We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samed Cabana Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a basic resort, make no mistake, which is why it is 3 stars. But each of those stars was well earned. We stayed there for 4 nights in Peak Season, and will definitly be back.
It is a PERFECT location, quiet, but with enough to do if you wish to party on. The breakfast you can skip, but the rest of the food is was perfectly fine. The room was cleaned daily, and the airconditioner while noisy, worked fine. We had some glitches with the safe, and the water, but when bought to the staffs attention, they fixed the problem right away.
The beach is on your doorstep. The water is wonderful. The massage people on the end of the beach (near sky resort) are great, particularly the old lady who gives a outstanding thai massage. The staff were helpful, and the room basic, but clean. It was quiet, it was really lovely

Apart from the breakfast which was very poor, the only other issue i had was with the rubbish on the beach. At first it is not noticeable, but once you are there a couple of days, it was quite obvious and each walk i did on the beach i ended up picking up plastic bags. The staff do NOT clean the beach, which is really sad. The remove leaf material, but brush aside plastic rubbish. I understand that people should take responsibility for their own rubbish, but surely it's in the best interest of the resort to ensure that the beach area is clean, since that is the reason people are there.

It was a perfect 3 star resort. We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_inane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 327 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Koh Samed is the closest island to Bangkok and as such it has developed primarily as a destination for Bangkok residents, although it is becoming more popular with foreign tourists. Given this, foreign tourists need to understand that most resorts on this island are owned and operated by Thais for Thais. This means that they do not attempt meet Western standards of cleanliness and upkeep. There are a few exceptions but, unfortunately, Samed Cabana is not one of them. I stayed there with my girlfriend for two nights in late November 2012.

First the good: Samed Cabana is located on north end of Vong Duen Beach (meaning crescent moon beach, named for the shape of the beach). This is one of the quieter beaches on Samed. There are a few resorts near the center of the beach that like to play music throughout the day, but not so loud that it can be heard at Cabana. There is a fire show at sundown that is accompanied by loud music, but it only lasts about thirty minutes. Cabana owns quite a wide swath of the beach. This is contrast to most resorts that only occupy a narrow portion of the beach. This gives Cabana's beach front a less crowded feel and allow the bungalows to be placed closer to the beachfront. There is a swimming pool located a ways back from the beach. It is small and not utilized much. It feels like an afterthought and I suspect it was installed as an excuse to raise the room fees.

Other than its prime location, Samed Cabana has little going for it. The rooms are only superficially clean. The curtains in our room, beach front room #13, were filthy (see photo). When I first turned on the air conditioning unit it made strange sounds so I opened the cover to find the filter caked with debris and mold growing on the inside of the cover (see photo)--clearly it had not been cleaned for several years. The light switches were grungy with months of dirty finger prints. The railing on the balcony was rotten and broken (see photo) and at least one of the beach chairs had holes rotted through them. There was also too much trash lying around with none of the staff attempting to clean it up. Especially bad were the bags of trash and old tires that had been discarded directly behind out room (see photo).

Service was lackluster. When we arrived at the resort we were told our room had not been cleaned yet but the receptionist assured us they would send the staff to clean it right away and would let us know when it's ready. We relaxed at the restaurant but after about an hour they still had not called us so we went back to the desk. She said the room was not clean yet but that she would send someone to do it right away. We pointed out that's what she told us an hour ago. This time the receptionist got on the phone and the room was cleaned and we moved in fifteen minutes later. Why couldn't she have done that the first time?

At 11:00 AM the next morning I went to the counter to get a beach towel. Finding the basket empty I asked the receptionist if there were more. She replied that I would have to return at 2:00 if I wanted a beach towel. I explained to her that this is a beach resort and at the prices they charge (3600 baht) nobody should have to wait three hours for a beach towel. She grudgingly called to someone in the back who brought me a towel. Why couldn't she have called the first time?

On our last day we asked if we could check out a bit later than 12:00 because our boat was picking us up at 1:30. They said no because the next guests were already here and they needed to clean the room immediately. We accepted that, but couldn't help but notice at 1:30 the room was still exactly as we had left it--it had not been cleaned and the next guests had not moved in. It's fine they didn't want to let us check out late, but why did they have to lie to us?

The buffet breakfast was sub-par. It consisted of some thin slices of deli ham, cocktail wieners, soggy pancakes and french toast that had been made early in the morning and left to sit, a thai dish with rice, some fresh fruit with too many flies buzzing around and an omelet station. It was quality that I would expect from a 1000-baht per night guest house, but not a 3600-baht resort. We ate a few other meals at the restaurant. The evening grilled seafood was actually quite good. Other dishes we ordered were fine but nothing special.

In conclusion, Samed Cabana is good enough, but just barely. They are banking on their prime location but making little effort to proved any value in terms of facilities or service. If any of the management is reading this, here is my advice: Take some pride in what you do. Your resort could be a special place but it's not because your staff is lazy and the facilities are not worth what you charge for them. People are paying the price because of your great location but your high prices are not reflected in your service and facilities, and that's just greedy. You can and should do better.

There are plenty of flattering photos on Cabana's website. I will upload a few of the not-so-flattering photos with this review.

Room Tip: To save a bit of money get the Sea View rooms. They're not quite as close as the Beach Front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corman922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

When booked this hotel i was aware that it is quite a simple place. A hotel can be simple and basic when its well managed. This hotel does not seem to be managed at all.
1. Check in - Allmost ignored by the staff, unfriendly but efficient at least
2. Room - Simple but regarding sheets, clean bathroom, clean towels. Safe was closed and was not working ok as one knob was worn off. So staff had to come twice in order to open it.
3. Beach and Garden. The garden was badly maintained. plastic trash, bottels, etc layin around
and nobody cares. Many Many wild dogs in the garden that may fighten children and NODOG persons. The few beachchairs had no umbrellas. lots of trash here also.
4. Breakfast / Restaurant
Only 10 % of the Staff is Thai people and Thai hospitality. Very anatteding. Morning Breakfast
a sausage was laying in front of the buffet for the entire time i stayed there. another table
pineapple and trash under it (i should have been taken by the parents off those children. bad manners) But if not staff sould do so. Coffee is heated with a regular coocking oven.
Food look very sad.

Sourroundings
Never Never leave the resort at the backside triying to find some village. I never so
trashmountains like that close to a hotel. realy bad. and no village or shops at all.

So i canceld my stay after 2 days loosing my money of cours, but better than 2 days vacation spoiled.

Room Tip: Sorry i cant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomYamFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 9 nights with our two boys.

The location is absolutely brilliant, and the food is really good.

The facilities is OK, but would soon need a renovation. The pool doesn't have clear water and feels a bit fuilty.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mheden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Whilst visiting Samed my son, his partner and I ate here most evenings. The service is first class,friendly and efficient. The choice of food is great, and well priced. If I were ever to stay on the island again I would be happy to book a room here.

Room Tip: If your looking for good quality food, great prices and a friendly happy welcome this is a good plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Backpacker huts directly on the beach. Low standard but very clean. Breakfast is acceptable. The staff in the reception is very helpful and the service in the restaurant good. The small beach is overcrowded by people during the day and more day visitors coming in by boat. This is by far the most overexploited island in Thailand we have visited. The restaurant on the beach are very bad. Take a taxi ride to the next beach for food. Watch out especially for Toms Pizza, where the food wasn't done (giving 2 out of 5 kids bad stomachs for days), the bill salted and staff directly hostile. The ride is in itself an attraction on very bad roads. You should access the hotel by speed boat. Have the hotel arrange transfer for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slumpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

You can't compare Koh Samed accommodations to other places like Phuket or even Koh Phi Phi. It's an island beachfront chalet, simple and clean. From what I could see of the other properties they were about the same standard, nothing flashy - but really on this particular you wouldn't want anything too flashy as that invites a different type of crowd.

The beach here we found to be slightly busy, but not to the point that you were annoyed with loads of people walking past kicking up sand - it was nice, relaxed and quiet. A very family beach.

The white fine sand and clear water is what you really want - then a clean aircon room to cool down and get a good night's sleep.

We ate at the Cabana restaurant for dinner 2 of the 3 nights we were there, food was excellent and seafood was fresh and prepared well. If you like fish, I recommend the Sea Bass - steamed, ensure it's done Thai style with lemon absolutely fantastic - even better that the price is not expensive, about 420baht which was very reasonable for a whole fish.

At night the Cabana does play music whilst serving dinner of which, if you're in a beachfront chalet you will hear a bit of the bass, BUT that's not really a downside as they turn it off quite early around 22:30 / 23:00.

The beach at night is quite quiet and they have fire shows during dinner times which provides a little entertainment.

From the Cabana beach you can actually walk to the main beach Had Sai Keaw using a beachfront trail which connects the beaches - we had lunch there in a very local Thai place, excellent food - you will definitely see the difference in busy beaches as Had Sai Keaw being the main touristy beach you can tell will be much noisier at night.

The island to me still feels somewhat well protected and not industrialized with big hotel resorts. It looks like they take care of the surroundings very well, everyday I saw people sweeping up leaves not just in front of their properties but out onto the beach part as well to keep the place looking pristine which was excellent.

So if you want relaxing, quiet and not expecting 5-star large resort type accommodation then stay here - it's cleaned everyday, staff are nice and quite helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront chalet away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickL835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Cabana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Cabana Resort

Address: 13/20 Moo.4 Tambol Pae | Vong Duean Beach, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: $80 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samed Cabana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samed Cabana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Cabana Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing