We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquito”
Review of Jep's Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jep's Bungalows
Ossett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mosquito”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Although we were warned about the Mosquitos we still underestimated what we were up against, the place was nice but in the jungle so please prepare. The food was excellent both the inclusive breakfast as well as what is ordered off the menu, the staff are nice enough, Take a torch though because as in many places here the electric is known to go off REGULARLY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSmith_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    35
    27
    26
See reviews for
20
54
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a backpacker room which was cheap 300 B. overall, the island was a dump but this review is for the accommodation only.

Pros- surrounds are relatively pleasant if you can avoid the death stares from the staff members.

Cons- the floor had wood look Lino stuck down with band aids (seriously!), because it wasn't stuck down properly it was really dirty. The walls were dirty, the floor looks like its never had a mop, and the windows don't shut (Mosquitos are bad on this Island). Shared bathroom was average in cleanliness compared to the room.

The absolute worse thing though is the staff! They were so cold you could almost freeze standing next to them. No smiles, no helpfulness and They seemed to think they were doing me a favour renting me that room.

The whole of koh samet is like an old English seaside town but in Thailand. It's run down, tired, and most the people who work there seem short of a few. Give it a miss is my advice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anikad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We were at Jep's Bungalow for 4 nights in June 2013. It's off-season and the whole island isn't very crowded. The price of Jep's Bungalow is really fair compared to other accommodations on the island. The breakfast, which was included, was good and beside Thai dishes several Western dishes (Pancakes, French Toast etc.) were offered.
Our Bungalow was just around 25m away from the beach. As the whole area of Jep's Bungalow is not located at the main beach, it was overall quite and we enjoyed the time at the beach.
During our stay of 4 days our Bungalow wasn't - even once - cleaned so that it was very sandy at the end.

(Be aware of the uncountable mosquitos.)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AvonF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and daughter for 4 nights at beginning of April! We stayed in a family bungalow which is down near reception area, so very handy indeed!
Rooms are basic, so as long as your happy with that then there should be no problem, we weren't there to sit in the room so we didn't mind at all!
There was an air con unit in room but it wasn't amazing but at the same time we wouldn't have been without it! There was also two fans over each bed with were very welcomed in that heat!
Bed was very hard,so I took blanket off bed and put over mattress and slept with just duvet cover over us which made the bed a little more comfortable- also pillows were a little hard (and I'm not a fussy person)
Besides that- location and price was excellent! Staff were very friendly and helpful! We availed of the laundry service which was 80baht per kilo (approx £1.70) and dropped to reception in morning & was back the same evening!
The bungalows are on one side of a road/lane/dirt track which are what the roads on koh samet all are and just across the narrow road is the beach bar/restuarant/breakfast area!
Breakfast was a good choice of food from French toast,pancakes, cereal, Thai food, fruit,yogurt,toast,croissants, fruit juice, tea and coffee. We were very happy with the choices available! Food in the bar area was great and fab prices too, the menu was extensive so there sure to be something to please everyone!
The beach was beautiful and the sunbirds/parasols were 30baht per person as Long as you used the jeps ones on left hand side as you face the sea, the ones on right (nearest bar and jeps bungalow sign on beach) are 100baht per person as they are privately owned!
We ventured over to other side of island to watch the sunset which was lovely- well worth a trip, it only takes about 5-10 mins and cost approx 200baht in the pick up truck taxis, the resort on other side of island in ao prao is beautiful and we had lovely cocktails (they have cocktail happy hour) and they had our dinner in the Italian restuarant (lovely way to spend an evening)
Over all this accommodation is basic so don't expect anything fancy, but price,location,beach, and onsite restuarant make up for that - who goes on holiday to sit and look at their room anyway!!! I'd definitely stay here again if I go back to koh samet!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
247 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Jep’s Bungalows are not down by the beach. They are clustered across the track on a jungly, mosquito-infested slope and even the so-called “family bungalows” are not stand-alone detached units.
We stayed for four nights but in all that time sheets and towels were never changed. Ironically, on the morning I signed out, I had to wait at reception for ten minutes while our “bungalow” was checked over. They were clearly not checking to see if there had been any maid service!
That unwelcome hold-up was as annoying as the overpriced internet access – 20 baht for ten minutes compared with the 20 baht for an hour I recently paid at a main street internet cafe in Kanchanaburi. Given the overpriced room rates at Jep’s Bungalows, internet access should have been totally free for paying guests.
Hotel and resort staff in Thailand are invariably very friendly and welcoming – showing that they recognise that guests are effectively paying their wages. However, at Jep’s Bungalows the staff in the restaurant and the reception staff were quite surly. One evening a waiter tried to take my daughter’s shopping bag from under our table and she was involved in a tug of war with him, having to insist “It’s mine!” before he backed off. On another day a different waiter brought us our afternoon food and drinks bill without being asked to do so and then said it was because they were busy. They clearly weren’t. Rudely, he had interrupted my holiday reading and then bizarrely he waited expecting a tip.
The breakfast buffet fayre was excellent and the white beach in front of the restaurant was superb with easy access to the beautiful luke warm sea. But it seems to me that Jep’s Bungalows is all about the money and somewhere along the line they have forgotten to treat visitors with the friendliness and respect they deserve. As I waited to book a round-the island speedboat trip, the older man behind reception – possibly Jep himself – seemed more intent on counting his wad of bank notes than giving me the service I was after. There must be much better and more fairly priced places to stay on Koh Samet.

Room Tip: My tip is not to visit Jep's Bungalows at all.Even the laughably named "family" units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_in_Sheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

we stayed two nights at jep's bungalows and really didn't like it. the bungalow was old, with mouldy odour on everything, there was not even a hanger to put your clothes on. air con was loud and not working well either. i don't think they put any effort in maintaining these bungalows at all.

for the price you pay there it is definitely not worth it. i found a bungalow nearby for the same price, but much much nicer and well maintained. for me definitely a NO and not a place to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

After the reviews we where a bit in doubt because off the reviews here but we where happily surprised!

Nice bungalow, very nice beach and everything is nearby/ walking distance

+
Location
Lovely beach
Nearby is a free wifi spot, coffee place Trio
Room is 1500 bht but including (good) breakfast

-
Noise from the disco
Service in restaurant is poor, wrong orders...
Wifi is very expensive! 100bht a hour
Bit expensive, 1500 bht

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ANkiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.4 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 47 in Ko Samet
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samed Pavilion Resort
Samed Pavilion Resort
#5 of 57 in Ko Samet
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sand Resort
Silver Sand Resort
#6 of 47 in Ko Samet
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawasdee Coco Resort
Sawasdee Coco Resort
#19 of 47 in Ko Samet
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jep's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jep's Bungalows

Property: Jep's Bungalows
Address: Ao Hin Khok, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Jep`s Bungalows Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing