We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$34
View deal
Vio.com
Agoda.com
$32
View deal
Trip.com$49
Etrip
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
2
12
25
22
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2
12
25
22
12
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 73 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2011

OK, it was Songkran (Thai New Year) and Koh Samed being so close to Bangkok gets very busy during these days. We booked our room via friends and when we arrived we were assigned to room 325, which is way at the end and in the backside of the "resort". Disgusting, Ladies and Gentlemen! It smelled so bad that it made me throw up. The Toilet smell was everywhere and the windows were so old that you could not close them. This room was very small and the bed was old and hard with Linens full of stains. Discotheque was right behind us and they played music until the wee hours and stopped around 0430 am. My son, 3 1/2 years old, slept OK but I could hardly close my eyes.
The next morning we got another room at the Main House, which was much cleaner and had Air Condition. Of course it was 50% more but worth it. We settled in and stayed, since we previously decided to leave if we wont get another room.The Staff at the Restaurant there are extremely lazy. We travelled with friends and were all together 9 people incl
3 kids (3-13). Most of the mornings we spent on a big table, reading the paper, having Breakfast and playing with the kids. It took them over 4 hours to clean the table and get rid of the breakfast plates. Service was very slow and I had the feeling that we were rather disturbing them in their peace and pace. Every morning at 0900 am large groups
of Russian Day Visitors came to the beach. While these folks were nice and easy they also blocked the entire beach and all the chairs. Even we were guests of the "resort" we were not able to get a few chairs for ourselves.

Beach there is nice and clean (despite the rest of the island) and there are lots of interesting spots during the night. Kids were fascinated with the Fire Shows and the Fire Work, which was nice and presented every night after sunset. Prices are OK and Food is good too, if you know what you want. We spent 2 evenings at Tony's, a German Guy,
who runs a small place at the Northern Part of the Island. He has the best Western Food and offers great services.

While Koh Samed is only a 2 hrs drive away from our home in Bangkok, I never liked the place and if we return we wont stay at Saikeaw Villa again. I am not posh but I like it clean, especially during a hard earned holiday.

Room tip: stay away and go somewhere else.
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RALFBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were in Koh Samed during the Christmas week which is the peak season. We booked this hotel online and were not expecting a posh room with sea view.

But when we reached the place and saw the room, the room was so close the beach..it was almost on the beach itself....we even had the side view of the sea. Ofcourse the view depends on your luck and which room you get.. the room we got was very close.

The breakfast nothing to write home about, but the waiters were lovely.

The hotel staff at the reception needs to learn how to talk and smile to the customer. they were the serious lot i have a ever come across... especially in a land of smiles..these people were a disappointment

Apart from that the room itself was a decent one for the price we paid and the view of the sea was a bonus.. it is close to all the night time bars and restaurant..except that at the time we were there it was too crowded..it is located in the most popular and crowded beach of koh samed

I would recommend this hotel to others who like being in the middle of all the happening night spots.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrews N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Had the first room off reception. A little cramped but the price and location were terrific. The reception staff are not the friendliest but the waiters are fantastic and the food at the restaurant terrific. Eating dinner on the sand is a nice touch too.

The room only had a fan but overall it was not uncomfortable. we had no bugs, which was not always the case in Thailand

Be wary that there are tons of dogs that just roam around. They are all harmless; too hot to do anything else!

Breakfast in the morning does the job and is tasty. The beaches on Koh Samet are lovely.

I recommend. I know there are some rooms built in the woods; not sure I fancy that with all creepie crawlies, snakes etc. but we had a seaside room in the main building for a week and all was good.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had the first room close to the see and very close to a water tank that was filling all day and night long. No way to get a rest with this engine sound. No window to open. Darkness. Never has a smile from the reception staff in 4 days. Not ever a "thank you" or "you are welcome". Don'ts ask them to look at you when you are talking to them. I guess they are waiting the guests to tell them: "thank you for letting us to be in your hotel". You can get this warm welcome for just 70 US $. No breakfast. And if you order it, the next day you won't.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HerrPeterBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We arrived with no booking for 2 nights and found the receptionists uninterested in helping us. I needed 2 rooms together as we had children in the other room. We checked the rooms out first. I don't mind roughing it! I've done it for years but when you spend 700 baht for each room and it's dirty with no aircon it's a bit over the top! The shower was cold which again I didn't worry about but hot water would have been nice. The only good thing was the location on the main beach.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TP1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews