We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Agoda.com
$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/22
eDreams
$67
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/22
StayForLong
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
42
75
43
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
42
75
43
17
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 181 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The pictures of this place on the website show an idyllic hotel - and I am sure when they were taken, that was true. Similarly the reports - most of which were written in 2009 provide a portrail of a wonderful place to stay which is why I booked my girlfriend and I in there for a week as a special treat during a four-week holiday. What a disappointment!

The good points:

The hotel processed the payment in full promptly and without error when I booked the room.

The bad points:

Our transfer from the ferry was in the back of a pick-up truck (seriously!). We were greeted by a dirty pool, filthy and worn out sun umbrellas, holes in the sheets of our bed, filthy tile grout in the shower, and cobwebs in the room. The water in the taps is sometimes dark-brown, although not always.

The limited menu is overpriced, there is no wine (12 euro corkage to BYO) and they are regularly out of stock of basic items. Breakfast was exceptionally poor - pancakes shop-bought and served cold, fruit juice UHT and from a carton, yoghurt served in plastic pots, tepid coffee. The crockery set is an eclectic mix of rather nice designer-ware pottery and cheap rubbish that is clearly being used to replace breakages. Basic things like lids on tea-pots are not always available.

The staff are willing but trained inadequately in English and customer service. They have poor personal standards - dirty shoes, trousers too short or the wrong colour, dirty t-shirts / polo shirts: this is apparently condoned by the local management.

The water-sports advertised on the website are charged as an extra (350 baht / hour) and are worn out to the point of being unusable and dangerous (e.g. no bung in the water-tight compartment in the canoe). The pool table has a four-inch rip in the cloth and only one of the cues has tips. The pool-side sun-bed cushions have holes in them and are generally worn, the beach-side sun-beds have no cushions. The room safe did not work. The windows and doors of the room have warped in the sun leaving big gaps around the frames which the local mosquito population exploit. At high-tide the beach disappears almost completely except for a small area which is shaded by large trees. The local night-club has a new sound system which starts at about 23.00.

We complained and asked to leave, but were told to contact our agents - easy we thought, since we booked with their head office. E-mails (several) not replied to, phone calls not returned, never the right person in the office to help, excuse after excuse. The receptionist at the hotel spent 20 minutes on the phone to head office when we said we wanted to leave before putting the phone down and telling us that head office was closed and there was no-one there to talk to. We were advised that they were unwilling to refund us and made no attempt to improve.

Summary:

Overall, a real disappointment - it seems that the owners are milking this place like a cash-cow and not investing in the necessary maintenance and training needed to keep up the high standards one expects when paying good money.

Room tip: Sea views are a waste of money unless you like peering over the restaurant roof and through trees
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babycakesCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Realy poor service,stuff das not speak english,breakfast had poor selection,water in swiming pool was muddy.

Room tip: Won Dueng beach is the best in Koh Samed
Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irha_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

If you're looking for a peaceful holiday, this place is highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The resort is located at the north end of the island so if you are looking for nightlife, you will need to walk 35-45 minutes to the other side of the island. This is no problem except the island is FULL of loose dogs. Seriously, dozens of them. And the road is dimly lit, not at all in some places. I'd say, almost all of the dogs are friendly, a few bark a lot, but one did try to bite a woman in our group as it sprung out of the woods and attacked her long sundress. The dog's owner came out of no where to smack him on the head and the dog ran away. This was unfortuanately the first night so this made us spooked to walk to town each night and ended up having to take taxi trucks, which cost minimum 300 baht (about 10 US dollars) just to go 1 mile!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were 2 families staying in Jomtien beach and came over to Samet for the night. We booked the 2 beachfront cottages here which were absolutley perfect! It is definitely the best for the money on Samet. We travelled the 15 mins or so over the bumpy roads to the Eastern side but they were simply not as nice. The beaches were bigger on the eastern side of the island but much rougher water which wasnt as good for us with small children. Not sure about how noisy the nightlife was over the eastern side but we wanted to avoid that anyway again because of the children, but I heard it can get a little crazy.
Samet reminds me of Samui or Koh tao back in the nineties, still very basic.
The resort was great, amazing food and cocktails as good as any 5 star hotel. The staff were excellent. The female manager ( who seemed to be there day & night!) was extremely helpful with everything.
It was so good we decided to stay another night - but unfortunately the whole resort was booked out, but the manager got us booked in at another hotel just 5 minutes away - an amazing place out on stilts over the water (cant remember the name) for nearly half the price - which was also totally amazing.
Highly recommend staying here, really nice place.

Room tip: If you can stretch to the beachfront cottage - do it!
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank april74CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews