We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard Thai beach hut” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tubtim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tubtim Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Standard Thai beach hut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Ko Samet is a very expensive island these days for long term budget travellers but in Tub Tim we found somewhere perfect. The location is good for seeing a lot of the rest of the island but its value for money that is the real winner. Among all the package holiday places you'll struggle to find a cheaper beach hut that is this nice on the island for 600b. Porch, hammock, a bed and a bathroom is all it has really got but the again what else do you need?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    114
    73
    32
    28
See reviews for
61
110
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Rooms are fine (we stayed in zone A). Restuarnat an staff... it is chaos! Hardly ever got what we actually ordered, long waiting, nice, but a bit too relaxed staff - you may need to ask several times before geeting your order or bill. Food is however generally good. I would not personally bother with paying for breakfast, it is really not worth the price.
The good things are: it is relatively quiete, nice and calm beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malwmax M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked into a standard room which although cheap wasn't the dream beach front Thai chalet. After one night we paid an extra £20 a night and got an upgrade to a deluxe room which was more like it... a sea view room nestled in the trees! The food in the restaurant was well priced and tasty with cold beer and good service. A short walk along the beach led to more bars and a good night life. We loved our stay at Tubtim and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe room, anything less would be a disapointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are really nice and right by the beach, room was clean and nice. Be aware the if you go to the cheap bungalows, breakfast is not included. Wi-fi works very well but only at the restaurant. If you want to go out at night just walk 5 min left on the beach to another hotel which makes big parties.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Having visited Tub Tim on several occasions and loved it, I was extremely disappointed by my visit this year.. For instance, instead of having breakfast on the beach it is now served by reception. The hot food is in containers heated by flames underneath. Sometimes these were not turned on and the food was cold. There were flies everywhere and the only fresh hot food were eggs cooked to order. The chopped fruit was covered in flies and the sliced fruit consisted of just pineapple and water melon. Not the delicious plate of fruit offered on previous visits. There is road reconstruction going on nearby and the resort has given permission for lorries to be transported by barge which moors on the beach in order to regurgitate equipment, sand etc. to build this road. The lorries went backwards and forwards throughout the day. Diggers worked to keep the sand built up for the lorries to drive on and off the barge. Certainly not peaceful or tranquil as previously experienced The water was churned up by all the activity and there were pebbles and rocks which made our entry into the sea difficult. During our stay the diggers and lorries were there approximately every other day. I had been advised that the work would have been completed before my visit but this was certainly not the case.
On a positive note the staff were as helpful and charming as ever. Nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: You can't book rooms but the front row (A 1-8) ones have a good view and aircon. However you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchai N, Owner at Tubtim Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comment regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant . Please accept our apologies for any inconvenient cause.

Concerning about Breakfast that had changes from before. Due to, many customers suggestion about prior breakfast system that are limited in both quantity and kind of food. Consequently, Tubtim decided to change the breakfast to buffet which is unlimited and offer more variety of food. The overall customer are happy ,however, if you want the prior breakfast you can tell our staff.

Due to Samed Road Construction Project, the government has asked Tubtim Beach for a permission to transfer all the construction material from the boat. As previously informed ,the transferring time cannot be fixed in advance due to the current tide situation and storm. The project should be finished on November 2013 but its postpone until now. The new deadline is in this April.

Tubtim Beach, therefore, are sorry for any inconveniences that may caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have stayed here a few times before in an 800bt fan room. That's OK value for money. This time I stayed in a 1500bt room with a/c as no fan room available. Exactly the same room standard but with a/c. Not good value. For 800bt you get what you pay for and for me that's ok. It's not a resort, it is huts on or near the beach. Service is basic. No daily maid service on the rooms. The worst buffet breakfast I've seen in years and untidy and poorly kept grounds around the huts. A couple of hundred metres along Th beach is samed villa resort. For 1600bt you can get a standard room. This is a proper resort with all the services you would expect including minibar and TV in the room. If you want a basic cheap room then Tubtim is fine but don't pay more. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonmark155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were here 6 years ago and decided to come back to this peaceful island.
However a lot have happened since then, the property have expanded majorly and so has the island itself compared to hotel business and what goes in that path, which is kind of sad.
However Tubtim is still an excellent choice and retreat when going here, you do not have to go anywhere else on the island when here, as the resort have everything you need.
We booked one of the front row villas with seaview on the cliffs and it was worth every penny! Sunset and sunrises, enjoying the late evening whilst the little one was a sleep was perfect for us. Easy to bring the child to the beach and for a small tip you can have you own table the whole day or just for the evening as we did.
The staff is really friendly, the food is excellent and worth waiting for as there can be waiting time both with the barbeque and local food. But what does it matter when you have all the time in the world at this beautiful spot.
We will definitely return, hopefully soon again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTrueGreatDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.9 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sangthian Beach Resort
Sangthian Beach Resort
#15 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 46 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubtim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubtim Resort

Property: Tubtim Resort
Address: 13/15 Moo 4 Tambon Phe, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubtim Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tubtim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubtim Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing