We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Samed Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samed Club
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Totally overpriced. Yes it is nice and the staff for the most part are friendly but you are paying 5 star prices for a 3 or 4 star hotel. We were pushed intlo this resort when the one we wanted was full (Sai Kaew) so be carefull as the hotels are not the same within the same family of resorts! nor is location the same. big difference
While the dinner was okay there are better places to eat outside the hotel. The breakfast was okay but for the money i would say poor.

Room Tip: rooms on hillside require a big walk up so be careful. why u think they call the hillside DELUX sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank todd8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    41
    16
    4
See reviews for
19
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

The pictures of this place on the website show an idyllic hotel - and I am sure when they were taken, that was true. Similarly the reports - most of which were written in 2009 provide a portrail of a wonderful place to stay which is why I booked my girlfriend and I in there for a week as a special treat during a four-week holiday. What a disappointment!

The good points:

The hotel processed the payment in full promptly and without error when I booked the room.

The bad points:

Our transfer from the ferry was in the back of a pick-up truck (seriously!). We were greeted by a dirty pool, filthy and worn out sun umbrellas, holes in the sheets of our bed, filthy tile grout in the shower, and cobwebs in the room. The water in the taps is sometimes dark-brown, although not always.

The limited menu is overpriced, there is no wine (12 euro corkage to BYO) and they are regularly out of stock of basic items. Breakfast was exceptionally poor - pancakes shop-bought and served cold, fruit juice UHT and from a carton, yoghurt served in plastic pots, tepid coffee. The crockery set is an eclectic mix of rather nice designer-ware pottery and cheap rubbish that is clearly being used to replace breakages. Basic things like lids on tea-pots are not always available.

The staff are willing but trained inadequately in English and customer service. They have poor personal standards - dirty shoes, trousers too short or the wrong colour, dirty t-shirts / polo shirts: this is apparently condoned by the local management.

The water-sports advertised on the website are charged as an extra (350 baht / hour) and are worn out to the point of being unusable and dangerous (e.g. no bung in the water-tight compartment in the canoe). The pool table has a four-inch rip in the cloth and only one of the cues has tips. The pool-side sun-bed cushions have holes in them and are generally worn, the beach-side sun-beds have no cushions. The room safe did not work. The windows and doors of the room have warped in the sun leaving big gaps around the frames which the local mosquito population exploit. At high-tide the beach disappears almost completely except for a small area which is shaded by large trees. The local night-club has a new sound system which starts at about 23.00.

We complained and asked to leave, but were told to contact our agents - easy we thought, since we booked with their head office. E-mails (several) not replied to, phone calls not returned, never the right person in the office to help, excuse after excuse. The receptionist at the hotel spent 20 minutes on the phone to head office when we said we wanted to leave before putting the phone down and telling us that head office was closed and there was no-one there to talk to. We were advised that they were unwilling to refund us and made no attempt to improve.

Summary:

Overall, a real disappointment - it seems that the owners are milking this place like a cash-cow and not investing in the necessary maintenance and training needed to keep up the high standards one expects when paying good money.

Room Tip: Sea views are a waste of money unless you like peering over the restaurant roof and through trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babycakesCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Realy poor service,stuff das not speak english,breakfast had poor selection,water in swiming pool was muddy.

Room Tip: Won Dueng beach is the best in Koh Samed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

If you're looking for a peaceful holiday, this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

The resort is located at the north end of the island so if you are looking for nightlife, you will need to walk 35-45 minutes to the other side of the island. This is no problem except the island is FULL of loose dogs. Seriously, dozens of them. And the road is dimly lit, not at all in some places. I'd say, almost all of the dogs are friendly, a few bark a lot, but one did try to bite a woman in our group as it sprung out of the woods and attacked her long sundress. The dog's owner came out of no where to smack him on the head and the dog ran away. This was unfortuanately the first night so this made us spooked to walk to town each night and ended up having to take taxi trucks, which cost minimum 300 baht (about 10 US dollars) just to go 1 mile!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were 2 families staying in Jomtien beach and came over to Samet for the night. We booked the 2 beachfront cottages here which were absolutley perfect! It is definitely the best for the money on Samet. We travelled the 15 mins or so over the bumpy roads to the Eastern side but they were simply not as nice. The beaches were bigger on the eastern side of the island but much rougher water which wasnt as good for us with small children. Not sure about how noisy the nightlife was over the eastern side but we wanted to avoid that anyway again because of the children, but I heard it can get a little crazy.
Samet reminds me of Samui or Koh tao back in the nineties, still very basic.
The resort was great, amazing food and cocktails as good as any 5 star hotel. The staff were excellent. The female manager ( who seemed to be there day & night!) was extremely helpful with everything.
It was so good we decided to stay another night - but unfortunately the whole resort was booked out, but the manager got us booked in at another hotel just 5 minutes away - an amazing place out on stilts over the water (cant remember the name) for nearly half the price - which was also totally amazing.
Highly recommend staying here, really nice place.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the beachfront cottage - do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank april74china
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Spent 3 weeks travelling Vietnam ,Cambodia & Thailand, then spent a week here to relax..The restaurant was the most expensive of all the countries we were in.Would not mind if the quality and standard of food was good.Dined there the first night, the food was cold and the quality poor.. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair, one day cold,ok the next.Restaurants in the village much more authentic and cheaper.Someplaces half the price.Only good thing was its location to the beach.Really ripping off tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nollaigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
1.8 mi away
The C Samet Beach Resort
The C Samet Beach Resort
#9 of 57 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Club

Property: Samed Club
Address: 25 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samed Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samed Club, is located on the north coast of beautiful Samet island, famed for its pristine white beaches. This small, intimate seaside resort offers 30 bungalows and cottages with sea, garden or moutain views, set around a magnificent swimming pool and backing onto green hillside. Only 2 1/2 hours by road from Bangkok to Rayong, or one hour from the lively resort town of Pattaya, followed by a short sea crossing in our shuttle boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samed Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Club Koh Samet Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing