We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samed Cabana Resort
Nearby Hotels
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$75
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ao Prao Resort(Ko Samet)
$166
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Paradee Resort(Ko Samet)
$702
$647
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tub Tim Resort(Ko Samet)
$22
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avatara Resort(Ko Samet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
42
159
82
34
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
159
82
34
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxing weekendrooms are cleannice beachbeach holidayother placesbars and restaurantswhite sandkohislandthailandhutsferryshoremeterschillatmscooter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 348 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a basic resort, make no mistake, which is why it is 3 stars. But each of those stars was well earned. We stayed there for 4 nights in Peak Season, and will definitly be back.
It is a PERFECT location, quiet, but with enough to do if you wish to party on. The breakfast you can skip, but the rest of the food is was perfectly fine. The room was cleaned daily, and the airconditioner while noisy, worked fine. We had some glitches with the safe, and the water, but when bought to the staffs attention, they fixed the problem right away.
The beach is on your doorstep. The water is wonderful. The massage people on the end of the beach (near sky resort) are great, particularly the old lady who gives a outstanding thai massage. The staff were helpful, and the room basic, but clean. It was quiet, it was really lovely

Apart from the breakfast which was very poor, the only other issue i had was with the rubbish on the beach. At first it is not noticeable, but once you are there a couple of days, it was quite obvious and each walk i did on the beach i ended up picking up plastic bags. The staff do NOT clean the beach, which is really sad. The remove leaf material, but brush aside plastic rubbish. I understand that people should take responsibility for their own rubbish, but surely it's in the best interest of the resort to ensure that the beach area is clean, since that is the reason people are there.

It was a perfect 3 star resort. We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_inane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Koh Samed is the closest island to Bangkok and as such it has developed primarily as a destination for Bangkok residents, although it is becoming more popular with foreign tourists. Given this, foreign tourists need to understand that most resorts on this island are owned and operated by Thais for Thais. This means that they do not attempt meet Western standards of cleanliness and upkeep. There are a few exceptions but, unfortunately, Samed Cabana is not one of them. I stayed there with my girlfriend for two nights in late November 2012.

First the good: Samed Cabana is located on north end of Vong Duen Beach (meaning crescent moon beach, named for the shape of the beach). This is one of the quieter beaches on Samed. There are a few resorts near the center of the beach that like to play music throughout the day, but not so loud that it can be heard at Cabana. There is a fire show at sundown that is accompanied by loud music, but it only lasts about thirty minutes. Cabana owns quite a wide swath of the beach. This is contrast to most resorts that only occupy a narrow portion of the beach. This gives Cabana's beach front a less crowded feel and allow the bungalows to be placed closer to the beachfront. There is a swimming pool located a ways back from the beach. It is small and not utilized much. It feels like an afterthought and I suspect it was installed as an excuse to raise the room fees.

Other than its prime location, Samed Cabana has little going for it. The rooms are only superficially clean. The curtains in our room, beach front room #13, were filthy (see photo). When I first turned on the air conditioning unit it made strange sounds so I opened the cover to find the filter caked with debris and mold growing on the inside of the cover (see photo)--clearly it had not been cleaned for several years. The light switches were grungy with months of dirty finger prints. The railing on the balcony was rotten and broken (see photo) and at least one of the beach chairs had holes rotted through them. There was also too much trash lying around with none of the staff attempting to clean it up. Especially bad were the bags of trash and old tires that had been discarded directly behind out room (see photo).

Service was lackluster. When we arrived at the resort we were told our room had not been cleaned yet but the receptionist assured us they would send the staff to clean it right away and would let us know when it's ready. We relaxed at the restaurant but after about an hour they still had not called us so we went back to the desk. She said the room was not clean yet but that she would send someone to do it right away. We pointed out that's what she told us an hour ago. This time the receptionist got on the phone and the room was cleaned and we moved in fifteen minutes later. Why couldn't she have done that the first time?

At 11:00 AM the next morning I went to the counter to get a beach towel. Finding the basket empty I asked the receptionist if there were more. She replied that I would have to return at 2:00 if I wanted a beach towel. I explained to her that this is a beach resort and at the prices they charge (3600 baht) nobody should have to wait three hours for a beach towel. She grudgingly called to someone in the back who brought me a towel. Why couldn't she have called the first time?

On our last day we asked if we could check out a bit later than 12:00 because our boat was picking us up at 1:30. They said no because the next guests were already here and they needed to clean the room immediately. We accepted that, but couldn't help but notice at 1:30 the room was still exactly as we had left it--it had not been cleaned and the next guests had not moved in. It's fine they didn't want to let us check out late, but why did they have to lie to us?

The buffet breakfast was sub-par. It consisted of some thin slices of deli ham, cocktail wieners, soggy pancakes and french toast that had been made early in the morning and left to sit, a thai dish with rice, some fresh fruit with too many flies buzzing around and an omelet station. It was quality that I would expect from a 1000-baht per night guest house, but not a 3600-baht resort. We ate a few other meals at the restaurant. The evening grilled seafood was actually quite good. Other dishes we ordered were fine but nothing special.

In conclusion, Samed Cabana is good enough, but just barely. They are banking on their prime location but making little effort to proved any value in terms of facilities or service. If any of the management is reading this, here is my advice: Take some pride in what you do. Your resort could be a special place but it's not because your staff is lazy and the facilities are not worth what you charge for them. People are paying the price because of your great location but your high prices are not reflected in your service and facilities, and that's just greedy. You can and should do better.

There are plenty of flattering photos on Cabana's website. I will upload a few of the not-so-flattering photos with this review.

Room Tip: To save a bit of money get the Sea View rooms. They're not quite as close as the Beach Front rooms (maybe 15-20 steps from the beach instead of 10) but they still have nice view of the beach. Ask for a room away from the restaurant area for more privacy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corman922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

When booked this hotel i was aware that it is quite a simple place. A hotel can be simple and basic when its well managed. This hotel does not seem to be managed at all.
1. Check in - Allmost ignored by the staff, unfriendly but efficient at least
2. Room - Simple but regarding sheets, clean bathroom, clean towels. Safe was closed and was not working ok as one knob was worn off. So staff had to come twice in order to open it.
3. Beach and Garden. The garden was badly maintained. plastic trash, bottels, etc layin around
and nobody cares. Many Many wild dogs in the garden that may fighten children and NODOG persons. The few beachchairs had no umbrellas. lots of trash here also.
4. Breakfast / Restaurant
Only 10 % of the Staff is Thai people and Thai hospitality. Very anatteding. Morning Breakfast
a sausage was laying in front of the buffet for the entire time i stayed there. another table
pineapple and trash under it (i should have been taken by the parents off those children. bad manners) But if not staff sould do so. Coffee is heated with a regular coocking oven.
Food look very sad.

Sourroundings
Never Never leave the resort at the backside triying to find some village. I never so
trashmountains like that close to a hotel. realy bad. and no village or shops at all.

So i canceld my stay after 2 days loosing my money of cours, but better than 2 days vacation spoiled.

Room Tip: Sorry i cant
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomYamFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 9 nights with our two boys.

The location is absolutely brilliant, and the food is really good.

The facilities is OK, but would soon need a renovation. The pool doesn't have clear water and feels a bit fuilty.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mheden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Whilst visiting Samed my son, his partner and I ate here most evenings. The service is first class,friendly and efficient. The choice of food is great, and well priced. If I were ever to stay on the island again I would be happy to book a room here.

Room Tip: If your looking for good quality food, great prices and a friendly happy welcome this is a good place to eat
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews