We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, relaxing resort, but a bit expensive”
Review of Samed Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samed Club
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and their English is excellent (for Thai). The cottages are very nice and spacious and clean. You can walk to the village and beach restaurants in 20 minutes. Be aware, this resort is not located at the beach with most restaurants and pubs. The beach of the resort is small, but nicely quiet. Rent motorbikes if you want to see more of the Island, but the roads are very bad.
The resort is a little expensive compared to other places in Thailand, but so is the whole of Koh Samed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ikke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 162 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2010

+ Secluded beach
+ Great poolarea near beach
+ In a small and charming village

- Small rooms for a family
- Far away from restaurants (only a few in the small village)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohanInSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Perfect place to relax, and relax you have to.

Nothing to do on the Island but swim, eat and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at Club Samed just this past Wednesday. It was great. Unfortunately our bus from Bangkok was late so we missed the hotel provided scheduled boat at 1:30 and had to pay for a separate express boat with some people on our bus that were going to the same resort chain. I think the information on the scheduled boats (3 times a day, free) could have been clearer in our confirmation e-mail as I had to e-mail them again to ask about a boat and only got the times when I saw it printed very small on the map. Luckily, the express boat was very very fun and our driver made sure to go fast and let us ride the waves! It was 2,800 for 8 of us to drop us off at two different resort areas.

When we arrived we were greeted with juice and filled in check-in forms. They told us we were having trouble with the garden cottage room we reserved and that they would upgrade us to a Deluxe room! SCORE! We were on our honeymoon so that was a nice surprise. We quickly dropped off our stuff as a staff member explained the types of tours they offered and gave us a map of the island and outlined it for us. We grabbed lunch from the restaurant/lobby area (it is outdoors and overlooks the beach, very nice). The prices for the restaurant are a little more than what you'd pay in Bangkok but still very reasonable. Then we stepped onto the private beach and relaxed. They offer services such as massage, mani/pedi, etc. while you hang out as well. Note: the sea floor has shells! No bueno. Then we hopped in the pool and played around before relaxing in our nice deluxe room.

Our room was clean, big, and comfortable (air conditioning, TV with HBO, Cinemax, BBC World News, and local Thai channels). The bathroom left something to be desired as it was a little old and worn but really not a problem. We did have quite a few flies in the room but I think that's because we left the door open for a bit. There were also lots of stray dogs running around the property but that cannot be helped, they are all over the island.

That night we paid for a taxi truck to take us to the beach bars. Unfortunately Club Samed is a little far from the nightlife and you must pay for a taxi, rent bicycles or motorbikes to get to the beach bars. Walk a little further past where the taxi drops you off, through the unlit area with some small stores selling bikini and beach stuff, and you'll get to the beach bars. It's a good time! You can also stock up on your 7-11 supplies at that little village.

The next day we helped ourselves to the complimentary American buffet, with assorted breads, cereal, fruit, eggs, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausages, salad, macaroni, juice, coffee, and tea. It was great and we were able to relax and recover from our hangover in the open air lobby/restaurant area. If you want to catch the 10:30 free boat you need to check out by 9:30. We were shuttled to the pier and a bunch of us were loaded onto 2 big boats and taken back to the Ban Phe pier area.

I wish we could have stayed on the island and explored it by motorbike as well as taken some of the tours around the neighboring islands to snorkel, parasail, etc. Club Samed is part of a chain of resorts owned by this company and I think this particular branch is a little more budget. Apparently you get prettier views of the sunset on the other side of the island, where there other resorts are. Still, the staff was friendly, our room was nice, the atmosphere and the design were good, and we were very happy with our stay. Reasonably priced as well, for the island of Koh Samet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristinakiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My girlfriend and I wanted a quiet beach in Thailand and thats what we found at Samed Club. The location is great if you want to stay away from the party people. The place may be small but the staff are wonderful. Room was clean and comfortable. Area is friendly and safe.

Location is a benefit. Next door you can rent a scooter cheaper than other areas. Its beach is quiet and well kept unlike the expensive hotels on other side of the island.
Koh Samed is a small island so dont expect city hotel style but for a small island I was pleased with the place and the staff.

I hope to go back to Koh Samed and visit and will stay there again.
The mosquitos were not bad. Most locals have chickens so expect a 6am wake up call from them or ocassional dog barking at night but your not in the city. The local dogs are harmless and nice companion for a beach walk in the morning. Hotel staff will chase them away from eating area so no worries.

We spent our days either at the hotel beach or renting a scooter and seeing the other beaches. I woke up at 6am each morning to go watch sun rise. Breakfast starts at 7am and you eat right there beside the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights. Is on Noi Na beach whic quiet and white sand.
It is a small hotel but have a good design. The breakfast is good but the dinner is expensive. The staff is very friendly. It has a small pool.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pairpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

only good things about it. great service, nice beach et beautiful room.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
660 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Club

Address: 25 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samed Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samed Club, is located on the north coast of beautiful Samet island, famed for its pristine white beaches. This small, intimate seaside resort offers 30 bungalows and cottages with sea, garden or moutain views, set around a magnificent swimming pool and backing onto green hillside. Only 2 1/2 hours by road from Bangkok to Rayong, or one hour from the lively resort town of Pattaya, followed by a short sea crossing in our shuttle boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samed Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Club Koh Samet Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing