave if we wont get another room.The Staff at the Restaurant there are extremely lazy. We travelled with friends and were all together 9 people incl
3 kids (3-13). Most of the mornings we spent on a big table, reading the paper, having Breakfast and playing with the kids. It took them over 4 hours to clean the table and get rid of the breakfast plates. Service was very slow and I had the feeling that we were rather disturbing them in their peace and pace. Every morning at 0900 am large groups
of Russian Day Visitors came to the beach. While these folks were nice and easy they also blocked the entire beach and all the chairs. Even we were guests of the "resort" we were not able to get a few chairs for ourselves.

Beach there is nice and clean (despite the rest of the island) and there are lots of interesting spots during the night. Kids were fascinated with the Fire Shows and the Fire Work, which was nice and presented every night after sunset. Prices are OK and Food is good too, if you know what you want. We spent 2 evenings at Tony's, a German Guy,
who runs a small place at the Northern Part of the Island. He has the best Western Food and offers great services.

While Koh Samed is only a 2 hrs drive away from our home in Bangkok, I never liked the place and if we return we wont stay at Saikeaw Villa again. I am not posh but I like it clean, especially during a hard earned holiday.

Room Tip: stay away and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RALFBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vimarn Samed Resort
Vimarn Samed Resort
#17 of 20 in Ko Samet
100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sangthian Beach Resort
Sangthian Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Ko Samet
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saikaew Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saikaew Villa

Address: 59 Moo 4, Baan Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: $78 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saikaew Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saikaew Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saikaew Villa Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing